We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“open range southwest grill”

Open Range Southwest Grill
Ranked #2 of 14 Restaurants in Sugar Grove
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Big Rock, IL
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“open range southwest grill”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Good pizza, good everything. It even has a salad bar, something rare for Illinois.
It is a bit expensive, but not terrible. It is a good value for the good food.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank R T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    27
    13
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
160 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Consider the Alternatives and the Local Area........Keep Driving.”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Take a look at the alternatives to this restaurant in the vicinity (I think there are 10 and this includes really lousy take out Chinese and a Subway). Their pizza is pretty good, and the Friday night Karaoke is fun and always has a good crowd and a lot of spirit. For a bar scene, I think they could use a little more atmosphere (how about just dimming the lights and a couple of votives?), but it's fine. It's a local watering hole.

If you intend to go to Open Range for dinner, just lower your expectations. Here's the thing, though. I think they're trying! The place feels like an old VFW with cheap paneling, however, the owners have put up little touches and accents that attempt to make it feel 'southwestern' ......and their salsa is NOT bad! When I've been there, I felt like I do if I'm on a road trip and stop overnight somewhere in Nebraska and go to the local hotel bar/restaurant. I feel THAT removed from the glitz of the Chicago suburbs. You are very far from St. Charles or Naperville and you very well could be in Kansas. Seriously, I feel QUITE far away. The people there are nice and I think they care if you enjoy your meal or not, which counts for something. They recently started a breakfast, which is a cheap price....but the food is mediocre. The restaurant atmosphere and quality has potential if the owners were willing to branch out a little. Just my opinion and I don't know them, so maybe I'm being overly optimistic.

Where I see this restaurant absolutely saving the day and being THE 'go to' place in the area, is simply making a few small adjustments to the atmosphere in the evenings and perhaps offering some higher quality meals. I think people would pay for that. And like I said, the pizza's pretty good. This place is in the middle, or on the brink of FARMLAND......and the hottest thing right now is 'grown local', 'fresh' and 'organic'. If they were to start small and start advertising a breakfast that was using locally sourced eggs and meats and cheeses and honey, I would be there every weekend. Just because Sugar Grove is the 'end of the line' as far as what civilization offers doesn't mean that the local area wouldn't embrace higher quality food and pay a little more for it. People recognize quality and appreciate it. Don't serve 'adequate' or less just because you think people don't know the difference!

Bottom line: at least you'll have fun here if you go during the evening and there's a small crowd. Just don't expect TOO much. If you are looking for fine dining, or something with atmosphere, my best recommendation is to drive to Naperville or Geneva - there are loads of restaurants to choose from and they're all pretty good. Or head to the Turf Room, that's a great nearby alternative!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SafariSnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery, Illinois
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not Impressed”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

If you are going for the Friday Night Fish Fry... go for it. Very good. However, the regular menu items are not worth the trip.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bullzi4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sugar Grove
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Close by”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Recent visit was good -had the tres tacos special -was delicious. Service was a tad slow , but it was busy.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sugar Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Never a bad experience”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We've never had a bad meal and only had bad service once, and when I made mention of the bad service the owner (Greg) he apologized & made it up to us with a very good discount for our next visit. The food is very good...and the price is also good. Go online to get discount coupons t make the price even better. Monday night is BOGO free pizza night - their pizzas are awesome.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dlynch913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Open Range Southwest Grill also viewed

 

Been to Open Range Southwest Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing