We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's the people that count”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Reading Calcot Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Calcot
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This is a three start independant hotel. Rooms are large and 1980/90 in style, creaking floor boards, dripping taps and poor sound insulation. I do hope the man in the room next door gets his nose sorted 'cos snoring such as that is serious!
However, the staff here are superb, friendly to just the right amount, seriously efficient and the location, just off the motorway, when added to the weekend rates make thgis somewhere to condiser if needing to stay in the area.

Room Tip: They have some smaller rooms near to the function area which are cheaper but noisy at the weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pepperdw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (588)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

389 - 395 of 588 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2014

first time stay at this hotel, for business about 20mins drive away. hotel room floorboards all creaked, shower room/toilet really small. Room (#10) wasn't really big enough to be used as a double, also adjacent to stairs, so late nighters from the bar below with quite loud footsteps will wake you up!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
1  Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

The Hotel decor OK, Staff were really helpful and friendly, at dinner the food was surprisingly good, excellent breakfast with good quality sausage and bacon. Nice to have tea/coffee and toast bought to your table rather than make it yourself.
The only downside were the rooms, booked 5 ground floor as some have mobility problems but had stairs to climb, stairlift on lower ground floor rooms but couldn't access that for the higher ground floor rooms, bathrooms tiny hard to get round sink to toilet if you are tall or bigger built, bed was so soft, talk about roll together, so soft every time one of us moved it made it all move.. Worst nights sleep ever for this reason. The lower ground floor rooms in the 70's numbers seemed to be a bit bigger with bigger beds but still tiny bathrooms. Shame as it spoilt an otherwise good stay.

Room Tip: If you have mobility problems check where the room is as ground floor isn't ground floor, also c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bloomers59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We have just stayed a night there, rooms were quite spacious, bathroom ok not special, downside for us, it was really noisy, seems the walls must be paper thin, could hear people walking about for ages after we went to bed which was about midnight, and couldnt sleep for over an hour due to noise. Parking was good. Didnt eat there but drinks really expensive £3.80 a pit of bitter.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KingyWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We attended family birthday celebrations on a dinner, bed & breakfast deal which was excellent. The table d'hote menu was nicely cooked and service was excellent. Breakfast was very good.
The only downside for me was the size of the bathroom or specifically the space between the toilet and hand basin. Being very tall I found to get round sink quite small.
If you like a soft mattress then ok, but we prefer a harder mattress and I thought I would fall out as it was so soft.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are ideal if you are fit and well, as there are stairs to go down, although there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nannyspice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Stayed during business at Porsche down the road. Parking right by your room is nice!

Check in was okay, the lovely polish women wasn't the greatest at English though.
Checkout was super quick.

Rooms are a little dated but i don't mind as its a best western, TV was fine. Bathrooms too small and appliances didn't work such as hair drier.

Worst part were the mattresses, i simply had a terrible nights sleep on them. Very small and un comfortable. I was up early for meetings also which didn't help my view on this.

All in all not a bad best western but certainly wasn't a great one.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LuiPickthall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Diane L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calcot
3.4 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 31 in Reading
1,064 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#2 of 31 in Reading
1,920 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Reading Oxford Rd
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
#14 of 31 in Reading
974 reviews
3.2 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#7 of 31 in Reading
2,502 reviews
3.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Reading Calcot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Reading Calcot Hotel

Address: 98 Bath Road, Calcot, Reading RG31 7QN, England (Formerly Best Western Calcot Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading > Calcot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Calcot
Price Range: £48 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Reading Calcot Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Calcot Hotel is the perfect location for business or leisure in Reading and the surrounding Thames Valley area. Ideally located less than a mile from Junction 12 of the M4 motorway, on the A4 leading into Reading. Reading town centre is within 3 miles and access to the town centre is probably one of the least congested routes available. Very easy and quick to find and most importantly for a Reading hotel...an onsite FREE, floodlit car park for over 150 vehicles! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, getaroom.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Reading Calcot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Reading
Reading Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing