We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value, lovely house, amazing breakfast and great hosts!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of TARA Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Enmore
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
TARA Guest House
Ranked #1 of 2 Enmore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Excellent value, lovely house, amazing breakfast and great hosts!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

We had an excellent time when we stayed here for three nights at the end of March/early April. The house is lovely and very nicely decorated. Due to a late cancellation we got a free upgrade to the unofficial honeymoon suite which was huge and also very well decorated. Julian and Brom (and Oscar the dog) were excellent hosts - great to talk to, very informative and helpful. The three course breakfast topped it off for us and is surely the best of all the places we've ever stayed. Finally, it's located in a very nice area of Sydney with loads of shops and restaurants, and very good transport links to the city centre. We hope to be 'boomerang' guests in the future!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bendy_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    359
    25
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
75
193
58
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bay Area, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Brom and Julian, the proprietors and hands-on managers, are as good as it gets. Period. You can only imagine what that might be for yourself. Go ahead. It'll fit. I have to say that our trip to Australia started at Tara Guest House, and we were concerned that with such a great beginning, would all else be a let-down. This all begins with Julian picking us up at the airport, with a great smile on his face and a hearty and genuine hello, and a quick lay-of-the-land tour on the way to the guest house. The meals, the company, and the conversation were all terrific. We might interesting people from several different continents, and our interactions at the breakfast table made us feel more like being at a family gathering where the members were actually fond of one another. And the breakfasts!!!!! Look, just take it from us.... they're wonderful, healthy, varied, and can go on for about as long as you want, and include coffee and what Americans call cappuccino. Fresh fruit, incredible bread, eggs, sausages, sweets of various kinds. And if you want to take advantage of Brom and Julian's vast knowledge of Sydney and Australia, hang around and chat. Brom and Julian aver very worldly and sophisticated people, and you are short-changing yourself if you don't talk to them. The rooms have a great "other period" feel to them, and you won't be disappointed, unless you are incurably hitched to Marriott style. We also found the Enmore district itself very interesting, filled with excellent eateries. It's convenient and easily accessible to buses and trains that take you quickly to Sydney's main attractions. We are exceptionally thankful for our good fortune in having been well taken care of by Brom and Julian, two generous individuals who clearly love what they do and relish making their guests happy and comfortable. This is a thanks from two of your very lucky and grateful guest.s

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Max_Sarah3162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

This is a lovely, relaxed way to visit Sydney, staying in Enmore with its huge selection of restaurants and cafes, close to much of the city. Julian and Brom are kind, urbane, delightful hosts and the multicourse breakfast was exceptional, with great ingredients and freshly cooked mains. I had a room at the front of the house, with a shared bathroom and a large, very comfortable bed. I was lucky to get a cancellation spot, and look forward to staying again. Really a great find.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mimwj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

We have to say that we experienced a warm welcome by our hosts... Tara Guest House is a home from home.. This is not just a guest house, that description is too impersonal. During our stay Brom and Julian went out of their way to make us feel welcome into their home. They were so helpful in suggesting places to visit in the city..They went above and beyond the usual level of hospitality by dropping us off at the railway station and Julian kindly dropped us off very early in the morning prior to a tour of the Opera house.
The breakfast prepared and served is delicious... Julian's culinary skills are very high and breakfast will serve you for the rest of the day.. No need to take lunch later.
The talk with the other guests over breakfast was such fun, conversation flowed, the meal time took longer and longer as we enjoyed each other's company and experience.. Breakfast became a meal with friends.
The location is perfect, with easy transport routes in and out of the centre of Sydney.
The rooms are of a very high standard, tasteful objects d'art abound in every room, nothing vulgar, obscene or distasteful here... Quality abounds at every turn.
We cannot recommend Tara Guest House highly enough, enjoy your stay, we did.. We look forward to another visit in the future and becoming " repeat offenders ".

Room Tip: Every room is different and has its qualities..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malcolm C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Our 2 nights at Tara were pretty well spot on. Tara is a great house with excellent hosts, brilliant breakfasts, interesting guests and a charming dog all in a top location. A seamless airport pick-up set the tone, followed by a guided tour of local restaurants on the way back. We can vouch for a couple of the recommendations which were excellent. The house is full of interesting artwork and the room itself was clean and spacious. Not a lot else to say really. I'm sure Tara wouldn't suit everyone all the time, but for us on this occasion it was ideal. Thanks for a brilliant stay Julian and Brom. D and J.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarshallDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

We had the opportunity to experience Julian, Brom and Oscar's loving and warm hospitality towards the end of our Australia trip. And it only added to our sense of longing for Australia!

The best thing about the place is the hosts themselves. It is rare to find such genuine warmth these days. Right from our first interaction on mail, it was a delight to talk to Julian and Brom. Brom's super-delicious and HUGE breakfasts were a big hit with all of us. This was the best and the most filling breakfast I had in Sydney and I am a vegetarian! We were really touched by the pampering we got at Tara. Our baby still remembers the yummy Orange Juice and how Oscar used to play with him. And of course Julian's green jeep :) Both Julian and Brom were gracious enough to entertain our late requests for boiling water for baby. Thanks!

We stayed in the upstairs Outback room. A minor hitch was the occasional noise of planes at night. Also, the upstairs room may get a li'l hot on sunny days but you only need to open the windows and it becomes comfortable enough in minutes. The room was perfect, otherwise.

We got valuable inputs about or itinerary from both Julian and Brom. The breakfast discussions were always interesting and enlightening. The house was beautifully done up and kept perfectly clean. The location is great as there are a no. of good eateries nearby with all kinds of cuisine for all kinds of budget.

Thanks, Julian & Brom for making our stay so pleasant! Too bad we didn't have enough time to explore your library. But we really hope to be those boomerangs who come back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OopsontheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

Brom, Julian and Oscar were all absolutely lovely. From Julian's chauffeur service to Broms orientation and in depth knowledge of the local area, it all made my stay that much better. I can confirm that the breakfasts are indeed a delight and the best I have ever eaten anywhere, and that includes a number of 5 star hotels and resorts! From my perspective it was also a great way to interact with some amazingly interesting people, as I was travelling alone. From a practical point Tara is also a great location for getting around Sydney by public transport, including a few of the less travelled routes. I cannot believe my luck at being able to stay here. Thank you both very much

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank 2014clare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Enmore
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Newtown
The Urban Newtown
The Urban Newtown
#1 of 1 in Newtown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
ADGE Apartment Hotel
ADGE Apartment Hotel
#1 of 174 in Sydney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#17 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TARA Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TARA Guest House

Property: TARA Guest House
Address: 13 Edgeware Rd, Enmore, Sydney, New South Wales 2042, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Enmore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Enmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tara Guest House is located in Sydney’s cosmopolitan Newtown/Enmore area with a reputation for being the chicest bohemian outpost in the city's inner suburbs, while maintaining a great sense of friendly local community and only 15 minutes from the CBD. Built around 1880 on large grounds, this recently renovated Victorian house has a mix of classic mid 20th century and antique furniture and improvements are ongoing. We are close to UTS and Sydney University, more than 400 restaurants, cafes, bars and theatres. Interiors have been thoughtfully styled to take advantage of the seriously spacious rooms and to ensure indulgent comfort for our guests. Good tucker always guaranteed! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tara Guest House Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing