We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friend Reunion”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Mill House Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Swallowfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 January 2014

My daughter had her wedding reception here over 3 years ago, which was superb in every way. So it was our turn to book somewhere for a friend reunion which we had be holding for over 10years. We decided to book the Mill House Hotel for our stay and have our main celebration meal on Saturday night.
We were not disappointed on both accounts Kim & Mark and the team made our stay very pleasant with both the food and accommodation still very good hence the 5 points. I can highly recommend the Mill House for both a wedding reception and , like last weekend, as a hotel and restaurant. Many thank to Kim & Mark and the team for making our stay a success.

Room Tip: All room are different we have had both one at the back and front. The main road is very quite too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CJBRoute66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 214 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2013

We were looking for somewhere local for a stress free, good food Christmas Day lunch....and what a treat we had at The Mill House! From the minute we arrived we were made to feel welcome and relaxed, the whole team worked so hard to make our lunch perfect. They were attentive but not intrusive and nothing was too much trouble. The food was excellent, we couldn't fault a thing. Every course was beautifully presented, hot and delicious! And, the portions were generous but not overwhelming. We all ate every last bite and thoroughly enjoyed it!
I was with my husband, In Laws and my sister...ages varying from 33 to 65. The wine list was well priced and has some interesting choices (not everyday supermarket bottles!) I was also very impressed with the crackers, I'd half expected fairly standard value ones but these were quite luxurious.
I can't wait to go back for an afternoon tea or another meal! Thank you to the whole team for looking after us so well and really helping to make our Christmas special!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank Lauras1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Insource ltd hired the entire Mill House Hotel venue for the 2nd year and enjoyed a fantastic gambling themed Christmas party. As always, the Mill House team catered for our bespoke requirements, the evening went seamlessly and was a great success. Our thanks go to the staff who made our Christmas party a night to remember

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We were fortunate enough to book one of the suites for a friends wedding being held at the Mill House. The room was presented beautifully and throughout the stay we found the staff to be courteous and attentive.
The food served for the Wedding Breakfast was cooked extremely well (mass cooking of Beef - difficult).
As all the guests had full run of the Mill House and Gardens it made for a lovely stay, especially as the weather held. Once the toasts were completed retiring to the Garden was a joy.
A bit out of the way but if you are visiting the surrounding area it is well worth considering a stay, the cost is comparative and you get a personal service.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Pick one of the suites for the full ambience of the property. Get one at the front as the view is gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We had our wedding at the Mill House in October 2013 and have only got praise for this venue. The house itself is beautiful and you have the option of exlcusive use of the house and rooms (which we filled with our wedding guests) and therefore it is all yours for the wedding and breakfast the following day which was lovely, Kim and Mark were both FANTASTIC in the run up to the wedding, both with planning and responding to my (many!) emails and questions and helping out with everything they could. They helped with flowers and chair covers, supplied DJ and catering and made the whole wedding planning experience really enjoyable and manageable! On the day, all of the staff were brilliant at keeping the day moving and ensuring everything was just right! We requested a mexican style menu (if you cant have your favourite food on your wedding day, when can you!?) and they catered to our needs perfectly, creating outstanding tasting meals which everyone of our guests loved!
Overall the experience was brilliant and I would definately recommend using this venue for your wedding, it was also excellent value for money in our opinion!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I stayed here recently and the staff were pleasant enough but I found the whole place lacked any ambience. At this time of year the garden is obviously not in use in the evening so focus should be placed on making the interiors attractive and inviting. The bar area was too brightly lit to feel cozy and the restaurant was so quiet that other diners were whispering. There are times when a little unobtrusive music helps people to feel that they can speak at an audible level without being overheard or disturbing others. To be fair, the place was full midweek so it obviously has an appeal but I found it far to expensive for what it was.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank poshtottynot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

I was a frequent flyer of this hotel until a change in work 3 years ago and I've been looking for ways to revisit - I found one today

The inside had a refurb, the beer is still lovely (some nice guest ales from the Rebellion brewery in Marlow) and the foods still excellent

Mark & Kym are still owners and are as lovely as ever

You simply must take a bedroom here; enjoy the food; have a coffee on the terrace overlooking the outdoor chess board (doubles as a dance floor for weddings and corporate events) - but try the steak; it's AWESOME!

Top marks guys - great to see you again

Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
2  Thank garyfieldhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swallowfield
6.4 mi away
Cantley House Hotel
Cantley House Hotel
#7 of 12 in Wokingham
575 reviews
5.6 mi away
Tylney Hall
Tylney Hall
#1 of 1 in Rotherwick
1,368 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Kingsley at Eversley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Hilton St Anne's Manor, Bracknell
3.2 mi away
De Vere Wokefield Estate
De Vere Wokefield Estate
#1 of 1 in Stratfield Mortimer
1,979 reviews
4.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Reading Moat House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mill House Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mill House Hotel and Restaurant

Address: Basingstoke Road, Swallowfield, Wokingham RG7 1PY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Wokingham > Swallowfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Swallowfield
Price Range: £93 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Mill House Hotel and Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Mill House Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mill Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing