We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but bar shut a bit early”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Reading Calcot Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Calcot
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good but bar shut a bit early”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Stayed here for one night, the room was clean think it had been recently decorated, the bathroom was a bit dated with the toilet taking forever to fill, but the shower worked fine. The breakfast was lovely worth the extra charge. We didn't eat in the restaurant for our evening meal we walked the short distance to the Indian near by where the chicken balti and garlic nan was good the rest was ok not great. Then we spent the rest of the evening in the bar but was a bit disappointed to be told they were closing at 11pm, it felt a bit like we were being told to got to bed. We weren't the only people in the bar there were quite a few others in there so not happy about that. The hotel it's self is on a very busy road and I did get woken up in the middle of the night by an idiot that thought it was a racing track, with the loudest exhaust possible. All in all I don't think I'll stay here again only really good point was the breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    186
    127
    51
    17
See reviews for
106
104
34
190
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wareham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for business, I wish I didn't it was vile. My towel was dirty, don't think it had ever seen a washing machine. The bathroom was dated and there was no flannel. The television was so small there was no point it being there, the walls are so thin you can hear EVERYTHING in the rooms next door. I didn't eat here because it was so horrible, there is a handy McDonalds just down the road tho! I truly recommend that you pay a bit more a stay in Reading itself

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank katiebu2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, Kent
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

My partner & I were staying for the nights before and after his daughter's wedding. The location was good, only 15 minute drive from the wedding venue. The hotel is just back from the main road with plenty of parking. Dining and communal areas are very clean and welcoming.

Room 55 was of a reasonable size, clean, with a comfy double bed.

The bathroom had a lovely hot power shower but no loo brush. TV channels were odd, we couldn't get BBC1 but there seemed to be several 'adult' channels available.

Windows for the bedroom were small, the weather was warm so the room was stuffy. However on the occasions when we opened the windows during the daytime on both days there was someone outside using an angle grinder (not wearing protective clothing either ).

The food is not an adventurous menu but it is really nicely cooked (which is my preference anyway). The staff are really nice, polite and helpful.

We would stay there again if we were there just for a couple of nights or en-route to a further away place.



  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thornton312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Well positioned hotel, very little traffic noise. Well organised and clean rooms. Yes, very 1980's/90's but that's my era. The free Wi-Fi was welcome too. Their crowning glory were the evening meals and breakfast. I sent my compliments to the staff, I don't normally do that. Everyone was welcoming and helpful. Would stay there again, without hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
185 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

It was okay, but staff were not particularly friendly, sound-proofing was minimal and the rooms were pretty basic. But on the positive side, it was clean, the breakfast was tasty and the location is accessible in an otherwise pretty horrendous traffic-ridden town..

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foxontherox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Decent hotel, parking good. Went to a function there and the food and service was very good, They have entertainment at weekends and offer a saving on the room,
some of which are on the small side. Would stay againm

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MWT65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calcot
3.0 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 31 in Reading
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,758 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 31 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
2.0 mi away
Beech House Hotel
Beech House Hotel
#10 of 31 in Reading
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#6 of 31 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,228 reviews
3.1 mi away
Premier Inn Reading (Caversham Bridge) Hotel
3.5 mi away
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
#15 of 31 in Reading
3.5 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Reading Calcot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Reading Calcot Hotel

Property: Best Western Reading Calcot Hotel
Address: 98 Bath Road, Calcot, Reading RG31 7QN, England (Formerly Best Western Calcot Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading > Calcot
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Calcot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Reading Calcot Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Calcot Hotel is the perfect location for business or leisure in Reading and the surrounding Thames Valley area. Ideally located less than a mile from Junction 12 of the M4 motorway, on the A4 leading into Reading. Reading town centre is within 3 miles and access to the town centre is probably one of the least congested routes available. Very easy and quick to find and most importantly for a Reading hotel...an onsite FREE, floodlit car park for over 150 vehicles! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Reading Calcot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Reading
Reading Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing