We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Service Again”
Review of The Wee Waif

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Wee Waif
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Charvil
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We have been using this hotel on a weekly basis for some months and never had any cause for complaint. Often the staff have really tried to find a room for us when it is full.
The rooms are clean and sufficient for most needs. The staff are excellent, helpful and friendly at least they remembered us each time we visited. The breakfast is extremely good with a wide selection. We have worked through most of the Hungry Horse menu during our time and not had any complaints some of the special offers are really good value.
In conclusion good value for the price.

Room Tip: Book on the phone direct and agree price before travel
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travman_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (211)
There are newer reviews for The Wee Waif
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 211 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2013

Sounded better on the advert than it actually was. The room was large for one, and ample for two. En-suite is ok. No accessories so take your own shower gel etc. my room was right by the creaky double door in the corridor, which meant slightly disturbed sleep. The first 6 rooms down the corridor off the reception must have been for smokers as it was unpleasant for a non-smoker to walk to a non-smoking room through a smoking area! The morning breakfast was basic but served promptly if you want full breakfast from 7am. If you want continental you can start at 6.30. The room seemed clean, but in the corridor tree was some ripped carpet, and the place generally seemed rather dated in need of a good face lift.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank najones10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Great Stay Been There 5 Times The Staff And Customers Remember Us ,Staff Are Very Welcoming. Rooms Clean And Big. Food Is Excellent. Bar Service Could Be A Bit Quicker .
Bar Had Good Selection Of Ales , Restaurant Is A Hungry Horse Good Selection Of Food Well Priced. 2 Steak Meals And A Bottle Of House Wine £25.

Room Tip: Ask For A Room By Reception
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We checked in late last Friday night after a long flight from Malaysia (our plane had been delayed for 13 hours). Glyn at reception was very friendly and welcoming and insisted on fetching me some extra tea bags in case I needed a cuppa in the night. Our room was clean and perfectly adequate for the amount we paid. Although we faced the car park, it was quiet. The bed was very comfortable and we had a much needed sleep before continuing our journey home. The next morning Glyn greeted me by name and seemed to be on friendly terms with everyone in the reception area. We will definitely stay here again and perhaps have a meal at the Hungry Horse next time.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maisie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Having stayed here 12 years ago when it was fairly new I was looking forward to our stay. On arriving things looked grim the reception sofas had sheets on them like theyve been used as beds and the whole reception was shabby. After checking into our rooms which looked dirty and tired we had to call reception as a the double bed had not been made after the previous guests vacated and the pull out sofa had no bedding which was rectified by my daughters as the housemaids had left for the day. We visited the bar before attending a family function which was the nicest part of the hotel. On arrival back late on Saturday night and early sunday morning we were told that the bar was closed after asking if we could have a night cap which is strange of you are running a hotel. After returning to our room i decided to return to reception to obtain a soft drink from the vending machine only to over hear the night staff verbally abusing my family saying that we were very drunk and she was not going to open the bar which was met by a very competent reply from myself as I was not actually drunk alot of back tracking from the woman on reception and the promise of a free room sorted the issue but its not ideal to slag off your guests in a public area of the hotel. Breakfast was average the next morning but included in the room price it was not the best but not the worst i had ever had. The biggest plus point was on checkout where the hotel managed gave me both my rooms for free due to the problems on arrival and the events of the night before. My brother who also had issues with holes in his bedroom walls and dirt was give 50% off his room price. A big thanks to the receptionist who checked me out I will try the hotel again when visiting family.

Room Tip: Once this place is refurbished it will be excellent value again.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SDB1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Booked this hotel for a two night stay. It was cheap and only 45-50min drive to Thorpe Park, and 10mins away from Reading, which was perfect.
We loved the hotel, and reception was friendly.
The room we had was lovely, clean and tidy. Even though our room was facing the car park we had no noise from traffic or persons (even with the window open). The beds were comfy and I don't usually sleep well in hotel beds, but I did sleep well (unless it was tiredness)
With the pub next door, which was ideal too, considering what time we got to the hotel. A Hungry Horse Chain, you couldn't go wrong on value of money.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tallpaul1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

This is a basic hotel with no frills. Our room was adequate, clean and comfortable but the décor was in need of a facelift. But then we only paid £50 so can't really expect more. The chap on reception dealt adequately with our check in but gave no information about where our room was or the breakfast arrangement so we had to ask. Although it is next to the pub and a busy road the room was very quiet. Breakfast was ordered at the bar and was edible (and again very cheap). The lack of staff was evident as the tray of half eaten food that was left outside the room across the way from us when we arrived was still there next morning but I guess that is how they keep prices down. I would possibly stay here again but for only one night!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lalallama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charvil
1.1 mi away
The Great House At Sonning
The Great House At Sonning
#1 of 2 in Sonning-on-Thames
447 reviews
1.3 mi away
French Horn Hotel
French Horn Hotel
#2 of 2 in Sonning-on-Thames
200 reviews
2.5 mi away
Travelodge Winnersh Triangle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Catherine Wheel
The Catherine Wheel
#2 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
644 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Baskerville
The Baskerville
#1 of 1 in Shiplake
197 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Cherry Tree Inn
The Cherry Tree Inn
#1 of 1 in Stoke Row
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wee Waif? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wee Waif

Address: Old Bath Road, Charvil, Wokingham RG10 9RJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Wokingham > Charvil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Charvil
Price Range: £47 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wee Waif 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Wee Waif reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wee Waif Hotel Reading
Wee Waif Reading
Wee Waif Hotel Reading

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing