We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Reading Calcot Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Roselawn Hotel(Burghfield)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bath Hotel(Reading)
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (613)
Filter reviews
614 results
Traveller rating
197
203
138
55
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
197
203
138
55
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdinner danceparty nightfunction roomfree wifiplenty of parkingshower headsunday carveryrestaurant staffan overnight stayexcellent breakfastenjoyable staygood nights sleepsingle roomcomfortable roomfollowing morningnight's sleepstayed for one night
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
399 - 404 of 614 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I stayed here on business for one night and would definitely recommend it.
The rooms were clean and comfortable.
The restaurant food was good and reasonably priced too.
All in all, I would stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter_mm_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

One of the worst hotels I have stayed at, the visit did not start well. The receptionist appeared bored and was anything but helpful, the rooms were old and dated and other staff away from the restaurant were similar to the receptionist.

The food both dinner and breakfast was very good but do not do enough to rescue the hotel from a terrrible rating.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Stayed here for 1 night in May whilst visiting family in Reading and wasn't very impressed the room was small and dark. The bathroom was tiny and old. When I first arrived I found a pair of pants in the room that wasn't mine or my girlfriends. Don't think I would stop their again in a hurry. The best thing was that it had a big carpark.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ryanb101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Maybe my review will be a bit biased, as I am quite a regular guest.
The hotel is definitely nice and despite it's on a busy road, you will not be bothered by the traffic noise (maybe, owing to thin walls, you might hear what's happening in next room) and there's plenty of parking. Rooms are confy, clean and spacious with a desk which, together with the complimentary wi-fi connection, helps you to catch up with work. Bathrooms are large enough for your needs. I would just improve a few things: the plumbing (when I take a shower I like a very powerful water jet), the curtains (so that you are not waken up by sunlight at 5h00) and the thickness of the walls (if you hear the TV brodcast in next room, can be annoying,. If another kind of performance is going on, it could be embarassing). The restaurant offers a wide range of feshly prepared foods and dishes are very wel presented. Also breakfast is very nice. Staff is helpful and caring. I would recommend it

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mattomatteo71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

A lot of the reviews I have read are pretty negative towards this hotel. With this in mind I will only touch on the great points.

All of the staff that I spoke to were very nice and welcoming. regardless weather they were front of house or cleaning staff.

The rooms in the older part of the hotel are quite small with creaky floorboards, but the rooms in the newer part are a lot bigger. The main thing that I noticed was that the hotel was very well maintained. Paint was fresh etc. It was very very clean ( an absolute credit to the management).
The breakfast and restaurant food was first class.

Being a traveler who stays in quite a few hotels, I particularly liked the bar area, it has quiet secluded areas were you can be on your own, but not stand out.

To sum up..... this hotel has a very homely character (for a hotel) all of its own. I would recommend staying here.

Thank you..

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colandally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews