We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs more updating help” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Urbana
Certificate of Excellence
Rockford, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Needs more updating help”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

While this Hampton is the closest and most conveniently located hotel to the University of Illinois campus, it needs some major improvements to be better than average. Rooms are nice and clean but HVAC, fridges and other amenities need work. The staff is great. Also, unlike some other Hampton's they do not have a liquor license so BYOB!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank dfdgiakas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamptonurbana, General Manager at Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad you found location to be convenient and our staff friendly. Your comments will help us to improve our amenities and better serve our guests in the future. We hope you will consider staying with us again if you return to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    134
    62
    15
    7
See reviews for
185
47
37
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level Contributor
97 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

This is your standard Hampton Inn...no surprises. My observations:
1. The receptionist in the lobby is 'not' friendly (Sat June 7, 1 PM), nothing wrong with that...but, the other staff members are really friendly, so....(besides, people in the mid-west typically go out of their way to be friendly...)
2. The Gym has ONLY cardio equipment, nothing else
3. There are no safes in the room

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank assamese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamptonurbana, General Manager at Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for your review, your feedback and staying with us. I apologize you found one of our team members not so friendly. I will address that with them. Also I appreciate the additional feedback about not having cardio equipment and no safes in rooms. I most definitely will look into some of those things for the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mattoon
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

I travel out of town often and when ever I am in Urbana I stay at this hotel. The Staff is amazing is so friendly and go above and beyond to make sure I have a great stay. I am a freak for cleanliness and this hotel is a 10 in that category. The linens and comforters are clean for every customer. I cannot tell how important that is for me. There is a complimentary breakfast that is OK. Everything else is a 10

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Kari M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamptonurbana, General Manager at Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for your review and feedback. I am glad you find our hotel clean, friendly and comfortable when you stay with us. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
414 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

My family spent three nights here recently and it was a lovely stay. We'd been here in the past and they didn't keep the breakfast area as nice as they do now. Their staff are very professional and accommodating. The rooms are clean and nice and updated. You can really tell that everyone on staff cares about the hotel and wants to make your stay a nice one. The breakfast is more than adequate but if you require more there's a Perkins Restaurant open 24 hours a day in the same parking lot.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CM W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamptonurbana, General Manager at Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for your review and for staying with us. I appreciate all the positive feedback you left and will share with my team. We look forward to your return if you come back to the Champaign/Urbana area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, WI
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

The hotel room was very nice, and the bed was very comfortable. The location was convenient, and a Perkins restaurant abuts the hotel's parking lot. The staff was unusually friendly and accommodating. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank JMAMadison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamptonurbana, General Manager at Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for your review and feedback. I happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and that our staff was friendly and accommodating. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suwanee, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Hotel is OK and and the food service excellent....but it is not a smooth hotel...all seems difficult here. The staff is really trying and really nice....but room not ready when needed and little things like this.....If the price is right it is a good place to stay...but as we have choices in this price range - I would research those.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Claus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamptonurbana, General Manager at Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for your review, feedback and your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
73 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Overall this stay was good. We stayed on the 2nd floor. You could hear a bit of noise from above--more than in most Hamptons. Breakfast was nothing special. We have had better at most other locations.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilmo9198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamptonurbana, General Manager at Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback. I apologize about the issue you had with noise during you stay and that our breakfast was not up to the standard you have come to known. Thank you again for your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urbana
1.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Urbana Champaign, University Area
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Champaign
Hyatt Place Champaign
#2 of 25 in Champaign
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
1.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Champaign-Urbana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Champaign
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Champaign/ Urbana
0.5 mi away
TownePlace Suites Champaign Urbana/Campustown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana

Property: Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana
Address: 1200 W University Ave, Urbana, Champaign-Urbana, IL 61801-2338
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Champaign-Urbana > Urbana
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Urbana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is located conveniently across the street from the north side of the University of Illinois campus and 1 mile south of I74. We are a newly renovated property and our amenities include a hot breakfast buffet, indoor pool/whirlpool, complimentary Wi-Fi, fitness center and guest laundry facility. Our hotel is a perfect location for your business meeting in the area or your sporting event on the weekend with a large lobby and meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct and Booking.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Urbana Hotel Urbana
Urbana Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana IL - Champaign-Urbana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing