We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem in the middle of....well..."no where"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites Stockton
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Stockton
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, NE
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
“A Gem in the middle of....well..."no where"”
Reviewed 19 July 2013

This newer hotel is a great find that is literally nestled in the middle of a cornfield. It offers a very quiet location with a lovely wrap around porch to relax on. An awesome pool and hot tub allowed us a great way to end the day. It's true there is not much for eating in this town but we enjoyed great food at the local 'greasy spoon" down the street. The staff here was friendly and of course warm cookies made it even better. As to the previous comment that only guests can use the pool..... well what's wrong with that?
We were road-tripping on the way back from Chicago, so I doubt we'll ever be in the neighborhood again, but if we are, I would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a few of the cornfields.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cantstayhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    35
    7
    2
    4
See reviews for
54
46
5
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

My family recently stayed at this hotel during a family wedding that was being held by Apple River. I used to work for a chain of hotels, so I am very familiar with how everything works. When we checked in on Friday we told the woman who checked us in we had some people coming to swim. I would like to add in that the woman working the front desk and the lady wearing her assistant manager pin were both VERY pleasant and treated us great the entire time we were at the hotel. Upon our guests getting there, the two ladies working graciously let us into the pool area and were talking to our family members and friends who were from the area. They asked us not to eat in the pool area and told us we couldn't have anything glass in our coolers for drinks. There was a man and his wife and two children swimming when we got into the pool room. They were apparently from town as everyone knew them, and stated they wanted to take the grandkids swimming but the cold weather wasn't helping them, so they had decided to come to the hotel to swim. They were eating McDonalds in the pool area and had a bag of snacks, but the ladies didn't seem to care that they were eating anything, which was fine.

To make a long and uncomfortable story short, the owner of the hotel came in and started yelling at everyone for swimming. She stated she "didn't care" if we changed hotels or didn't book the party room again, and said she didn't allow people who weren't guests at her hotel to swim. After leaving the pool area, I went to the front desk to ask her about it, as the bride had stated we had close to a dozen rooms booked for the weekend, and there were 13 people who weren't "guests" at the hotel there with us swimming, (out of those 13, there were 6 people swimming, 4 of whom were children) The owner starting loudly yelling at me from the front desk, making a huge scene, while her employees literally stood behind her cowering. When our family members went to leave, three of the kids who were staying at the hotel in our group actually left with my family members because they were uncomfortable being there. My husband called the hotel in Galena that we were staying at the night of the wedding, and unfortunately they didn't have any available rooms or we would have left immediately.

I don't often get to come back to the Stockton area to visit my family and relatives, but even with my two small children, I would rather drive to Galena for a hotel they next time we come back then give this hotel our business.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KansasCityTravel247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlson Hotels C, Online Customer Support at Country Inn & Suites Stockton, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
We apologize for the disappointing service you received from the staff. We want to make sure our guests are comfortable and receive the best service. To discuss your concern further, please contact Corporate Customer Care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tegucigalpa, Honduras
Level Contributor
640 reviews
187 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

It is the first time I have been in a hotel that is in the middle of a corn field. Very unique.

Travelling to galena, we found this hotel fit our budget.

This hotel is very rural, very basic, very quiet, very nice.

Check in was friendly, warm cookies on arrival.

Wifi was ok, bathroom was ok. Everything was ok.

Breakfast was good.

There are almost no restaurants in the area. We were able to find a pizza place. The real gem was a lunch spot in the center of Stockton, very affordable.

Overall standard Country Inn & suites, clean, basic, comfortable, quiet.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with rear view of hotel, corn fields!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ORD-TGU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2013

I had recently stayed at this hotel, and there must of been some guests staying from out of town because they felt it was ok to let there whole family( who were not paying for a room) come and use the swimming pool. They also had food and people in the breakfast room and the pool area. We also had the same idea and the General Manager Helen stated that she did allow people from the area to use the pool and breakfast room, but it was $100 for 3 hours. And she stated that GUESTS are her first priority!! I think this is a very customer focused hotel! Also, reading the 2 comments right before mine angers me to the fact that they would think its ok or even put this hotel in a position to have to "kick" them out of the pool area! I guess everyone does expect something for paying NOTHING!!! (I'm sorry I'm assuming they didn't pay the $100).
I also think this is one of the nicest "small" hotels I have ever stepped foot in! Very hospitable and respectful of there guests!! Rooms are clean and updated, breakfast is AMAZING!! I urge guests looking in this area to ignore any other reviews stating otherwise!!!

Room Tip: The family suite was wonderful!! Paid a little more but the room with table and extra sleeping area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton IL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 June 2013 via mobile

My family was here today with a large group of guests that were staying at the hotel for a long weekend. Our kids were all enjoying the pool while the adults were watching and a few we're swimming. We were the ONLY people using the pool. We were in no way disruptive and the kids were not at all out of control. After a little while of enjoying the pool, the owner Helen came bursting into the pool area ranting that we all needed to leave right now! The hotel guests chimed in an said they were guests and had invited us. She was very rude and informed them that she didn't care if they were guests, we were not aloud to be swimming with them. The guests were very upset and said next time they would stay else where. The owner said she didn't care if they never came back, she had enough other guests and surely didn't need their business. She was very rude, caused a scene in front of several small children and surely wasn't appreciative of their business. I will NEVER suggest to any of my out of town guests to ever stay here again! I was entirely embarrassed that Helen would treat guests this way!

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnsville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
94 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

I stayed here for a work trip. There were three of us traveling, but the company would only cover two rooms. We checked in on a Monday and checked out Thursday morning. The first night we were there I saw, judging by the empty parking lot, that the property was at an extremely low vacancy level, so I called the front desk hoping to secure a 3rd room for our party at a discounted price.

I told the person at the front desk that since the money would be coming out of my own pocket I would be willing to pay $35 a night for the three nights. She scoffed and said the GM would never approve that, but that it was a moot point because the GM wasn't there anyway, and that she was only there a few hours in the morning every day so I should call back.

I called back the next day at noon and the GM was already gone for the day(nice work if you can get it!). I explained the situation to the hotel employee, and she too scoffed at the notion. I tried to get her to understand that a "discounted" rate of $35 was better than a room sitting empty, that we were still paying an average of over $60 per night for the 3 rooms(in a town of 1,800 in the middle of nowhere, and with the property 85% empty), and that there are businesses and websites that exist just to fill empty rooms at a discount. I relayed a story to her about one time when I was at a softball tournament. As the weekend was winding down the guy selling beer was still charging $2 a glass. I tried to tell him he would sell more and get rid of it if he lowered the price to a buck. I asked him if it would be better to sell 200 beers at $1 a glass or 50 at $2, if it would be better to get rid of the beer at a discounted price or dump it on the ground with nothing to show for it.

I tried to use the same logic on the hotel employee: was it better to have an occupied room at a discounted price or an empty room with nothing in the cash register. All of this was lost on the employee, who couldn't see past the $35 rate, as if that wasn't a significant amount for this tiny town. At no point did anyone offer to take my info and have the GM contact me. So, needless to say, I drew a short straw and ended up having to share my room with a co-worker.

Anyway, enough about me trying to instill logic into an illogical situation. About the property: I was surprised to see this type of lodging in such a tiny town. The place was nice, but could have been better. The rooms were ok, but apparently this is the last property in America to not have updated its TVs to HD flat screens. They still have the huge 27" models from the 90's. The beds were ok, a little hard, but the sheets and pillow cases were of an obnoxious material that was loud and uncomfortable, and the pillows were the worst I have ever encountered.

The pool area was decent, but they didn't allow any food or drink in the room. I can see not allowing glass, but NOTHING? No way. I always sip a cocktail or beer while I'm relaxing in the hot tub.

The highlight of the stay was breakfast. They had a good spread including waffles, biscuits and gravy and muffins as well as the usual array of cereal, yogurt, fruit, toast, pastry, etc., but they also had a revolving main dish that was very good and different every day. French toast and sausage one day, breakfast burritos one day and do-it-yourself egg mcmuffins another. Easily the highlight of my stay.

Bottom line: In the unlikely event I am ever back in this town I would stay here again because it's the only place in town, but really, outside of coming to this town for work there is no reason to come here. There are many better options in Galena and Freeport.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morgman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Normal, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 March 2013

On business, headed to Rockford to find a hotel. Stopped to get gas and saw the sign for Country Inn. Walked in, smelled the fresh cookies and spent the night. Clean rooms, good bed everything you are looking for. I recommend this place and I will stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JF1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stockton
21.4 mi away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
23.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
23.5 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
19.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Freeport
20.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Freeport
Hampton Inn Freeport
#1 of 7 in Freeport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites Stockton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites Stockton

Property: Country Inn & Suites Stockton
Address: 200 Dillon Ave, Stockton, IL 61085-1200
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Stockton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Stockton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites Stockton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Country Inn & Suites Stockton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Stockton Hotel Stockton
Country Inn And Suites Stockton
Country Inn Stockton
Stockton Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing