We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New year dinner dance party”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Reading Calcot Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Calcot
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“New year dinner dance party”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

This is our third visit and another enjoyable stay and party. As always the staff are there with great service and friendly banter.The food was very good and portions of a good size ( men were happy) the D J was great and new just what to play to keep everyone dancing.The room very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was plentiful, The stay was very good value.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    189
    127
    51
    17
See reviews for
107
105
34
191
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, England
Level Contributor
117 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I have read some poor reviews about this hotel. My three stays here have all been good.
I have been lucky enough to stay in the Superior rooms. They have been clean and well maintained.

The restaraunt has proper cloth table cloths and real cutlery, such a refreshing change from some of the wroks canteen style restaraunts that are proliferating. I have stayed in places where the brakfast selection was wider, but the food quality was worse.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HonestJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upper Beeding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed there in December and felt it represented good value for money. Our only criticism was that there was a very stale smell in the room which we believe was the drains. Once we kept the bathroom door closed it seems better. This permutated into the corridor outside so would have thought it would have been noticed by the staff. We didn't mention this on check out as there were many guests leaving so the process was very brief. Otherwise than that we enjoyed the stay, everywhere was clean and the breakfast was adequate although a bit expensive at £10.25 each.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

This hotel has a great location for business or holiday in particular if going in to London ,the south coast & many more places,
I stayed for two nights incorporating a 2 day sale meeting at the hotel for 7 guys in total.
Everything was spot on -great meeting room & facilities ,excellent food and very helpful staff througout our stay - my guys want to come back again.
On the final day we rounded up the year attending the XMAS Party ,again everything was spot on
Rooms are very clean & to a high standard and excellent value fro money.
So be it business or pleasure you will not be dissapointed
Peter U

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

The hotel id clean and comfortable staff are friendly and cannot do enough for you the resteraunt is clean and welcoming all public areas are kept clean and tidy rooms are clean and comfortable good stay

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank gillandpeter123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Had another fantastic evening with friends at The Calcot Christmas party night (we came last year and the year before!). Lovely, attentive staff, delicious food and great music. We partied the night away in style! Comfortable rooms and great breakfast too. A wonderful way to start Christmas! See you next year!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jodahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Had a great night. Food was very good and we didn't have to pre order which is unusual at Xmas. The room was full of party goers and the atmosphere was very jolly. Everyone up dancing all night. We stayed the night in the hotel and had a good night's sleep followed by a hearty breakfast. We have come to the Xmas party night for about 5 years running and we will certAinly be back next year!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calcot
3.2 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 31 in Reading
988 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
#15 of 31 in Reading
934 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 31 in Reading
1,793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Abbey House Hotel
Abbey House Hotel
#14 of 31 in Reading
127 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ibis Styles Reading Oxford Rd
2.0 mi away
Beech House Hotel
Beech House Hotel
#10 of 31 in Reading
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Reading Calcot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Reading Calcot Hotel

Property: Best Western Reading Calcot Hotel
Address: 98 Bath Road, Calcot, Reading RG31 7QN, England (Formerly Best Western Calcot Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading > Calcot
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Calcot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Reading Calcot Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Calcot Hotel is the perfect location for business or leisure in Reading and the surrounding Thames Valley area. Ideally located less than a mile from Junction 12 of the M4 motorway, on the A4 leading into Reading. Reading town centre is within 3 miles and access to the town centre is probably one of the least congested routes available. Very easy and quick to find and most importantly for a Reading hotel...an onsite FREE, floodlit car park for over 150 vehicles! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Reading Calcot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Reading
Reading Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing