We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for many reasons”

The George and Dragon at Swallowfield
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great for many reasons”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This is becoming my "local" even if its 1hr 45mins walk away, or 45mins on a bike mainly across fields.
a) old world pub
b) allows dogs in the bar area where you can dine with the same menu as the restaurant
c) great menu and ever changing specials that are also yummy
d) you can ask for child/half portions and not be given a weird stare
e) real fire in the winter
f) generally good draft beers and a pretty good wine list
g) friendly staff
h) three or four outside tables round the back

Any negatives? Well the mobile phone reception is poor (hardly their fault but thought its worth a mention) although they have Wi-Fi (ask for the code). Normally don't have a problem parking but the car park is not large.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rikscreename
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    85
    25
    18
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good quality food”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We were looking for a lunch stop on our way back from holiday recently and settled on the George and Dragon as it looked attractive as we drove by, and promised a garden to sit in as we had our dog with us. I wasn't aware that dogs were actually allowed in the bar, but the garden proved to be sufficient for our needs especially as it is adjacent to farmland with lovely views, plus a grassy track on which you can walk your dog (although ours was keen to get back to our table due to the nice foody smells coming from the kitchen!)

Staff at the bar were friendly and ordering was easy and efficient. The menu is quite expensive but we chose from the lunch one: brie & bacon ciabattas with cranberry sauce served with salad and chips. The meal was lovely and the quality of the food did justify the prices.
Our dog was allowed some salad and one chip (she is on a diet!)

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AllieT23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham
1 review
“Great pub, even better restaurant”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We use this as our local, even though its a 1hour 45min walk away, or a 45 minute bike ride. Dogs are allowed in the bar area which is handy for us. You can eat very well in the bar area but the number of tables are limited so you would need to book in advance. Staff are always super friendly. There are outside tables at the back. Its a cosy place in the winter with real fires burning. We even enjoyed a meal there when there was a power cut. The chefs still managed to cook up great food on the gas burners and by torchlight!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DR15July2014b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading England
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Nice fish lunch, just needed the sea view!”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Fish and chips with mushy peas and large prawns with garlic bread and salad. A perfect lunch again thank you!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Disappointing. The menu showed promise but didn't deliver. I had Venison fillet, haggis mash, parsley carrots and red wine sauce at £22.50. The venison was pretty tasteless but was tender. The mash - yeuk! A grey splodge with unidentifiable lumps in it. Red wine sauce was just a flavourless gravy.

Friendly staff though and olde worlde pub surroundings.

Helpful?
1 Thank Trisha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The George and Dragon at Swallowfield also viewed

Finchampstead, Wokingham
Reading, Berkshire
 

Been to The George and Dragon at Swallowfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing