We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location!”
Review of Illini Union Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Illini Union Hotel
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Urbana
Qingdao, China
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Location!”
Reviewed 6 October 2012 via mobile

The Illini Union hotel puts you right @ the heart of the campus ... Within walking distance of great restaurants and surrounded by the sights and sounds of university students in action on the Quad.

The rooms are a bit tired, it took awhile for hot water to arrive in the shower head, and the continential breakfast was average.

However, for us, location trumped datedness. It was a great place to stay for a night after watching a women's soccer match, and brilliant to show our children, from an up-close vantage point campus we once attended.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmericanExpatswKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illini_Union, Manager at Illini Union Hotel, responded to this review, 10 October 2012
Thank you so much for staying here and for your candid review. While it seems like only yesterday since we remodeled it'sreally been since 2009 so yes we are looking at refurbishing some things.
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    36
    11
    13
    5
See reviews for
30
14
4
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012 via mobile

Stayed here on a work trip, paid by the university. First impression was pretty good - slow check in but friendly, happily gave us a parking pass ahead of when our room was ready, room clean and completely serviceable. They also gave us a choice of rooms when we checked in and we chose a quad view room. HOWEVER... When we returned from dinner around 9:30 there was very loud music and DJing outside our window on the quad. Now, we understand it is a college campus and we waited until 10:30 then decided to call the front desk to find out how long it would be going on. No one answered the phone - apparently they just done staff the desk overnight?? Not only that, but they had ample opportunity to warn us about the noise when they offered us a choice of rooms. It would have been easy to say that the quad room would be noiser... Nope, nothing. Loud music on a college campus I understand. Failure to warn us, total unavailability when we needed assistance... Totally unacceptable to me. Not worth the convenient location or the money. Seriously. Never again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KHib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Florida, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

we were visiting the u of I. it was a room on the third floor of the student union. a perfect place to stay! we arrived the night before our tour and walked around and enjoyed the beautiful university grounds. the next day we were able to use the university gym- it needs a little face lift, as does the student union, but the rooms were very nice. our room was very comfortable and included a good continental breakfast across from our room. on these trips we usually stay in hamptons or fairfields and this was just as good.
we had a tour the next day so having the car parked - no charge- and right near the info session and tour was perfect! urbana champagne downtown is very cute and enough to do for an overnight.
front dest staff are students or employees but were really helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheleNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012 via mobile

Very old building, but they have done a nice job keeping rooms updated. Location says it all, but rooms are very nice and reasonably priced (at least for the time of year we went). Another thing to consider is it comes with free parking at the Union - that could be worth it alone. The continental breakfast is low end but there are other places to eat nearby. All in all, if you're visiting the University, you can't go wrong here.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank tjel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illini_Union, Manager at Illini Union Hotel, responded to this review, 20 July 2012
Thank you so much for the positive comments. I do wish we had more space for an expanded breakfast bar. It's on my wish list.! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Great location. We had a suite, one room with two double beds and one room with a pull out couch. We were a family of five so this was more than enough space and had two bathrooms. Right in the middle of campus. Walk to restaurants. Be careful that you park in the right place or you will end up with a ticket. I agree that the hotel should spend some time training the front desk staff. They are students, but could use a little coaching on basic hospitality. We arrived a bit early and they didn't seem to know how to handle us. All in all, a very nice stop in Champaign.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank AmyG96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illini_Union, Manager at Illini Union Hotel, responded to this review, 20 July 2012
We at the Illini Union Hotel are glad that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the feedback. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Stayed two nights and greatly enjoyed it. Perfect location, comfortable, spacious and clean room, with a view of the quad.

Room Tip: view of the quadrangle
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enroute55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illini_Union, Manager at Illini Union Hotel, responded to this review, 20 July 2012
Thank you so much for the kind words. We really appreciate your business and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Lansing, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

You can't get a better location if you are visiting campus. The Union is right on the quad and just a block away from many restaurants and shops. It has a great college feel, and the room was nice, the beds were comfortable and clean.

I would, however, concur with other reviewers on two counts: 1) the hotel maintenance staff needs to clean the air vents in the bathroom which are coated and dripping with an accumulation of dust-- pretty gross, and 2) the hotel needs to train the front desk in some very basic customer service routines. The front desk seems to be staffed mainly by students, who are friendly enough, but could really use some training-- like asking guests who are checking in "what brings you to town?" "can I help you with any directions?" etc. and asking guests who are checking out "how was your stay?" Also, I needed to leave my luggage, including my laptop, at the front desk for a few hours and they have no claim check system-- which made me a little nervous. These are all simple things to fix.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen_EL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illini_Union, Manager at Illini Union Hotel, responded to this review, 20 July 2012
We appreciate your comments and will work hard to earn your future business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urbana
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Champaign
Hyatt Place Champaign
#1 of 25 in Champaign
476 reviews
0.2 mi away
TownePlace Suites Champaign Urbana/Campustown
1.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Champaign-Urbana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana
1.3 mi away
I Hotel and Conference Center
1.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Urbana Champaign, University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Illini Union Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Illini Union Hotel

Property: Illini Union Hotel
Address: 1401 W Green St, Urbana, Champaign-Urbana, IL 61801-2953
Region: United States > Illinois > Champaign-Urbana > Urbana
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Urbana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Illini Union Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed within one of the most iconic buildings on the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign’s campus – the Illini Union – is the newly remodeled Illini Union Hotel. This boutique hotel offers 74 rooms, including two VIP suites, and is the perfect location for anyone looking to make the most of their stay in Champaign-Urbana. In addition to 27 meeting rooms, the Union also offers a plethora of food and entertainment options throughout the building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Illini Union Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Illini Union Hotel Urbana, IL - Champaign-Urbana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing