We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor value for £90 for one person”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Reading Calcot Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Calcot
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I accept I only stated here for one night, arrived tired and late and didn't eat here apart from breakfast but my overall impression wasn't great. The postcode given took me three miles away and when I finally arrived and asked if this was a common problem the lady in reception said it was but offered no understanding or sympathy that it had been a problem. My room, number 26 was on the ground floor and it was ok but it smelt of damp and it started to irritate my nose and eyes after a while. The bed was lumpy and had a horrible plastic mattress cover on it which moved with me and ended up bunched up in the middle of the bed. The from above had the worst floorboards and felt like a herd of elephants every time the person above moved about which was a lot!

At 6am I was woken by the noise form able and couldn't get back to sleep. I had breakfast which had a good offer of choices but the items I chose from the the hot buffet were cold. When I checked out there was no "was everything alright" and I got a half hearted smile and no real acknowledgement.

I am not a fussy guest, most of my other reviews are three stars or more but at £90 a night for just me I expected better service and a more comfortable experience. No excuse when you are charging high prices in my view to have a noisy room or a cheap bed with plastic covers on it. Not the Best Western standards I normally find.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (595)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

364 - 370 of 595 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

I stayed here a few years back and have just returned and really enjoyed my stay. I enjoyed seeing the same friendly faces that I saw on my previous stay, can you believe it one even remembered me !!! (I think her name was Alice ) How's that for customer service.
I found the room I had of a good standard, the bathroom had a newly fitted bathroom which was great. Breakfast was of a good standard. All the staff I came across were friendly and efficient, I will certainly return when I am in the area again....Well done a great stay

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank james1842014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We booked 3 rooms here for my daughter's graduation last Friday. The rooms were adequate, comfortable and just what we needed. We were able to check in early, having requested this in advance. All the staff were helpful and friendly. We had drinks in the bar when we arrived back at the hotel after the graduation celebrations and we were greeted with a smile by the friendly lady behind the bar, despite out late request for drinks. Breakfast was good, not too much choice, but everything was fresh and hot. The only complaint we have was that for some reason the people above our rooms, thought it was a good idea to wake up at 4am and then walk around their bedroom for 4 hours until breakfast at 8am!! Not quite sure why they were doing this, but obviously not the fault of the hotel, although the floor boards very creaky and we could hear every footstep! However despite this, we would recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 29Poppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

My Company Exemplo Training Solutions booked 2 rooms here this week and are returning in a months time so were more than happy with the standard of this hotel. Nice friendly Reception staff and the bar and breakfast staff were very helpful as well.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Goldie1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We remember stopping @ this hotel thirty years ago , and it does NOT seemed have changed much apart for an extension, you feel its living on past glories ,from the car park , entrance steps and door ,reception, bar , restaurant .all had that 70 ,80 feeling .
We paid for a luxury room to supply a 4 .6 ins standard floppy bed disappointing , Positive the free Wi Fi was excellent .
Can only assume the owners are awaiting an offer from a multiple to purchase the excellent site ,just off the M 4 , and very close to the new to be opened I K E A .
In spite of adverse comments by other travellers , No management response . Maybe tells a story !

Room Tip: Difficult to answer even the Luxury room were poor , bathrooms very dated ,poor sized beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank atw1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Booked into this hotel on internet as close to friends we were visiting. As it was a Best Western I though I knew what standards to expect, but this place fell below them. Lots of little things made the stay not what we would expect. Basic is how I would describe the hotel. For the price £95 for one night, I expected more. Bill was over charged until I pointed out mistake. Won't return here.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Bill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Be warned. You can get a pint of foster for £3.70. A pint of lemonade and orange will cost an eye watering £5.30. When I asked why I was told its because we use to bottles of orange!!!! Really it's a rip off and as I'm a corporate customer of one of the largest supermarkets I am posting my receipt to the finance department in Oder for them to re look at our hotel choices as a business. I'm shocked!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jamie0199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calcot
2.3 mi away
Beech House Hotel
Beech House Hotel
#9 of 31 in Reading
323 reviews
3.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
2.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Reading Oxford Rd
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 31 in Reading
1,086 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#2 of 31 in Reading
1,956 reviews
3.4 mi away
Novotel Reading Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Reading Calcot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Reading Calcot Hotel

Address: 98 Bath Road, Calcot, Reading RG31 7QN, England (Formerly Best Western Calcot Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading > Calcot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Calcot
Price Range: £49 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Reading Calcot Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Calcot Hotel is the perfect location for business or leisure in Reading and the surrounding Thames Valley area. Ideally located less than a mile from Junction 12 of the M4 motorway, on the A4 leading into Reading. Reading town centre is within 3 miles and access to the town centre is probably one of the least congested routes available. Very easy and quick to find and most importantly for a Reading hotel...an onsite FREE, floodlit car park for over 150 vehicles! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Reading Calcot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Reading
Reading Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing