We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the calcot hotel reading” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Reading Calcot Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Reading Calcot Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Calcot
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    183
    121
    48
    16
See reviews for
102
102
32
185
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Having had another annual business workshop at the Calcot Hotel last week, I can only say that it keeps getting better. The food has definitely improved with better menu and ingredients. The business services are especially excellent, in particular, the boardroom with its amenities and dedicated member of staff to attend to our every need. A few of us also stayed to enjoy a few drinks and a room for the night. The selection of beers and ales has definitely also improved and a few of the rooms (mine to note, perhaps because I was chief organiser) has definitely recently been refurbished.

Well done guys, looking forward to seeing you again in the winter!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mugearsuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Jean & I, Have just celebrated 40 years of marriage. At the Calcot Hotel Reading Berkshire. With Family, and life long friends. We booked the Wyborn Restaurant, and 54 people, had the time of there Lives. Thanks to the wonderful staff. The evening was made all the more better, by the disco. Every one of our guests, thought the Menu was perfect, cooked to perfection, and each and every one of us. Would like to send our appreciation to the hard working chefs. finally, Jean & I would personally, like to thank Pauline, who gave her expertise, that made it a night to Remember. Thank you to all the Staff, and all been well, see you all again, for our Golden anniversary. Ps enjoy your holyday in Cuba Pauline.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peteball40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

We attended a function at the Calcot, and decided to stay over.The stay could not have been better with excellent accomodation and really good wholesome food.The staff were all very friendly and helpful.Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank penlivi39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Neot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

I recently picked up a good value Saturday night stay at The Calcot. It is a very convenient location with good access, lots of parking. Reception were friendly and very helpful at all times, probably one of the friendliest check-ins I have experienced.
Public areas are all well maintained and clean, it is a little dated in places however (a bit "grandmas house" ).
Bedroom was spacious, comfortable and spotlessly clean with a comfortable bed and good pillows, again a little dated chintzy.
Bathroom was not so good, very compact and tight for space ( a shame considering the amount of space in the bedroom! ) - the bathroom also felt a little tired and slightly worn / looked a bit grubby, it was clean but just felt a little shabby.

Breakfast was ok, buffet style service. Again excellent service, really friendly greeting. Slightly limited choice but the basics were there on the cold buffet. Cooked was pretty good buffet, impressively hot - some items could be better quality.

Overall a fairly good stay, even if it does feel a little bit like a retirement home in places. Would stay again if a good / low rate was available.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank muswell25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

The hotel is rather Berni Inn 1970's decor, the room was small but the staff were friendly.
I have a major problem eating out due to having to avoid large food groups, this was explained to the chef who did an excellent job. He was able to prepare the food as I requested and resisted the urge to add a dressing of sauce unnecessarily.
Believe me this is not always as easy as it should be.
The chef and waitress saved the day by their attention to detail, considerate and caring attitude and the fact they cared enough to give me what I wanted.

Room Tip: Try and have a room at each end of the building as the sound proofing is poor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

It is in a good location, close to the m4, and the service I received at the hotel was good, but the rooms are in need of updating, especially the bathroom. On one morning when I had a shower I had very little water! The bathroom itself could do with updating overall. There is also a lack of power plugs in the room! The breakfast was OK, although was not particularly fresh. The hotel is average, for perhaps a slightly too high rate per night, although it is fine for a few nights stay if you don't expect too much.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calcot
3.0 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 32 in Reading
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,708 reviews
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Reading (Caversham Bridge) Hotel
2.1 mi away
Beech House Hotel
Beech House Hotel
#9 of 32 in Reading
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 32 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
2.9 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#5 of 32 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,137 reviews
2.9 mi away
Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Reading Calcot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Reading Calcot Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Reading Calcot Hotel
Address: 98 Bath Road, Calcot, Reading RG31 7QN, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Calcot Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading > Calcot
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Calcot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Reading Calcot Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Calcot Hotel is the perfect location for business or leisure in Reading and the surrounding Thames Valley area. Ideally located less than a mile from Junction 12 of the M4 motorway, on the A4 leading into Reading. Reading town centre is within 3 miles and access to the town centre is probably one of the least congested routes available. Very easy and quick to find and most importantly for a Reading hotel...an onsite FREE, floodlit car park for over 150 vehicles! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Reading Calcot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Reading
Reading Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing