We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (163)
Filter reviews
163 results
Traveller rating
95
39
21
7
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
95
39
21
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub fish cakes beer garden is new chef open fire very comfortable room great place to stay plenty of parking merlot room dora starters landlady
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 163 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2017

Stayed here for 1 night only as we were down for a wedding taking place a few miles away. The room we had "Champagne" I think it was called - they all appear to have names - was quite spacious with a good sized ensuite shower room (separate) and bathroom. While we really only slept here it was more than sufficient for our needs. Had a very good breakfast, which filled a hole for our reasonably lengthy journey back north. Can't really say much about the area as we didn't see very much of it - just to say it's all very rural.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Malcolm D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017 via mobile

Beautiful room. Excellent facilities.
Great breakfast and lovely staff.
Will definitely be back to this wonderful village....
Book in advance as very popular to stay as well as eat!
Great area to walk

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank hbrWoking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017

We booked three rooms, for three couples and a baby, for the weekend as we had a family 'do' nearby on Saturday.
This is a traditional English country pub with a relaxed and friendly atmosphere and the rooms, in a newer block attached to the pub, were all clean, comfortable and warm.
The breakfasts were good - one of our party requires a gluten free, dairy free and vegetarian diet and, although the soya milk, which we had pre-ordered, was not available, she was delighted to see that the rest of her needs were readily catered for - the breakfast menu includes a cooked vegetarian breakfast which she really enjoyed!
Dora is welcoming and is supported by an enthusiastic team.
We shall definitely return!

Room tip: We had three different room on two levels - all were good.
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Les W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017

Great local pub restaurant. Staff friendly and helpful always spotlessly clean (the pub not the staff ) Dora is a great host with a sense of humour. We eat here a lot because the food is excellent and the beers not bad either : ) very fortunate to have a pub like this to wander down to for the odd evening. BEST PUB IN THE AREA This is supported by the fact that the local tractor runs are based there now.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017

Stopped by for an informal family lunch. Very impressed. Food was excellent, freshly cooked, good portions and nicely presented. Good beer and very friendly service. Reasonably priced. We will come again.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Kim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews