We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad but lacks some things”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Utica
1 review
“Not bad but lacks some things”
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Their amusement park was a joke, No good rides for the teens and adults. The indoor watermark needs to be expanded with more rides (there were only 2 rides and a huge line) pool gets kinda packed unless you go early in the morning or late at night. Transportation to your cabin or villa is horrible! Need more transportation trains! It was okay the the last 2 years but they made in fun changes to there indoor amusement park and waterpark.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jesus v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grizzly_Jacks_Resort, Social Media at Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear valued customer,
Thank you so much for staying here at Grizzly Jack's! Also, thank you for the feedback you gave us! We have sent to management ideas on how to expand the amusement park and get more activities for adults. We have also sent them your suggestion about better transportation to and from the Villas and Cabins. If you have any other questions/concerns/suggestions, feel free to contact me at socialmedia@grizzlyjacksresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,770 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    407
    501
    352
    226
    284
See reviews for
1,356
42
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2014

The staff is friendly, warm and inviting. The waterpark is nice, with a wave pool and small lazy river. Water temp was not too cold. Also the whirlpool was nice. Did not use the water slides, but my kids said they were fun. The amusement park was nice as well with a zip line, climbing ropes, climbing wall, arcade games. Not huge, but satisfactory for our needs.
Downside is there is only one restaurant in the Amusement Park area, did not like the selection of food. Breakfast served in morning, but would liked to have seen a nicer place for evening dining. We went out to Denny's which is not too far. Location is 3 miles from Starved Rock. Would go again!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grizzly_Jacks_Resort, Social Media Director at Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
We so appreciate you and your family coming to visit with us here at Grizzly Jacks! We are so happy to hear that our staff was warm and friendly towards you! In regards to us not having more than one restaurant in the amusement park area, we have sent the suggestion to our management for review. There has been some talk about adding another restaurant to the property so stay tuned to our website and Facebook! If you have any other questions/concerns/suggestions, feel free to contact me at socialmedia@grizzlyjacksresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We had 45 people at our Hanson Family Reunion in June 2014. Grizzly Jack's is fantastic for kids of all ages. The Cabins, Villas and Lodge rooms were all excellent and the Grand Bear area is beautifully done. We also loved our Catered Dinner and the large room for our Variety Show. The nearby quaint town of Utica was fun for one dinner. Duffy's did a super job serving all of us. The short walk nearby to a gorgeous waterfall was wonderful for people of all ages. The employees were competant and polite at all times. I recommend Grizzly Jacks for your family reunion! It's GREAT!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grizzly_Jacks_Resort, social media director at Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Greetings valued guest!
Thanks so much for allowing our lodge to make your family reunion a blast! Also thanks for all the positive feedback! I am so happy that our staff was accommodating and you enjoyed the area so much! We hope to see you back here again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orland Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My husband and I along with our three girls went here unexpectedly. I called after midnight to see if we could get a room and check in the same night around 2am. We got a room and the reservation and check in was handled by Theodore at the front desk. He made sure everything went very smoothly. He accommodated us with everything we needed. I knew immediately our stay was going to be good. Everyone at this resort was very accommodating the entire stay. We will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ninae B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grizzly_Jacks_Resort, Social Media Director at Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear valued customer,
I am so happy to hear that your stay with us here at Grizzly Jack's was such a good experience! Thank you for giving us feedback and letting us know that the staff was very accommodating to you! We can't wait to see you and your family again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The overall experience was pretty good. Feel like it was a bit overpriced. But the location to Starved Rock couldn't have been better, which was the reason for the trip. The rough bottom of the wave pool scraped up some knees but nothing serious. Front staff was exceptional, but staff at the parks were quite dry. The room was nothing exceptional especially at the price paid. But we left happy so that's really all that matters I suppose.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JDPink14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grizzly_Jacks_Resort, Social Media Director at Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Greetings valued guest!
Just wanted to let you know that we really appreciate you guys staying with us over the summer! I'm so happy that the location was good for you! Also thank you for giving us some feedback about your stay. In regards to the water park staff, I do apologize for them not being very accommodating to your needs. We are always getting new staff in that area. As far as the rooms and bottom of the wave pool being rough, we have sent suggestions to management about possibly updating and figuring out how to make the wave pool more smooth. If you have any other questions/concerns/suggestions, feel free to contact me directly at socialmedia@grizzlyjacksresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
151 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

So we had an unexpected stay here. We had come to starved rock and decided to go swimming. First off the waterpark is very good for smaller children. I would say 12 and under. The front desk staff was very helpful. We got a room right next to the main entrance to the waterpark. The first night the power went out in the waterpark because of a storm outside. The staff immediately had activities for the guests. They immediately gave free laser tag in the amusement park next door. However there were no staff for a while to take care of us. The staff at the amusement park seemed a bit uninterested. The amusement park has a few activities that are included with stay. Now to our room. The television was old. And it looked blurry and dark. The room was nice. Clean and easily accessible. Our view was horrible but it was a stormy night anyway. The hallway lamps had spider webs and the ceiling vents were dusty. I just think it's a matter of bad housekeeping. Our room was clean. Their ac system was updated in the rooms which was nice. I would recommend this as a matter of fact I have. It's close enough to chicago and we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rpm1774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grizzly_Jacks_Resort, Social Media Representative at Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Greetings Valued Guest!

Thank you so much for choosing to stay here at Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort, we so enjoyed having you and your family visit with us! I am glad to hear that despite the storm, you and your family still had a good time on your stay and were able to enjoy all the amenities of our resort. In regards to your concerns about housekeeping, we have implemented new ways to be more effective in cleaning the different areas you mentioned and doing better checks to make sure everything is clean and inviting! Thank you for bringing our attention to updating the property as well! We are currently addressing management about the concerns. We greatly appreciate your business, and are thankful you shared your concerns and opinions with us! If you have any other concerns or questions going forward, feel free to contact me directly at socialmedia@grizzlyjacksresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Streator, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 18 June 2014

From a local customer: Cabin was very nice (small problem with cleanliness in one bathroom). Waterpark was fun. Small but perfect size for kids to be able to explore. Kids loved train as a form of transportation. We used a free cabin certificate provided at a fundraiser, so price was perfect. Beds were very hard, but overall we would totally go back.

Room Tip: Cabins were nice. Our neighbors were horrible but not really the hotels fault.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrystal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grizzly_Jacks_Resort, Manager at Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review. We are pleased that despite the housekeeping issue and your neighbors that you were able to enjoy your stay. We apologize for any inconveniences, but hope to see you in the future. If you would like to communicate any details of your stay to our management team, feel free to email us at kkrauss@grizzlyjacksresort.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Utica
0.9 mi away
Starved Rock Lodge & Conference Center
3.7 mi away
Days Inn Oglesby/ Starved Rock
3.8 mi away
Best Western Oglesby Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn Peru Starved Rock State Park
6.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Peru
7.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Peru
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort

Property: Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort
Address: 2643 IL 178, Utica, IL 61373
Region: United States > Illinois > Utica
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Utica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort offers skin-drenching fun all year long right in the beautiful setting of Starved Rock State Park. Located just 90 minutes from Chicago or the Quad Cities and an hour from Bloomington or Rockford, our 60 wooded acres offer all of nature's wonders. This includes Grand Bear Falls Indoor Waterpark, beautiful lodge accommodations, as well as our 1800 sq. ft. vacation villas and luxurious 2800 sq. ft. cabins. Enjoy a variety of dining options, including wraps, salads, hot sandwiches and made to order pizzas at Jack's Place. During the summer months guests can enjoy a view of nature at our Bear Island Pavilion & Curtis Canyon Deck. Next to Bear Island enjoy our “Castle in the Woods” playground area and test your skills at our 18 hole Canyon Creek Miniature Golf Course. All lodge rooms include a microwave, mini-fridge, hair dryer and wi-fi internet access. Our Vacation Villas are a 2-story townhome with a fully-applianced kitchen (basic pots and pans and place settings are provided), 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. Our Log Cabins offer 3 bedrooms, 4 bathrooms, a fully-applianced kitchen (basic pots and pans and place settings are provided), 3 fireplace, s and an oversized Great Room. Other resort amenities include the Cave Arcade with over 60 games, the Wave Cafe Snack Shop, the Honey Pot Sweet Shop & Grizzly Bean Gourmet Coffee Shop and the Moose Crossing Convenience Store. Our Grand Bear Conference Center includes over 8000 sq. ft. of meeting space, including 6000 sq. ft. of Grand Ballroom space to accommodate your larger functions such as weddings, family reunions and corporate events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grizzly Jack`s Grand Bear Hotel Utica
Grizzly Jacks Grand Bear Resort
Grizzly Jacks Grand Bear Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing