We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“convenient but very basic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Best Western Reading Calcot Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Calcot
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed there as it was close to our friends' house. The hotel looks OK from the outside but is quite outdated inside. Our room was small and dark. The bed was comfortable enough. We had some tea/coffee but no water provided. The bathroom was old and dirty and the cleaning had not been done as the bin was full (of hygienic pads and floss, disgusting).
It is easy to get to this hotel but I would not recommend staying there unless you really have to. It is really expensive for the quality. Nobody at reception asked if we had a good stay; they might have been scared of the answer...

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank CJMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (592)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

355 - 361 of 592 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

Friendly, efficient and professional staff beginning with telephone booking right through to check out. Good value restaurant. Clean, well maintained, comfortable rooms and a great place to stay for exploring the surrounding area and London.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
2  Thank 520catheriner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This hotel was located within a short car distance of where i needed to be in Reading, without the hassle of trying to find somewhere to park like at a city centre hotel, or having to pay a premium for the privilege. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the room clean and comfortable. it was satisfying to find that the room not only had the usual coffee making facilities but also had an iron and board, as well as access to fast and free wifi. One of my better hotel stays this year.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
1  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Food menu hasn't changed in years, rooms are old and tatty, location is nowhere near anything except a main road and it is far too expensive for what you get.

I can never keep the Windows open when it's hot as the roar from the road has me up at the crack of dawn. lovely coffee, but the food selection at breakfast is not there...

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ypnos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This was my second time staying at the Calcot. I was very pleased with a clean and tidy room, excellent breakfast and friendly and helpful staff. Great value for money, would go back again... and again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed a couple of nights on our old regimental reunion. The rooms are well decorated, clean and quiet . The breakfast at £10.25 was well worth it as it was self service allowing you to fill up if you have a big appetite. The staff were really friendly too. Only downside the bar was a bit pricey.Overall fabulous!

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank johnboy2211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

My friend got married here last weekend and I can't say I expected much as I had been here a few years back, but we had an amazing time. The reception staff were all very friendly and our room was nice. The room that the wedding was in was beautifully dressed (by the brides mum!) but just goes to show that with a bit of effort a plain room can be transformed!!! The wedding breakfast was delicious and the buffet was excellent too. Overall very pleasantly surprised :) Breakfast the next day also went down a treat (and I'm fussy!)

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Jade P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calcot
3.1 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#2 of 31 in Reading
1,943 reviews
3.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
3.4 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 31 in Reading
1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Reading Oxford Rd
3.2 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#6 of 31 in Reading
2,535 reviews
3.4 mi away
Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Reading Calcot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Reading Calcot Hotel

Address: 98 Bath Road, Calcot, Reading RG31 7QN, England (Formerly Best Western Calcot Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading > Calcot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Calcot
Price Range: £47 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Reading Calcot Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Calcot Hotel is the perfect location for business or leisure in Reading and the surrounding Thames Valley area. Ideally located less than a mile from Junction 12 of the M4 motorway, on the A4 leading into Reading. Reading town centre is within 3 miles and access to the town centre is probably one of the least congested routes available. Very easy and quick to find and most importantly for a Reading hotel...an onsite FREE, floodlit car park for over 150 vehicles! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Reading Calcot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Reading
Reading Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing