We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pedrito Hostal”
Review of Pedrito Hostal

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Marta
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pedrito Hostal
Ranked #1 of 4 Santa Marta B&B and Inns
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pedrito Hostal”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Last July I visited Pedrito Hostal in Varadero Cuba.This is the best place for accommodation, service and hospitality of the owners that I have ever been in Cuba.You are just minutes away from the most beautiful beach in the world.The owners may arrange any tour you would like to take either to the beach or to any other site.At Pedrito hostal you get value for money and you can have an unforgettable stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 0316abraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
87
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Hotstal Pedrito was the first stay in our Cuba Holiday this Oktober but finaly, after 10 days in Cuba, yes, it was the best. The prices are very moderate, especialy for breakfast. dinner and all the drinks (Cubans sometimes forget that they are in Cuba and not Miami).

The dinner was exquisit and the whole place in a perfect condition and very, very clean. We had two rooms. In one room it was a new Panasonic A/C very quite and simply perfect. In the other room it was an old and loud A/C but at least it was running.

The place is a little outside of Varadero and it is dificult to find it for the first time. But after that you feel very familiar and to the beach it took not more then 5 to 10 minutes by car. We will come back if we come again to Cuba - that's for sure. They do a great effort to a reasonable price.

Room Tip: All that rooms with the Panasonic AirConditioning Systems kann be recommended ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Schtozki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

At 30 cuc a night this isnt the cheapest, but you still get great value, particularly for this area. The rooms are amazing and beat hotel standards. All of the staff are very friendly and welcoming.

Situated in santa marta it is about 3 or 4km away from varadero town and beach. When arriving you shouldnt pay more than 5 for a taxi. Being here you still feel like you are in cuba and not surrounded by tourist tat. There are some very nice and cheap 2 or 3 cuc restaurants down the road and also good value at the hostel.

There is a free ride to any spot of beach in the morning and then it is easy to find your way back walking or hop on any local bus for 1 peso national money.

We had a great time here, thank you!

I would advise booking ahead for sure

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Allardyced
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We had a fabulous stay at the Pedrito Hostal in Cuba. The house is very well cared. Our room was perfect and the food was fantastic!!!! The family is very nice and welcomed us with a smile and served us good breakfast at our preferred time. They gave us suggestions of things to do, places to visit in Varadero and nice restaurants. I will return safely the next year!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anubys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Constance Bay, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Wow! I really didn't think things could get any better than the already 'perfect' high standards of Hostal Pedrito but, somehow, Pedro managed just that! I've been back twice since my wedding there in January 2013 and each visit was better than the last! I don't know how Pedro does it! Everything and everywhere are immaculate - as always! This is, to the best of my knowledge, one of the only, if not the only, casa particulars that has toilet seats for the toilets (it may not seem like much - but to me it is a deal breaker)! The food was somehow better and more varied! The prices for food and drink are rock bottom - an incredible value. It would be a HUGE mistake to confuse 'low cost' with 'low expectations'. Hostal Pedrito may offer low costs on lodging, food, and other amenities, but you can expect the HIGHEST standards of any five-star hotel. Pedro, his wife Nidia, his sister and her son, Alain, and Alain's wife Daylin, not to mention the kids - Aitana, Ciera, and little Diego - will make your stay a memorable one and will keep you going back. I think I'm up to 6 stays now! If I go 10 times do I get the 11th one free?!! Hasta pronto! Jojo

Room Tip: All rooms are immaculate. Room 1 is the largest, with a small kitchenette.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TiaJojo_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Pedrito's casa particular is in Santa Marta which is just east of the Varadero peninsula. If you want to escape the big touristy package-holiday crowds, then this is a great location, especially if you have a rental car as the peninsula is only a 5-10 minute drive.

The casa itself is lovely. Lots of outside veranda spaces to relax, and the welcome cocktail was very much appreciated on our arrival! The rooms are clean and relatively spacious. I stayed in room 1 which was comfortable and large, with a small kitchenette, but consequently it did mean that the air con wasn't as effective as in our friend's smaller room.

The best thing about this casa by far was the wonderful staff. They were 100% helpful and amenable. Alain (Pedrito's nephew) gave us loads of advice and the other ladies (sorry I don't know their names!) were really willing to adapt the menu to our specific requirements. They also quickly adapted the rooms so that we could have two twin rooms. They were superb hosts!

This is a great value location and I highly recommend it staying at Pedrito's!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wurzburg, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We really had a great time at this hostel, Pedro is one of the nicest and most generous people we got to know in Cuba, nothig can cause a problem, he'll figure you out everything. He knows everything about the region and you can rent bikes at his place which is lovely. The rooms are really really clean and modern, above standard in Cuba and his wife and daughter-in-law are amazing cooks. You really should try the Pina Colada there, the best i had in Cuba! The inner courtyard is beautiful with a nice mangotree and a lot of space to sit and hang out. We loved the street next to the house because it was so typical cuban with a lot of cuban "takeaways" and cuban people and not that touristic like the rest of Varadero.
So if you go to Varadero, you should stay here, it's a lovely place.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Theresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Marta
3.8 mi away
Starfish Cuatro Palmas
Starfish Cuatro Palmas
#9 of 64 in Varadero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
11.4 mi away
Sanctuary at Grand Memories Varadero
7.5 mi away
Ocean Vista Azul
Ocean Vista Azul
#7 of 64 in Varadero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Melia Las Americas
Melia Las Americas
#5 of 64 in Varadero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,243 reviews
9.7 mi away
Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa
4.2 mi away
Barcelo Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pedrito Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pedrito Hostal

Property: Pedrito Hostal
Address: Pedrito Hostal Entre 12 y 13 3ra Oeste # 106, Santa Marta, Varadero 24200, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero > Santa Marta
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Marta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shopping ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing