We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic destination experience.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Starved Rock Lodge & Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Utica
Certificate of Excellence
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic destination experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

Held my daughter's wedding here - lodge and hotel accomodations were outstanding, food excellent, hotel rooms generously comfortable, grounds fantastic. Great for a weekend outing, an event, or a weekend personal writing, hiking, self-reflective retreat. Loved the weekend I spent there.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennifer I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    146
    42
    21
    11
See reviews for
101
161
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

This was a "recon" trip. That is, testing sites for longer or future and frequent family travels. For me, the cabin was just right. Small sleeping quarters, huge bathroom. Only bad thing was there was no kitchen and supposedly no food allowed. Cobwebs, yes. Evidence of mice, probably. But, it is a cabin near the woods and the toilets flush. Best features - canyons and trails in the "backyard", access to all trails, Visitor's center, The Lodge, Pool, Restaurants - all on foot. It's outdoors, not exactly luxury but not exactly rustic. The boys left their electronics behind and became Huck Finn and Tom Saywer for a day and night.

Room Tip: Cleaner facility? Choose a lodge room, but it's really all about the outdoors!
See more room tips
Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
8 Thank Elaine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
145 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

I love SRL, and have detailed the reasons in a previous review.

On our visits, we typically avail ourselves of the onsite massage services at the 'massage cabin' near the parking lot. The massages have always been INCREDIBLE and appropriately priced--thus our return customer status.

On a recent 3 night stay we booked our usual couples deep tissue massage and to our great dismay, found different therapists employed than on our previous visits.

While they were nice enough people, the massages were just bad--I wonder if either of them even went to massage school? I say this as someone who believes that any massage is a good one!

First, nothing about the massage was deep tissue. Second, it was a very poor Swedish massage to boot! Even feedback given during the massage went unheeded.

Totally disappointing. I'm very sad to say that we'll no longer get massages when staying there. I'd suggest you save your time and money as well.

Bleak.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BusinessTraveler04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

I stayed here with my family (with kids) in March 2012. I stayed in a 1st floor room in the "hotel" wing. The room could use some updating. Our room smelled like urine. I thought it was pretty bad, although the rest of the family did not complain. Our room was a standard room with 2 queen beds and a pullout arm chair. It did not have the lodge look although I think rooms like that are available. We paid about $140./night. The toilet was a low flow toilet and clogged more than once. No coffee makers in the rooms (I'd recommend to them installing a keurig in each room like they have at Yellowstone). The room walls are not sound proof. We had a room with a little kid next door. The kid (and the parents) were very loud. A decent plat panel TV and a DVD player was in the room, but the channel selection was limited. They offer DVDs and board games at the front desk at no charge. They use really dim light bulbs in the room also. Overall the room just seemed a bit outdated.

The lodge in general is nice. There is a koi pond, fish tank, and bird cage in the lobby. There are beautiful nature pictures from the park in the hallways and in the room. They have a beautiful back patio with paths that lead right to the hiking trails. They have a beautiful great room with huge exposed timber beams and an enormous fireplace (although they did not have a fire burning). They have an indoor swimming pool, but I did not use it. I was there for a wedding (the second one I have been to there). It is a really nice place for a wedding. The food at the "Backdoor Grill" was a little pricey ($8) for a hot dog and chips or a pulled pork and chips. Although the pulled pork was a good! The food at the wedding was so-so.

They have decent bathrooms off of the great room and a gift shop as well. Parking lots were adequate. Wi-Fi in the rooms and even in the great room was very weak (almost non-existent). Cell phone service on Sprint and on Verizon in the rooms and on the property was intermittent. No free breakfast (like many other hotels).

The hiking trails are fun and there are waterfalls in many of the canyons. Eagles nests can be seen from some of the trails along the river, but you'll need binoculars to see them. Other than hiking, swimming pool, board games, and a few kids DVDs, there isn't a lot for kids on the property. But some of the hiking trails will really impress the kids.

The nearest Burger King and McDonald's is about 5 miles away. An easy drive, but it'll take 10-15 minutes. Caution - Conservation Police will enforce the speed limits along the park roadways.

Leashed pets are allowed on the trails, but not in the rooms or buildings.

Room Tip: Get a lodge room. I heard the 3rd floor is better. Bring your own kids DVDs if you have kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank USAExplorer_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

We stayed in the lodge as opposed to the cabins (which looked very nice from the outside but they don't show them on the inside - even after asking). The staff was pleasant, room was very small but cozy and charming with knotty pine walls and old, rustic hardwood furnishings. The main area of the lodge is ENOURMOUS! The gigantic wood burning fire place was wonderful with plenty of sofas, chairs and tables around to suit 2 to 15! Restaurant was good (not great). Brunch was rather ordinary for the money. Lots of great paths and places to explore as well as a pool and hot tub. I would go again. Good value for the money.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fellowtraveler025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, Illinois
Level Contributor
169 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

My husband and I were on our way home from a weekend trip and decided to try the Starved Rock Lodge Restaurant for dinner. We had a great time! Good food, friendly servers, tasty beverages, and amazing ambiance.
We decided to spend the night and were lucky enough to get a room at the last minute. It was a wonderful extra night to our weekend trip. We plan on returning for a couple of days to enjoy the well-marked and maintained trails, the heart-stopping bluffs, and abundant wildlife. Breathtaking.

Room Tip: Reserve early. We were just lucky that there had been a cancellation while we were at dinner. They...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 2again
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

We recently spent a weekend in the older original wing of the lodge and were very satisfied with the accomadations with just a couple minor complaints. This is our second stay and expect to return more times. The room was spacious and bedding quite comfortable. The bathroom was a bit cramped but served the purpose. We enjoyed all the common areas - huge lobby, pool and lounge. Being familiar with the dining choices in the area we dined off premises and only had breakfast in the dining room. The food was quite good, portions large and prices very reasonable for a resort setting. in fact, cost wise we felt the enitire experience was a good value. The only negatives were room lighting too dim to read by and bare bones basic cable on the TV. That said who comes to watch read or watch TV?

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AZ_I_C_IT_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Utica
0.9 mi away
Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort
4.6 mi away
Days Inn Oglesby/ Starved Rock
7.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Peru
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn Peru Starved Rock State Park
4.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Oglesby Inn
7.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Peru
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starved Rock Lodge & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starved Rock Lodge & Conference Center

Property: Starved Rock Lodge & Conference Center
Address: 2668 E. 875th Road, Utica, IL 61348
Region: United States > Illinois > Utica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Utica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Starved Rock Lodge & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Lodge, built by the Civilian Conservation Corps. Features 69 guest rooms and 21 cabin rooms, majestic Great Hall with 2-sided fireplace, on-site restaurant and bar, outdoor dining, indoor pool, weddings and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and HRS so you can book your Starved Rock Lodge & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starved Rock Utica
Starved Rock Hotel Utica Il

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing