We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb hotel close to Reading centre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Reading Calcot Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Calcot
Birmingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb hotel close to Reading centre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2009

The Reading area is full of overpriced expensive hotels, so when I found this one I was really surprised. Located not far from the M4 jct 12 and a large free on site car park, unusual for Reading!
The rooms were not enormous but a decent size for the price I paid for a standard room £85. A nice lounge and an excellent restaurant too.I would definitely recommend this hotel for any traveller to Reading

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank countryfolk41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    186
    125
    49
    16
See reviews for
104
104
32
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2009

Whenever I travel back to Reading I stay at the Calcot Hotel.
I know what I am going to get. Always a friendly welcome and staff that actually speak to you!
The restaurant is fine, good choice and comfortable.
Rooms are spacious, well appointed and quiet.
If you don't want to pay high prices and want better quality than a Travel Lodge or Premier Inn then I would recommend this really nice hotel.

  • Liked — very clean and comfortable
  • Disliked — could have had a few more satellite channels
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank margatekid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2009

I have stayed here a few times, and always found the hotel staff to be very helpful. The breakfasts are ordered and served, not the help yourself buffett type. The menu and quality of food in the evenings is good and plentyful. My room was a good sized double with with a good sized bathroom. The room was very clean with good decoration. There is free Internet via W i-Fi in the common areas, and is avaialbe in most rooms. There was tea/coffee making, hairdryer and iron with board in the room. The TV was missing quite a few channels though.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank janesta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2008

I stayed at the hotel for 4 nights on business. My work booked the hotel through a travel agent so I was unaware until the second day that I was paying £90 a night for a Very Small single room. I was told that the double rooms were £100.
If you book short notice in this part of the world it seems very difficult to get a decent price.
There were irritations that constantly marred my stay.
The maid constantly forgot to replenish the Shower Gel and Shampoo, so I had to go to reception daily and complain. The room was really so small that I had to keep packing everything in to my bag to avoid tripping over it.
I, like another reviewer tripped over the step inside the door.
The WIFI cost £7.95 per day, which is unusual for a BW hotel and was poor in my room.
I can't comment on the food as I only had the cereal for breakfast (fine) and dodged the restaurant in the evening.

What made the whole thing worse was my colleague got a room in a much better (yet cheaper) hotel and was complaining that his room was too big!.

  • Liked — Near the M4
  • Disliked — Room Size
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MSEngineerDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2008

Spent 3 days at the Calcot Hotel recently staying there while on business. Hotel itself is nice enough, easy to find a couple of minutes from the M4. Room was of a decent size, although it must have been the smallest double bed I've ever slept in. TV worked fine although the channel list wasn't quite right, batchroom was clean and well supplied.

Breakfast was of good quality although it arrives very quickly after you have ordered, so I hope you are fast at eating cereal. Insider tip for you here, you don't get beans, but they have a secret supply so if you ask you may get some, only found this out on the last day.

Only ate in the restaurant on the first night, had the good sounding deep fried cod, chips and mushy peas, however when it came it was obviously Captain Birdseye's finest triangular shaped fish (baked to a crisp), frozen chips and half a tin of Batchelors chip shop style mushies! Opted for a trip into darkest Reading on the other 2 nights in search of better value for money, even though I wasn't paying! Oh, there's a chippy round the corner if you don't have transport and Maccy D's just back up the road. The draught Strongbow was good though.

So overall, not a bad business hotel, in a good location, big car park, nice umbrella outside if you are a smoker(!), ok breakfast but avoid the evening meals.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank room_512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2007

Had a family gathering booked with private dining (Grandads 80th). Staff all really friendly. Looked after all of us really well. Nowhere much for kids outside but they loved the place.
Most family members stayed over - all comfortable.
Great value for what we paid. Will stay again if we do this again. And we probably will.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — Carpet in reception - very loud
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank fluffyface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2007

I stayed for 1 night in one of the smallest rooms imaginable. The bathroom (shower-room) was barely big enough to turn around in and because I didn`t spot the sign on the door, I missed the step down into the room from the corridor.

Breakfast was OK - supposedly made to order but it arrived in a couple of minutes (good) but contained watery scrambled eggs, an undercooked tomato and lukewarm bacon.

Finally, despite requesting a morning paper, I didn`t receive one.

Calcot Hotel - you must try harder!

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
Thank cousinernie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calcot
3.0 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 31 in Reading
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,729 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 31 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
2.0 mi away
Beech House Hotel
Beech House Hotel
#10 of 31 in Reading
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#6 of 31 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,190 reviews
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Reading (Caversham Bridge) Hotel
3.5 mi away
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
#15 of 31 in Reading
3.5 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Reading Calcot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Reading Calcot Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Reading Calcot Hotel
Address: 98 Bath Road, Calcot, Reading RG31 7QN, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Calcot Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading > Calcot
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Calcot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Reading Calcot Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Calcot Hotel is the perfect location for business or leisure in Reading and the surrounding Thames Valley area. Ideally located less than a mile from Junction 12 of the M4 motorway, on the A4 leading into Reading. Reading town centre is within 3 miles and access to the town centre is probably one of the least congested routes available. Very easy and quick to find and most importantly for a Reading hotel...an onsite FREE, floodlit car park for over 150 vehicles! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Reading Calcot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Reading
Reading Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing