We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“welcome and happy”
Review of The New Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The New Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Kidmore End B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2014

five of us were at the al fresco meal,6oz home made burger,home made venison &steak Pudding, and various other delightful food on offer exelent service.accommodation for guests is exelent.
Ample parking and large garden for outside play for children and for out side food.
Set in a village with thatched houses and a lot of private gravel

Room Tip: all rooms are secluded
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeffrey b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
There are newer reviews for The New Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014

I stayed in the Merlot room. It was big and clean and tidy it also had everything you needed for a pleasant stay. I ate in the evening and the food and the service was faultless! I would definitely go back to the The New Inn if passing again. Nothing was too much trouble and Dora even posted my phone charger back for me after I left it in the room. What service! Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

If something is on the menu it must be on the plate. Roast chicken lunch with bread sauce was lacking bread sauce. It arrived 20 mins late and was awful. Not good enough The NewInn. The waitress apologised but we should have been told they had run out of bread sauce when we ordered. The roast leg of lamb was very fatty and not enough vegetables. We will not be going again!!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anneserruya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Went here last week. Had brilliant food. Pate and fish cakes as appetisers. Main course if chicken ceaser all as and calves liver with bacon. The service was timely and perfect. With many choices locally , we will certainly return here again soon

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank ianbeale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stopped here on the way to Mapledurham, the pub is in this quiet village with lovely undulating walks around. A bit of a pain to get to but well worth it. Very nice garden.
The staff were very friendly and accommodating, the menu was varied although not cheap, especially for lunch although they do sandwiches and jacket potatoes too. We thoroughly enjoyed our starters and mains, portions were generous and service efficient, too full to try a dessert but choice was tempting.
We would pop back if we are in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank BerkshireWomble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

What a great Sunday lunch after a lovely walk. Outstanding rib eye beef and veg. The vegetarian among us had the vegetable parcel which was very good.
The fish cake starter very good.
Good wines well priced and the staff give great service for an overall excellent experience.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Barneyq101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

In complete contrast the previous reviewer we had a great experience and that was also with a Groupon voucher. Having tried to book (via email) for a couple of Friday evenings only to be told they were fully booked they then offered us alternative dates (I expected to be fobbed off with weekdays but I wasn't) and accommodated us after the "use by date" on the voucher had elapsed on a Friday evening. We could ask for no more!

Having read the previous review prior to our visit I was still sceptical that there might be a problem. How wrong could I be?! They made the terms of the voucher clear from the outset but in a light hearted but professional way - not awkward at all. I had already read the small print but this was a good thing as it avoided any confusion from both sides and meant we could relax for the rest of the evening. The place was very busy and once the food arrived we could see why. All home made and everything on the menu sounded appetising. We came away pleased to have got a bargain and determined to visit again, as even at full price we felt with such good food and service it would still be very good value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank RobandKarenReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kidmore End
3.1 mi away
The Cherry Tree Inn
The Cherry Tree Inn
#1 of 1 in Stoke Row
268 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Catherine Wheel
The Catherine Wheel
#2 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
649 reviews
4.7 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 1 in Nettlebed
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Great House At Sonning
The Great House At Sonning
#1 of 2 in Sonning-on-Thames
453 reviews
3.6 mi away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#4 of 31 in Reading
1,022 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#2 of 31 in Reading
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Inn

Address: Chalkhouse Green Road, Kidmore End RG4 9AU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Kidmore End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Kidmore End
Price Range: £84 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The New Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Book Direct Rooms, Expedia and LateRooms so you can book your The New Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New Hotel Reading
New Hotel Reading

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing