We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant atmosphere good food & service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Reading Calcot Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Calcot
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 December 2009

We were a party of 11 for sunday carvery,The service was excellent and the food of very good quality, we will visit the Calcot again as it is not easy to find many places in Reading offering such a good experience

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank jorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (592)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

573 - 579 of 592 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2009

Stayed at the Calcot in Reading for a few nights on business. What a great place to stop. All the staff are so friendly. Good quiet room. Comfortable bar and restaurant just what you need not to fancy and not too expensive (well for Reading anyway). The location was so close to the motorway so no traffic problems in the morning.
I have stayed at many boring impersonal places in my time. This one is neither of these. very nice staff who actually talk to you and make you feel so welcome. If I am in Reading again I will definately go back and stay.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bobbybUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2009

The Reading area is full of overpriced expensive hotels, so when I found this one I was really surprised. Located not far from the M4 jct 12 and a large free on site car park, unusual for Reading!
The rooms were not enormous but a decent size for the price I paid for a standard room £85. A nice lounge and an excellent restaurant too.I would definitely recommend this hotel for any traveller to Reading

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank countryfolk41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2009

Whenever I travel back to Reading I stay at the Calcot Hotel.
I know what I am going to get. Always a friendly welcome and staff that actually speak to you!
The restaurant is fine, good choice and comfortable.
Rooms are spacious, well appointed and quiet.
If you don't want to pay high prices and want better quality than a Travel Lodge or Premier Inn then I would recommend this really nice hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank margatekid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2009

I have stayed here a few times, and always found the hotel staff to be very helpful. The breakfasts are ordered and served, not the help yourself buffett type. The menu and quality of food in the evenings is good and plentyful. My room was a good sized double with with a good sized bathroom. The room was very clean with good decoration. There is free Internet via W i-Fi in the common areas, and is avaialbe in most rooms. There was tea/coffee making, hairdryer and iron with board in the room. The TV was missing quite a few channels though.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank janesta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2008

I stayed at the hotel for 4 nights on business. My work booked the hotel through a travel agent so I was unaware until the second day that I was paying £90 a night for a Very Small single room. I was told that the double rooms were £100.
If you book short notice in this part of the world it seems very difficult to get a decent price.
There were irritations that constantly marred my stay.
The maid constantly forgot to replenish the Shower Gel and Shampoo, so I had to go to reception daily and complain. The room was really so small that I had to keep packing everything in to my bag to avoid tripping over it.
I, like another reviewer tripped over the step inside the door.
The WIFI cost £7.95 per day, which is unusual for a BW hotel and was poor in my room.
I can't comment on the food as I only had the cereal for breakfast (fine) and dodged the restaurant in the evening.

What made the whole thing worse was my colleague got a room in a much better (yet cheaper) hotel and was complaining that his room was too big!.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MSEngineerDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2008

Spent 3 days at the Calcot Hotel recently staying there while on business. Hotel itself is nice enough, easy to find a couple of minutes from the M4. Room was of a decent size, although it must have been the smallest double bed I've ever slept in. TV worked fine although the channel list wasn't quite right, batchroom was clean and well supplied.

Breakfast was of good quality although it arrives very quickly after you have ordered, so I hope you are fast at eating cereal. Insider tip for you here, you don't get beans, but they have a secret supply so if you ask you may get some, only found this out on the last day.

Only ate in the restaurant on the first night, had the good sounding deep fried cod, chips and mushy peas, however when it came it was obviously Captain Birdseye's finest triangular shaped fish (baked to a crisp), frozen chips and half a tin of Batchelors chip shop style mushies! Opted for a trip into darkest Reading on the other 2 nights in search of better value for money, even though I wasn't paying! Oh, there's a chippy round the corner if you don't have transport and Maccy D's just back up the road. The draught Strongbow was good though.

So overall, not a bad business hotel, in a good location, big car park, nice umbrella outside if you are a smoker(!), ok breakfast but avoid the evening meals.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank room_512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calcot
3.1 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#2 of 31 in Reading
1,945 reviews
3.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
2.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Reading Oxford Rd
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel
3.4 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 31 in Reading
1,077 reviews
2.3 mi away
Beech House Hotel
Beech House Hotel
#10 of 31 in Reading
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Reading Calcot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Reading Calcot Hotel

Address: 98 Bath Road, Calcot, Reading RG31 7QN, England (Formerly Best Western Calcot Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading > Calcot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Calcot
Price Range: £47 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Reading Calcot Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Calcot Hotel is the perfect location for business or leisure in Reading and the surrounding Thames Valley area. Ideally located less than a mile from Junction 12 of the M4 motorway, on the A4 leading into Reading. Reading town centre is within 3 miles and access to the town centre is probably one of the least congested routes available. Very easy and quick to find and most importantly for a Reading hotel...an onsite FREE, floodlit car park for over 150 vehicles! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Reading Calcot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Reading
Reading Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing