We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very tired hotel”
Review of The Wee Waif

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Wee Waif
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Charvil
Reviewed 2 August 2014

the hotel seriously needs an upgrade. Peeling wallpaper, saggy stained chairs & chipped paint. However the beds are pristine as are towels and plenty of bits to make a drink. Rooms spacious. I was told at reception not to book online but ring directly for a better rate. Good tip.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elizabeth a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (222)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 222 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

The Wee Waif Hotel is quite good. The bed in the room is very comfy, good shower and, the Internet WIFI connection and TV in the room is good. Some of the staff are quite friendly and helpful.

However, some of the rooms could be cleaner. There have been a few times when I have walked in to a room and found it dirty, for example, cobwebs, dirty plates and cutlery in the room and, also room smelling of cigarette smoke. The room can become quite hot during the summer months as the rooms are not air-conditioned and the hotel does not provide fans.

The breakfast provided is ok however, could be better.

Room Tip: Rooms are better on the car park side of the hotel and also, on the top floor of the hotel as the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lucy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

But only just. It's a low budget pub grub place. So don't expect to get top notch food. Stick with the basics and don't expect the chefs to understand rare steak. Our biggest issue on two nights was they don't keep the cask ale well. So it was bottled or larger. On the other hand, the staff were nice and the food adequate.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Garytoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

well located for visiting Henley regatta. well priced. rooms comfortable, spacious and clean. top of landing appeared to be dumping ground for broken furniture. staff pleasant.
breakfast was terrible - most things very over-cooked, coffe stewed and thimbles for the OJ....
that said, i would stay again and perhaps get breakfast out...

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Needed to be in Henley at Regatta time when everywhere seems to charge more than we want to pay! I hadn't realised it was part of the Hungry Horse chain and it fits that stereotype exactly. Not as clean as it should be, a bit tired, but it served a purpose. Nice big white towels, most staff trying hard, plenty of hot water, breakfast fine. Breakfast only charged at £3.49 but is inclusive if you book directly.

Room Tip: On A4 so can obviously expect road noise. If that bothers you, ask for a room on the car park side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank optmaxLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Would never stay here again, I stayed here due to a family wedding in the local area and was unable to stay in our first choice. Only chose here due to the location, I know it wouldn't be amazing as it's only a 3 star but for the £60 I paid words fail me.

We checked in all fine no problem, went to a room and the lock was so loose it was unreal, went to sit on sofa to find chewing gum stuck on the back which I ended putting my hand in as I was unaware, rubbish left on the side. And lampshades are filthy as well as the shower curtain.

The light bulbs were covered in dust looked like they hadn't been cleaned in ages. This hotel needs a serious update.

And breakfast at the hungry horse wasn't much better either, got there to be told they weren't serving their breakfast menu but there was cereal, toast out etc. Glasses were tiny. My partner had a tea which was stone cold. When we went to pay they told us it been charged to our room bill without informing us.

Definetly should not be a 3 star hotel and not worth the £60 I paid.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

On the phone the staff handled a query over breakfast very well and it was sorted. Staff are fine. Rooms a bit tired. Staining on the walls and very stuffy. Room 17. Fine for a night though. Bed was ever so comfy and hot water so not all bad. Honest opinion this hotel is ok. For a night it was fine. It really could do with a makeover but it made do. Breakfast was ok. If your passing by or like us had a Wedding reception to attend at Sonning golf club this hotel is fine for a base for the night. Has a hair dryer and good shower. If your going for a break or a romantic night then I would say book else where. It deserves three stars as it served a purpose.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank benson1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charvil
1.1 mi away
The Great House At Sonning
The Great House At Sonning
#1 of 2 in Sonning-on-Thames
672 reviews
1.3 mi away
French Horn Hotel
French Horn Hotel
#2 of 2 in Sonning-on-Thames
206 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Catherine Wheel
The Catherine Wheel
#2 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Reading Moat House Hotel
4.4 mi away
Cantley House Hotel
Cantley House Hotel
#7 of 12 in Wokingham
612 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Reading M4 Jct 10
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wee Waif? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wee Waif

Address: Old Bath Road, Charvil, Wokingham RG10 9RJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Wokingham > Charvil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Charvil
Price Range: £47 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wee Waif 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Wee Waif reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wee Waif Hotel Reading
Wee Waif Reading
Wee Waif Hotel Reading

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing