We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very memorable - we loved Tara”
Review of TARA Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Enmore
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
TARA Guest House
Ranked #1 of 2 Enmore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hobart, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very memorable - we loved Tara”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We spent 3 days at Tara and could not have picked a better place to stay. The airport pick-up from Julian meant we were fully relaxed from the moment we landed. Tara is a beautiful oasis in cosmopolitan Enmore. Only 7 minutes walk to the train station - ideally located for all access points on public transport for greater Sydney.

Bron and Julian are terrific hosts who make you feel like you have known them for years. Breakfasts are scrumptious - expertly prepared and cooked with the finest, freshest ingredients and the conversations across the table are wide-ranging, entertaining and memorable.

We would definitely recommend a stay with Bron and Julian to anyone who wants a unique B and B of the highest quality

Jo and Chris - Tasmania

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    366
    25
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
80
196
58
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maitland, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Two superb nights at Tara. Two sumptuous breakfasts. Two splendid hosts. This venue deserves all the accolades it receives. I think it's one of those golden places; the kind where, in years to come, people will say, "I stayed at Tara." And others will go, "Oh, I wish I had."

We stayed in the massive downstairs double room suite with our five-year-old son. We arrived later than anticipated and close to midnight. Despite this, and the fact she was unwell, Brom stayed up and received us with complete graciousness. We met Julian the next morning, cheerfully cooking us the best breakfast we have ever eaten.

Julian and Brom personify hospitality. Their generosity and skill creates such an atmosphere of warmth and ease. Come noon, we found ourselves still at their table, chatting with fellow guests (former strangers) and in no need of lunch.

Tara offers more than comfortable, characterful, conveniently-located accommodation; it's an experience in its own right. If you're visiting Sydney, you should treat yourself to Tara. Actually, you should go to Sydney so you can stay at Tara. It's that special.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

the right place for me over the holidays in sydney because I can easily visit tourist attractions that are near sydney. and the rooms are clean and have friendly employees. i suggest to all people stay here

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woonona
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

A huge thank you to Julian & Brom for a most memorable experience. My daughter and I thoroughly enjoyed staying with such a warm and interesting couple. We loved the home, loved Oscar the beautiful dog and meeting the other guests. The breakfasts were a delight as much for the interesting conversations as the terrific food. We will eagerly look forward to our next visit !!!

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank SolongWoonona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I stayed for four nights at the Tara in August 2013, and have so much to praise about it. The breakfasts are the stuff of legend already, but it was great to be fed when I arrived early one morning. What gets less mention in the reviews is the collection of light fittings, which is superb. And the location in Enmore! Around the corner from the Cow and Moon gelato and just up the hill from the Bourke Street Bakery. What more could an aesthete ask for?

Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manly, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

Currently writing this using the free wifi from the amazing Tara! Centrally located, wonderful breakfast & welcoming hosts Brom, Julian & Oscar the border collie. No need to say how fantastic the breakfast is as it's well documented in all the posts. Rooms were beautifully appointed & we had a front room facing the main road & didn't find it noisy. Newtown & Enmore is wonderful to just wander and experience plus the choice of restaurants & bars are plentiful

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TurnboSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
394 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 774 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Without a doubt this was one of the best bed breakfasts I have stayed in, not only in Australia, but the world. The hosts are charming, educated, knowledgeable, and take a huge pride in their jobs.

The house is well presented with interesting art work as well as been as clean as a whistle.

The rooms are large, bright, with beautiful expensive sheets, and comfy beds!! Perfect sleep. The ultimate surprise is the breakfast ( there are some treats that I will not divulge) the produce is all locally produced and is first class. The standard of the breakfast really is a huge credit to the owners, if only every hotel breakfast was like this.

I will definitely stay here again, or just drive for the breakfast!! Great for couples, elderly parents or just treat yourself.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank undercoverelephant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Enmore
Newtown
The Urban Newtown
The Urban Newtown
#1 of 1 in Newtown
468 reviews
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#1 of 179 in Sydney
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TARA Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TARA Guest House

Property: TARA Guest House
Address: 13 Edgeware Rd, Enmore, Sydney, New South Wales 2042, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Enmore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Enmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tara Guest House is located in Sydney’s cosmopolitan Newtown/Enmore area with a reputation for being the chicest bohemian outpost in the city's inner suburbs, while maintaining a great sense of friendly local community and only 15 minutes from the CBD. Built around 1880 on large grounds, this recently renovated Victorian house has a mix of classic mid 20th century and antique furniture and improvements are ongoing. We are close to UTS and Sydney University, more than 400 restaurants, cafes, bars and theatres. Interiors have been thoughtfully styled to take advantage of the seriously spacious rooms and to ensure indulgent comfort for our guests. Good tucker always guaranteed! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tara Guest House Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing