We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value For Money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Reading Calcot Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Calcot
Houghton-le-Spring, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
213 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Good Value For Money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2011

Friendly staff from check in to check out. All bar staff and restersaunt were helpful as a lone traveller would recommend. I could have stayed in the Premier Inn nearby. This was much better tried reteraunt 2 nights was good value for money. I had fulll breakfast on last morning which was quite enjoyable. room at front of hotel was noisey due to traffic even when window wasnt open due to the busy Bath rd however there was plenty parking places. 2 minutes from motorway junction and regular buses to Reading just ask at desk, bus stop 100metres away 20-25 minutes. Reasonably priced Indian around corner. I will definately stay again

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gypsy60_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calcot, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Reading Calcot Hotel, responded to this review, 8 February 2011
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at The Best Western Calcot Hotel and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards

Pauline Wainwright
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    186
    126
    49
    16
See reviews for
104
104
32
188
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2011

Had fabulous evening with a group of friends at this very comfortable and friendly hotel. There was an ABBA tribute band playing, and they were amazing - extremely interactive with the audience and great fun was had by all.....and they really sounded just like ABBA! We had a very comfortable overnight stay, and a hearty 'full English' breakfast set us up for the day.
We would reccommend Tha Calcot whole-heartedly.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jodahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew_MacLachlan, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Reading Calcot Hotel, responded to this review, 8 February 2011
Thank you for you kind words, we appreciate the time and trouble for you to leave a review. I have passed your comments to the team concerned and to the band.

Once again thank you and look forward to seeing you at one of our future events.

Andrew MacLachlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2011

We have been going to this hotel for several years to attend the end of January Motown party event. Everything was fine until checkout. Last year we paid £55 per couple room and breakfast. The bill this year was £70. We quizzed this because the flyer for the event stated room and breakfast £29.95 per person. This means each room in our party paid another £10 more than advertised. We were told that the rooms had been booked as room only and then the later charge of £10.95 for breakfast was added on. Was this really necessary? Why could the reception staff not say there had been a misunderstanding and the bill would be put through at the lower rate?
This may seem a trifling matter, but I was struck by the intransigence of the reception staff in this matter - especially as we have put quite a lot of business their way. We were all rather upset at this bad attitude and will not stay at the hotel next year for this reason.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank plymsunlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew_MacLachlan, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Reading Calcot Hotel, responded to this review, 8 February 2011
Thank you for your comments, however the pre-booked and agreed rate was charged, on check out the bill was presented and was checked and paid for. There are two rates one B&B and room only, your party organiser chose to book room only. The rate was only questioned after check out had been completed. I was pleased to hear from your party booker how fantastic your group had felt the function you attended had been with respect to food, service and entertainment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2010

We stayed for one night following a wedding reception. The reception staff were polite and efficient. The room was clean and tidy and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom is tiny and has a low ceiling, particularly over the bath, so not good if you are tall. We had a room overlooking the car park and therefore close to the busy A4 so there was noise to be heard from there, as well as from people outside in the corridor and the adjacent rooms. There appeared to be a stair lift if one was needed. Breakfast was plentiful and of good quality.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DWhiteBasingstoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2010

Had a fantastic time. Could not fault any of the staff and had an amazing time. The reception was good and the staff at the desk very efficient. Was good to see the manageress well seated within the vicinity just to make sure all was fine. Had a small problem but was dealt with superbly. Well done! As this is how it's supposed to be! Breakfast was fantastic and we both enjoyed. In fact the restaurant staff could not have done more to make us enjoy. We felt spoilt and had too much to choose from. With such a good breakfast you don't need to eat any lunch I presume.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rackland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2010

The Calcot Hotel is a fine hotel. We stayed for 6 nights and the staff were very friendly and helped us finding places to visit. Clean and spacy rooms with coffee/thee facilities. Great breakfast as well as the continental as the English breakfast. BUT the rooms have very thin walls. You could hear every conversation, tv, ... in one word really EVERYTHING. That was sometimes very anoying. Our room was on the back and our roomview was a fence. But it was not a bad stay, we are satisfied even with the rumor in the rooms.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon_Sima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
Level Contributor
147 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2010

Hotel maintenance was poor: our door lock was broken and we couldn't go in at night. We had to solve the problem by ourselves...Worst dinner ever had: tired boiled vegetables, low quality meat; ande the price for this was around 17 £.
Wi fi only in the lobby.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank qstnmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calcot
3.0 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 31 in Reading
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,731 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 31 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
2.0 mi away
Beech House Hotel
Beech House Hotel
#10 of 31 in Reading
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#6 of 31 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,190 reviews
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Reading (Caversham Bridge) Hotel
3.5 mi away
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
#15 of 31 in Reading
3.5 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Reading Calcot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Reading Calcot Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Reading Calcot Hotel
Address: 98 Bath Road, Calcot, Reading RG31 7QN, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Calcot Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading > Calcot
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Calcot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Reading Calcot Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Calcot Hotel is the perfect location for business or leisure in Reading and the surrounding Thames Valley area. Ideally located less than a mile from Junction 12 of the M4 motorway, on the A4 leading into Reading. Reading town centre is within 3 miles and access to the town centre is probably one of the least congested routes available. Very easy and quick to find and most importantly for a Reading hotel...an onsite FREE, floodlit car park for over 150 vehicles! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Reading Calcot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Reading
Reading Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing