We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth it if you get a good rate, just keep expectations in check...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pincents Manor Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Calcot
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2011

Great location, close to reading, m4, etc, but not close to restaurants. Nice countryside.

Rooms have heaters as they can get
cold and mattress very hard.

Service was mixed - breakfast lady and checkout young man were friendly but evening staff lacked enthusiasm...

Breakfast cooked looked ok but no fruit or croissants.

But that aside, for £60 and £10 for dinner it is hard to beat. Some nice walks up the road with country views.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt_Bristol_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2011

This hotel is pretty basic. I stayed two nights at £60p.n. Only stay if on a discounted rate (<£60). The room I had was pretty small and smelt a little damp, but overall comfortable enough. If I could have slept in a room which was the standard of the en suite I would have been very happy indeed.
The room #8 pokes out of the hotel on its own. Possibly an old gardener's shed??? I imagine in winter it would be dreadfully cold, given that it was slightly chilly in June and the heating was on.
The TV reception was variable and there is no freeview/sky etc.
I asked for a 7am wake up and never received one on either morning. Possibly because there was no phone in the room. Lucky we have mobiles these days and mine had battery!
Breakfast was fine and the staff are professional and courteous.
I imagine this beautiful looking hotel has some very nice rooms in other parts of the hotel. Wouldn't write it off, but wont be rushing to book again soon.

Room Tip: If travelling alone, do not stay in room # 8.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank finnyfunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2011

Great staff - totally flexible - don't expect the HK Mandarin Oriental but the staff here know what matters to you.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy401C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2010

Its a kool place for a stay of 2 or 3 days. I have stayed 3 days and found its good.Food is also not bad.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank techie_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2010

Unhelpful check-in staff, dirty rooms, no proper winter duvets on bed, central heating turned off until 7am, very cold at night, needed to sleep in my winter coat to stop shivering. No spare bedding available in room. Dirty rooms with dead flies, limited free-view TV, head board very dusty. Lobby dirty as well, thick layer of dust present on sofas. Breakfast on second day in freezing room, slow service. No fruit available, eggs not very tasty.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NottsRobotlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2010

Although the circumstances of having to stay at this hotel weren't the happiest, as we were holding my father's wake in their new conference centre, the hotel and the staff made a difficult time very easy.

We stayed in the hotel for a few days, initially in the family suite and then, due to previous bookings, in rooms in the Annex. The family suite is in the main building. Plenty of room for a family of four plus the sofas and TV, with a large en suite bathroom. Like the rest of the hotel it was full of character.

The Annex rooms were great fun and cosy. Quite unusual in that their a bit like the Tardis. From the outside you wonder how big the rooms would be but on entering you realise the building extends beyond what you see from the outside.

The staff and the family who run the hotel are very polite. Sure, there were little things, "could we have some more toilet roll, another towel" that sort of thing, but as soon as these things were mentioned they were sorted. The lounge area was very relaxing and we never wanted for anything, the staff were friendly and chatty.

The new conference facilities are superb. We only used the hall but we were told that on the 2nd storey is for wedding services and it would be perfect for weddings. As it was, it was perfect for the wake and staff were on hand to help They were polite and courteous. The buffet was what we'd asked for and very tasty.

The best bit was the bill. OK it's more than your chain hotels but not that much and certainly good value for staying in this beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulKennard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2010

Our original stay of 1 night was extended to 13 nights because of our flight cancellation due to the Icelandic volcano. All of the staff were extremely accommodating and helpful as we were constantly updating our departure date as the volcano status was changing. We spent most of the nights in Room #1 which is huge - one double bed, 2 single beds and a large sitting area. I had to convert part of the sitting area into a temporary office for part of the stay and this was not a problem. The WiFi access was reliable and reasonably fast. A full English breakfast was included in the price. Morning coffee and afternoon tea was readily available.

Good location, but as other reviewers have noted the best way to approach the hotel is by taking an immediate left on the A4 after leaving the M4 junction (by SaverCenter) - apparently the typical GPS route can take you down Pincents hill where you will encounter road-blocking bollards.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LionelJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calcot
0.7 mi away
Best Western Reading Calcot Hotel
2.9 mi away
Beech House Hotel
Beech House Hotel
#9 of 31 in Reading
323 reviews
4 mi away
Novotel Reading Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#4 of 31 in Reading
1,077 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#2 of 31 in Reading
1,955 reviews
4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pincents Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pincents Manor Hotel

Address: Pincents Lane, Calcot, Reading RG31 4UQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading > Calcot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Calcot
Price Range: £64 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pincents Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated 5mins from M4 Jct 12, this independent hotel blends most skillfully the style and comfort of English country living with the convenience and efficiency of the present day. Great care has been taken to create an environment and an atmosphere of comfort, good food and excellent service. Standing in beautiful grounds of over 2 acres and being located on high ground, the Manor enjoys superb open views in all directions. Conference facilities for up to 30 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Pincents Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing