We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Mill House Hotel and Restaurant
Nearby Hotels
Highfield Park(Heckfield)
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
De Vere Wokefield Estate(Stratfield Mortimer)
US$81
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$165
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Warbrook House(Eversley)
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$84
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hilton Reading(Reading)(Great Value!)
US$111
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
Roselawn Hotel(Burghfield)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (222)
Filter reviews
222 results
Traveller rating
168
38
10
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
168
38
10
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswedding venuemaster of ceremonieswedding receptionperfect venueran like clockworkdaughters weddingwedding breakfastafternoon teafriendly hotelstaff were brilliantamazing weddingstayed one nightsconesplenty of parkingfollowing morningcooked breakfastmark
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
145 - 150 of 222 reviews
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We were fortunate enough to book one of the suites for a friends wedding being held at the Mill House. The room was presented beautifully and throughout the stay we found the staff to be courteous and attentive.
The food served for the Wedding Breakfast was cooked extremely well (mass cooking of Beef - difficult).
As all the guests had full run of the Mill House and Gardens it made for a lovely stay, especially as the weather held. Once the toasts were completed retiring to the Garden was a joy.
A bit out of the way but if you are visiting the surrounding area it is well worth considering a stay, the cost is comparative and you get a personal service.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Pick one of the suites for the full ambience of the property. Get one at the front as the view is great.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We had our wedding at the Mill House in October 2013 and have only got praise for this venue. The house itself is beautiful and you have the option of exlcusive use of the house and rooms (which we filled with our wedding guests) and therefore it is all yours for the wedding and breakfast the following day which was lovely, Kim and Mark were both FANTASTIC in the run up to the wedding, both with planning and responding to my (many!) emails and questions and helping out with everything they could. They helped with flowers and chair covers, supplied DJ and catering and made the whole wedding planning experience really enjoyable and manageable! On the day, all of the staff were brilliant at keeping the day moving and ensuring everything was just right! We requested a mexican style menu (if you cant have your favourite food on your wedding day, when can you!?) and they catered to our needs perfectly, creating outstanding tasting meals which everyone of our guests loved!
Overall the experience was brilliant and I would definately recommend using this venue for your wedding, it was also excellent value for money in our opinion!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I stayed here recently and the staff were pleasant enough but I found the whole place lacked any ambience. At this time of year the garden is obviously not in use in the evening so focus should be placed on making the interiors attractive and inviting. The bar area was too brightly lit to feel cozy and the restaurant was so quiet that other diners were whispering. There are times when a little unobtrusive music helps people to feel that they can speak at an audible level without being overheard or disturbing others. To be fair, the place was full midweek so it obviously has an appeal but I found it far to expensive for what it was.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank poshtottynot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

I was a frequent flyer of this hotel until a change in work 3 years ago and I've been looking for ways to revisit - I found one today

The inside had a refurb, the beer is still lovely (some nice guest ales from the Rebellion brewery in Marlow) and the foods still excellent

Mark & Kym are still owners and are as lovely as ever

You simply must take a bedroom here; enjoy the food; have a coffee on the terrace overlooking the outdoor chess board (doubles as a dance floor for weddings and corporate events) - but try the steak; it's AWESOME!

Top marks guys - great to see you again

Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
2  Thank garyfieldhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We held my daughter's wedding here and would recommend this venue for many reasons. It is a very nice building which we had to ourselves for the day. The staff could not have been more helpful throughout the process and made certain the day went well. Their experience and guidance, along with a degree of flexibility was most welcome. The food was superb and they sell real ale! All our guests commented on how good it was and some, who had cause to call prior to the event about a query, commented on the helpfulness of all the staff. Well done and many thanks to Emma, Andy and Mark for making our special day special.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank reelvideoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews