We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Found this on Google maps spent the night of the 29th”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pincents Manor Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Calcot
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 February 2012

It is a 6th century manor house near Windsor an ideal place to stay if you are flying out of Heathrow. The area is accross from Theale at Junction 12 of the M4.

Theale is a upscale residential area like silicon valley in the US. I love old historic places to stay and this was super paid 70pounds bed and breakfast. For people who want to step back in time in England this is the place.

Room Tip: Let them pick there are only 16 rooms in the manor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2011

I have stayed about 2 times now and will definately be going back.

I actually stay here as its a perfect location, I drive from Cornwall to London for work and it's a perfect place to stay as I usually don't arrive til 11 pm and it's only an hour ish to where I want to be in the morning. Always welcoming staff when I finally arrive and always happy to help. I have only stayed in the manor house itself, which to be honest I always ask for when I book. The cooked breakfast is a little large for me but you can ask for whatever combination you fancy ! Lots to choose!

Overall a great hotel ... For what you pay for it you cannot complain. Will definately be back!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ayladlee88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2011

Stayed here for a couple of nights when working in Reading. I booked a single room but on arrival they said they only have double rooms so got one of those which I obviously didn't complain about.

My room was one of the ones out in the annex block which is about 100m from the main house, about 5 standalone rooms. Parking for these is right outside which is good. The room in there was compact but perfectly adequate and quite quaint really. With the double bed, desk and chair (with TV on desk), there was just enough room to walk around the bed and places to lay my cases on the floor - as I say not massive but I only intended to sleep there.

Just to the side of the bed was a little corridor that lead to the bathroom and a table with tea making facilities. Again not massive but perfectly addequate.

The heading in the room was from a small electric radiator on the wall in the bedroom area. This was on when I arrived and the room was toasty. The quily and pillows were lovelly, very plush and warm so can't complain there either. Only small complaint was the radiator only seemed to have two settings, on or off... this meant it did get very warm in there at some points. Could have done with a thermostat to turn it off at a set temperature.

Breakfast is served in the main house between 7 and 9 (or maybe 9:30, I forget) and consisted of cereal, juices, tea and coffee to help yourself too and then a cooked breakfast of your choice which is cooked and served to you. I was quite ill over the two days (not the hotels fault at all, picked it up at home somewhere) and so was off my food a bit and only ever had cereal and juice. The cooked breakfasts did look good though.

Location wise, its great for the motorway, Reading centre, Reading University etc. Very close to the hotel is a retail / office / industrial park - you actually have to drive through it to get to the hotel. This means that on your doorstep you have a Sainsburys (with cafe), McDonalds and a few other shops as well, great if you don't want to eat at the hotel. You would really need a car to get here though I would think.

Overall the service was very friendly from the small team there and I would definitely go back there. I didn't eat the food in the place at night but it sounded nice. The bar is also open late and there is free wi-fi in the main house (though not in the annex unfortunately).

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gk141054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

It's a small & cosy hotel and a great location for me. Pleasant staff with good service.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RogerNorrisUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

Great location, close to reading, m4, etc, but not close to restaurants. Nice countryside.

Rooms have heaters as they can get
cold and mattress very hard.

Service was mixed - breakfast lady and checkout young man were friendly but evening staff lacked enthusiasm...

Breakfast cooked looked ok but no fruit or croissants.

But that aside, for £60 and £10 for dinner it is hard to beat. Some nice walks up the road with country views.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt_Bristol_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2011

This hotel is pretty basic. I stayed two nights at £60p.n. Only stay if on a discounted rate (<£60). The room I had was pretty small and smelt a little damp, but overall comfortable enough. If I could have slept in a room which was the standard of the en suite I would have been very happy indeed.
The room #8 pokes out of the hotel on its own. Possibly an old gardener's shed??? I imagine in winter it would be dreadfully cold, given that it was slightly chilly in June and the heating was on.
The TV reception was variable and there is no freeview/sky etc.
I asked for a 7am wake up and never received one on either morning. Possibly because there was no phone in the room. Lucky we have mobiles these days and mine had battery!
Breakfast was fine and the staff are professional and courteous.
I imagine this beautiful looking hotel has some very nice rooms in other parts of the hotel. Wouldn't write it off, but wont be rushing to book again soon.

Room Tip: If travelling alone, do not stay in room # 8.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank finnyfunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2011

Great staff - totally flexible - don't expect the HK Mandarin Oriental but the staff here know what matters to you.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy401C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calcot
0.8 mi away
Best Western Reading Calcot Hotel
2.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Reading Oxford Rd
3.8 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 31 in Reading
1,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Abbey House Hotel
Abbey House Hotel
#13 of 31 in Reading
139 reviews
3.9 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 31 in Reading
1,040 reviews
3.9 mi away
Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pincents Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pincents Manor Hotel

Address: Pincents Lane, Calcot, Reading RG31 4UQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading > Calcot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Calcot
Price Range: £65 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pincents Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated 5mins from M4 Jct 12, this independent hotel blends most skillfully the style and comfort of English country living with the convenience and efficiency of the present day. Great care has been taken to create an environment and an atmosphere of comfort, good food and excellent service. Standing in beautiful grounds of over 2 acres and being located on high ground, the Manor enjoys superb open views in all directions. Conference facilities for up to 30 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your Pincents Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing