We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice overnight stop”
Review of Red Roof Inn Troy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Troy
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Troy
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice overnight stop”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Eleven hour drive with five to go. So we stopped in Troy, IL at the Red Roof Inn. I have not stayed at an RRI since I was a child. The location is right off the highway with a lot of truck stops. I used to live in the area and knew this was a decent location and that I could trust. I was happy there were a lot of nice restaurants to choose from too. Upon entering the hotel, it was very clean and the staff was friendly. The rate was decent compared to the Holiday inn behind this hotel. 40 dollars less. We got a two queen non smoking room and was nice and clean. The main bathroom was nice and spacious, toilet was not right next to the tub which I was happy about! The kids loved the room. Had flat screen tv with great cable and large cable remote. Good channels to choose from. The view is not great, I-55 and trucks to look at, but who needs a view when all you have to do is sleep. We arrived at 10:30, so it was late. They have a nice pool and a breakfast bar. Elevator was good. The only issue I had was in the morning, the cleaning crew were waiting with their carts to use the elevator to go to different levels, that was annoying. My suggestion is that each floor should have a storage area for their carts, as to not disturb guests when they are trying to check out with luggage. Obviously they let the guests go before they attempted to get on the elevator. We had a good nights rest and headed out to Chicago. This location was nice because if you are headed south it's right before you get to St.Louis or if headed north right after you leave StL. I give this hotel a good rating for the price and location. CrackerBarrel next door too.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prairieprof1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMDanGross, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Troy, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Prairieprof1,

Thank you for taking the time to review of our property. I appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Troy, IL Red Roof.

I will make sure to share your review with the rest of our team. Feedback from our guests is always welcome as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience. We look forward to seeing you in your future travels.

Sincerely,

Dan Gross

General Manager
Red Roof Inn - Troy, IL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    41
    21
    11
    7
See reviews for
59
28
11
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Stained comforter, clogged sink, alarm goin off at 5:45 unexpectedly, stained ironing board, freezing room, stale bread, spoiled juice. Bad experience for us all. Felt bad for our two young boys. Yes and broken blow dryer too.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMDanGross, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Troy, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Laura w,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our property. I would appreciate you contacting me directly regarding your recent stay at the Troy, IL Red Roof.

I would like to make sure you have shared your comments about our location not another hotel. Your feedback is an unusual review for our property. Feedback from our guests is always welcome as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing an experience. I look forward to hearing from you in you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Dan Gross

General Manager
Red Roof Inn - Troy, IL

618-667-2222
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mequon, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Our first stay at a Red Roof after reading the reviews. Very friendly on the phone taking our reservation and gave us a lower rate than what was online. Smooth check in. Pool was still open at 10pm. Room was unique with wood floors and carpet around the beds. Good standard breakfast: yogurt and cereal was good for the kids. Only complaints would be slight smell of smoke, loud shower. I would go back for that rate though.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMDanGross, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Troy, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear John k,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our property. I appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Troy, IL Red Roof.

I will make sure to share your comments with the rest of our team. First hand guest feedback is always welcome as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience. We look forward to seeing you in the future when your travel plans allow.

Sincerely,

Dan Gross

General Manager
Red Roof Inn - Troy, IL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2014

For folks like us who just need some basic housing on the road, the Troy IL Red Roof is an absolute gem. The facility is clean & neat, the pool is wonderful, and the staff has always been friendly! We arrived late, but our ground-level request was locked-in on the RR website. The rooms were spacious enough for our gear and two bicycles (we were coming through for an MS150 bike-ride). We always stop here as a late-night stop when traveling between Springfield MO and NW Ohio - it gets us past STL at night, and is always a welcome stop for us. This facility should be the gold-standard that other RR's are held to!

Room Tip: We are usually traveling with bicycles, so we are always on the ground floor. The staff has always a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMDanGross, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Troy, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear STEVEN F,

Thank you for taking the time to complete another review of our property. I appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Troy, IL Red Roof.

I will make sure to share your comments with the rest of our team. Feedback from our guests is always welcome as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience. We look forward to seeing you on your future cross country bike trips.

Sincerely,

Dan Gross

General Manager
Red Roof Inn - Troy, IL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elkhart, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

This was a really nice Red Roof. It's clean comfortable and surprisingly quiet for being so close to the interstate. The big surprise was the breakfast. Usually I don't expect one at a Red Roof.
Check in was fast and efficient and the desk person was friendly and helpful.
I have no problem recommending this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cmackay03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMDanGross, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Troy, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Cmackay03,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our property. I appreciate your kind comments regarding your recent stay at the Troy, IL Red Roof.

I will make sure to share your comments with the rest of our team. Feedback from our guests is always welcome as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience. We look forward to seeing you in your future travels.

Sincerely,

Dan Gross

General Manager
Red Roof Inn - Troy, IL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Great value, no complaints. Clean/comfortable/affordable just as their ad says. Newly remodeled I guess, it looked fresh. Shower head really good. Comfortable bed. Our dog stayed with us for no extra charge - that's why we choose this motel. Right off the interstate and in a safe area. Couldn't figure out how to work the TV, but that didn't bother me, had a nice quiet stay. Had an internet computer in the lobby that I used which was handy.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMDanGross, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Troy, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Bob W,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review. I appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Troy, IL Red Roof.

I will make sure to share your comments with the rest of our team. Feedback from our guests is always welcome as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services and product.

Thank you again for sharing your experience. We look forward to seeing you and your dog in your future travels.

Sincerely,

Dan Gross

General Manager
Red Roof Inn - Troy, IL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
353 reviews
307 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Wish all Red Roof Inns were this nice! Exceptional value, fantastic customer service & fresh, modern room. Julie at the front desk was cheerful and helpful and check in was a breeze. Appreciated the iced water with lemon or lime & free fresh popcorn in the lobby. Flat screen TV with LOTS of channels to choose from, wifi with good signal. fridge/micro. Slept very well as the bed was comfortable with nice linens and fat, fluffy pillows. Wish there had been more counter space at the bathroom sink but that was a design issue & no big deal except I've been juicing and needed more room for my Nutri Bullet. Parking lot was well lit and felt secure. Breakfast buffet was standard but there is a Cracker Barrel across the street if you want more substantial start to your day. Freze, the clerk at check out, was amazing as he simultaneously rebooted two computers and issued receipts. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LINDA H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMDanGross, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Troy, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Linda ,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of Red Roof Inn Troy/St Louis. I appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Troy, IL Red Roof.

I will make sure to share your comments with the rest of our team. Feedback from our guests is always welcome as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience. We look forward to seeing you in your future travels.

Sincerely,

Dan Gross

General Manager
Red Roof Inn - Troy, IL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troy
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Troy IL/St. Louis Area
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Troy
0.0 mi away
Best Western Troy Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 3 in Edwardsville
10 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis-Edwardsville
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edwardsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Troy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Troy

Property: Red Roof Inn Troy
Address: 2030 Formosa Rd, Troy, IL 62294-1387
Region: United States > Illinois > Troy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Troy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Troy 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Red Roof Inn, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Red Roof Inn Troy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Troy Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing