We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice clean hotel in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Urbana
Certificate of Excellence
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice clean hotel in great location”
Reviewed 27 July 2009

This is right on University Avenue on the north end of the U of I campus, literally within walking distance of most of campus. It's a typical Hampton with all the amenities (full breakfast, etc.) and was very clean.

Workout room is small (3 machines); it has a pool and a hot tub.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GumshoeOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    139
    67
    16
    8
See reviews for
190
52
39
141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2009

Got checked in with no problems, found the room and thought it was pretty nice. It smelled like it had been "febreezed" or at least freshened, but then the carpets felt kind of damp/sticky so maybe they had just been cleaned? The bathroom was adequate but the sink was in the corner so there was very little vanity space. This is a pretty big hotel, right near the U of IL Urbana campus. In the evening the road outside was a little noisy (it was a nice summer night) but it didn't bother us inside our room. It was so nice outside that I took the kids out for a walk along the street behind the hotel, it was a brick street and not very busy at all. Breakfast bar in the morning was fine, attended by staff, plenty PLENTY of space to sit & eat. Overall a good stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah303030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2009

I stayed here for four nights while visiting clients at the UIUC Beckman Institute. The hotel's location was incredibly convenient to the university; Beckman was right across the street! Major freeways and both downtowns Urbana and Champaign were also short drives away.

If you've stayed at a Hampton Inn before, then you'll know what to expect. The front desk staff was very pleasant. The breakfast spread was also large and varied. The building itself is somewhat older but still in good shape.

Downsides:
- Blackout curtains only.
- Nowhere near enough AC outlets for a typical business traveler (i.e., laptop computer, Blackberry, iPhone, etc.).
- Floor around my TV was wet when I arrived. I suspect the previous guest spilled something and didn't bother to report it or clean up.
- Found an ant in the bathroom.

Upsides:
- Great location.
- Perkins Restaurant located in hotel parking lot.
- Friendly staff.

If I find myself in Urbana again, I'll consider this hotel but will also look at other options too.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrishGal21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenview, IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2008

Great quiet room on the 4th floor. Just an overnight stay, but beds were comfortable, had an appropriate amount of towels, and a well thought out bathroom (ie. plenty of hooks for wet towels, full length mirror on OUTSIDE of bathroom door). Walking distance to Eng. Quad at U of I. Breakfast was not stellar but hey its free! Pool available but we didn't use it.

Check in was efficient and staff was cordial. Would stay again without hesitation.

  • Liked — Quiet
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonafat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, Illinois
Level Contributor
363 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2008

Stayed here one night for business with University of Illinois. Good location for north end of campus. Lobby is beautiful and staff is friendly. Great breakfast. Rooms are high-quality, what I've come to expect at a Hampton. A bit on the old side but still decent, just some nicks out of furniture and walls. The problem was the very thin walls, and/or the very loud neighbors. As in, screaming and stomping from 10:45 pm - midnight. I called the lobby at 11 and someone came up and tried to quiet them down, but that did not last. I tried again on my own several times. This can happen anywhere, but some hotels have thicker walls than others, and you can tell that these walls are on the thin side. Next month I'll go back to the Champaign Hilton Garden Inn, which is nicer.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisamarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
77 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2008

Stayed at the Hampton Inn for 1 night and had a pleasant stay. The beds were very comfortable, the shower had excellent water pressure and the location was convenient to the University campus.

  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Janichic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Ana, California
Level Contributor
209 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2008

I stayed here for 2 nights for a conference at the university and overall it was a very pleasant stay. It is a typical Hampton Inn with free breakfast and free wifi. When my colleague and I checked in just after lunch time, they gave us some extra breakfast bags because we were in a hurry to get to the conference. The room was comfortable and nothing special.

This was my second time staying here and it so conveniently located for the conference that I attend on campus. It is within walking distance of the northern part of campus and the different eateries along Green Street. Even though this place is not as nice as the Hilton Garden Inn, it is much more conveniently located for my needs.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Dr_Drew2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urbana
1.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Urbana Champaign, University Area
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Champaign
Hyatt Place Champaign
#2 of 25 in Champaign
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
1.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Champaign-Urbana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Champaign
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Champaign/ Urbana
0.5 mi away
TownePlace Suites Champaign Urbana/Campustown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana

Property: Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana
Address: 1200 W University Ave, Urbana, Champaign-Urbana, IL 61801-2338
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Champaign-Urbana > Urbana
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Urbana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is located conveniently across the street from the north side of the University of Illinois campus and 1 mile south of I74. We are a newly renovated property and our amenities include a hot breakfast buffet, indoor pool/whirlpool, complimentary Wi-Fi, fitness center and guest laundry facility. Our hotel is a perfect location for your business meeting in the area or your sporting event on the weekend with a large lobby and meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Urbana Hotel Urbana
Urbana Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana IL - Champaign-Urbana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing