We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful and marvellous and everything in between!”
Review of Dinton Hermit - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Dinton Hermit
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
1 review
“Wonderful and marvellous and everything in between!”
Reviewed 19 May 2013

What utter rubbish that terrible review before mine is!

I came here for a quiet lunch with my mother and we were blown away!
To start with we were greeted and then looked after exceedingly well by the young chap behind the bar, who I can't remember for the life of me his name but deserved a mention.

The menu was excellent and after a short wait, understandably because it was a brand new menu, the food was to die for. We had the soup of the day with delicious bread on the side and also a Salmon Caesar salad which was marvellous.

After a couple of Lemon Tarts and some coffee we sadly had to drag ourselves away for this beautiful building. The history of the building is very interesting and the general appearance and aura is just incredible.

So I would like to thank everybody who turned our quiet lunch into something amazing. Especially the wonderful young chap behind the bar and of course the chefs. Should I remember your name I will surely mention you!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CRobertson75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    5
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Rude rude rude”
Reviewed 12 May 2013

This was the worst experience I have had in a very long time. The staff were rude to the point that we got up and left without waiting for our meal. I will never ever set foot in that place again!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arthur G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food but very slow service”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Large garden for the children to run around in. Friendly staff and good food (good for pub food but not really good restaurant standard) but service was very slow. We had booked a table for 12.45, arrived within 5 minutes of our booking, ordered as soon as possible but didn't get any food until after 2pm. Only two draft beers. This pub is listed in Alistair Sawdays special places and I was disappointed - didn't think it was very special. It's this first disappointment we've had in a heavily used set of good recommendations by Sawday.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wt7881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice pub, pleasant lunch”
Reviewed 12 April 2013 via mobile

Dropped in on a whim for lunch on a Friday. Food was tasty and value for money. Plenty of choice on the bar menu. Location is good. Pub is very tidy and staff are friendly.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Aylesbury”
Reviewed 10 April 2013

If you are looking for a place to stay in Aylesbury then this is it. Great accommodation, excellent food, friendly staff with always a warm welcome. I have stayed here over the last 6 months through work and never disappointed. The food is always excellent quality with regular menu changes according to seasonal products. Always a couple of local beers on tap, very good wine list. Makes a very pleasant change from the normal chain hotels. Try it for yourself.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stebass1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing