We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything is perfect! Nothing is too much trouble! I wish all hotels were like this.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Mill House Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Swallowfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We had our wedding here on 23rd August 2012. Everything was absolutely perfect at every single stage of the planning and execution. These people are such professionals. It was small and intimate and I had surprise opera singers disguised as waiters and no one guessed (including my husband) which was kept secret by Kim, Mark, Andy, Anita and team which was a lovely surprise for the guests. Guests still talk about a lovely, lovely day.
The following year my husband surprised me with a Valentine's meal there. There was a power cut but the gourmet 3 course meal was cooked and served for 20 guests exquisitely by candlelight. Nothing phases this hotel. I managed to drop my gold necklace down the sink but Mark retrieved it. I wish all hotels are like this. You come away feeling incredibly welcome and special. We love staying here and will be back, for sure.

Room Tip: They are all lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (219)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 219 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

My Husband and I got married here on Friday and we cannot fault it one bit.

When we first visited here a year ago, we felt like this was the place to get married instantly. We only visited 2 different venues and the second wasn’t on par with The Mill House even slightly.

Once booking the Venue, Date & Registrars (all within 20 mins) the planning commenced.

Kim and Emma were so helpful with all our ideas and plans, and helped us perfect and expand on all of them. Nothing was too much for them and they made us feel completely at ease.
We had several meetings throughout the year to sort and finalise everything which was fantastic.

We met Mark, our master of ceremonies, 2 weeks before the day and again made us feel completely relaxed about everything whilst going through all our planning. Kim and Mark where both very thorough with everything and knew how the day would pan out exactly for us.

As I wanted to do a lot of decorations and sorting out how they all looked myself, we were able to pop up the day before. We wanted to make sure no one was having a wedding or a do the day before so we could sort out the decorations. Kim kept us aware of other weddings that may be going on that may use the marquee, but we were very lucky no one was using it which was a big relief to me and I really appreciated being kept up-to-date with everything.

On the Thursday, we got out our van load of stuff, much to the horror of our helpers. Kim and Mark were happy to let us get on putting everything up and setting up our 100+ jam jars. We never felt like we were on our own and also never felt like we were being watched completely, we felt comfortable and happy to set all our bits up (and there was a lot of bits!) If we needed help, both Kim and Mark were there straight away without question. An extra table here, a place setting to be moved there, I got a bit of dirt on the table etc. they were more than happy to help.

My Chief Bridesmaid and I stayed the night before and sat in the bar before going to our room. The Bar Staff were lovely to talk to and it was nice to chill out downstairs in the hotel before everything kicking off. The hotel has so much character it’s so lovely.

From the beginning of the day, my Bridesmaid and I felt chilled out. Going down to breakfast we had a warm welcome and was excited to see our ceremony room chairs had been dressed. We had the House maid pop up to us to ask how everything was going and to say she would tidy up the honeymoon suite which we had shared. She was a pleasure to talk to. She kindly told us she had finished, and once we went up it was looking brand new again for us. The Honeymoon suite was lovely and the bed was so soft as soon as your head hits the pillow, you’re out.

Throughout the day from the ceremony to the last guests leaving, The Mill House did a fantastic job. My Husband has said how Kim, Mark and the rest of the staff’s chilled out attitude helped him during the day to feel calm and composed.

The food was brilliant, we had Tomato & Basil Tartlet for starters, Breast of chicken filled with sun blushed tomatoes and for dessert we chose Eton Mess. Everyone commented on how amazing the food was, and I especially LOVED the Eton Mess – that was by far the best dessert ever! I even heard some people ended up with 3 desserts they must have gotten from others who were full. I was very jealous I didn’t get in there for extras first.

And once we got to our room around 1ish, not even a pot of tea was too much trouble. Even offering and bringing it up to us in our room.

Breakfast was again lovely the next morning, we had filled the hotel rooms from the wedding and it was brilliant to have all close family and friends stay over and see them at the tables in the morning. Breakfast came out swiftly and was lovely tasting again.

Overall we would highly, highly recommend The Mill House for your wedding. If you want a beautiful venue with loads of character, fantastic and helpful service, brilliant staff, fantastic food, beautiful gardens, nice location away from many houses, nature around you, the ability to decorate how you want it to look, then you MUST check out The Mill House.

Thank you all for making our day the most fantastic ever, and as my Nan told me, it was like watching a film how lovely and smoothly it all went.

Many Thanks
The newly-weds
Brad and Vikki xxx

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vikki a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We held our Golden Wedding celebration at the Mill House. We entertained 40 guests in a private room adjacent to their lovely garden. We planned the day with Emma who organised everything with friendly efficiency. The day was managed perfectly by Mark Pybus who owns the hotel with his wife Kim.
Our day was a great success, delicious food and excellent service, all our guests enjoyed the whole experience. We would recommend the Mill House, without reservation to anyone planning a similar event.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Christopher T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Our wedding day was amazing thanks to the team at the Mill house hotel, not only was the setting beautiful, but the food and service were above and beyond. We couldn’t have asked for anything more from them on our wedding day. They went out of their way to make sure our day was perfect, which it was. We will defiantly be going back to celebrate more occasions with them. Just perfect.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaimie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Our son's wedding day was perfect thanks to the wonderful hospitality given to us by Mark & Kim , the owners and directors of the Mill house hotel Swallowfield
Food was delicious , beautifully cooked, decor was stunning , garden gorgeous and much much more .
Mark & KIm gave all of us a very warm welcome and made the day perfect ,hassle free and relaxing
Would highly recommend

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sharon w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We had a reception at the Mill House to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. Kim, Mark and their team have been excellent throughout, efficient and very friendly. They made sure the preparations were thorough and that nothing was missed. They have been extremely flexible: we ended up offering 11 different meal combinations with guests changing their minds on the morning and we still all got what we wanted. Food was excellent and the service slick. We would definitely recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We had our wedding reception venue here on the 26th april and I had to write a review to say what a fantastic day it was. Kim and Mark listened and provided everything that we asked for and catered to all our personal requests. It meant that the wedding day was very much 'ours' with personal touches and a relaxed atmosphere. Also, the organisation was brilliant. Both Kim and Mark are super organised, answering e mails very promptly and were incredibly helpful throughout. On the wedding day itself, everything was taken care of by them and their great team so that we didn't have to think of anything and could just thoroughly enjoy the day. Finally, we had afternoon tea as our wedding breakfast and the scones and lemon tart were by far the best I have tasted. Will definitely be recommending this place to many people and will be returning to enjoy the food and lovely hotel rooms once more.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swallowfield
6.4 mi away
Cantley House Hotel
Cantley House Hotel
#7 of 12 in Wokingham
612 reviews
5.8 mi away
Tylney Hall
Tylney Hall
#1 of 1 in Rotherwick
1,538 reviews
3.7 mi away
Warbrook House
Warbrook House
#2 of 2 in Eversley
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
De Vere Wokefield Estate
De Vere Wokefield Estate
#1 of 1 in Stratfield Mortimer
2,019 reviews
4.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Reading Moat House Hotel
7.7 mi away
Hilton St Anne's Manor, Bracknell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mill House Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mill House Hotel and Restaurant

Address: Basingstoke Road, Swallowfield, Wokingham RG7 1PY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Wokingham > Swallowfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Swallowfield
Price Range: £90 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Mill House Hotel and Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your The Mill House Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mill Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing