We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will come again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Utica
Bartlett, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Will come again”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Will try this place again because Grandkids had a BLAST! However the staff was not very friendly or approachable with the exception of a handful of them. This is suppose to be kid friendly but no one is smiling,talking etc. I'll definetily try a villa if affordable in order to bring food Because the only food is fast food

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grizzly_Jacks_Resort, Social Media/Marketing at Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Hello Valued Guest,
Thank you for your recent review on your past stay with us. We are so pleased that your grandkids enjoyed themselves so much! We strive to exceed every guests expectations while here with us. Without our customers heartfelt comments, we can not grow to exceed expectations. Your concerns from your trip have been forwarded to our upper management. Please feel free to reach out directly at socialmedia@grizzlyjacksresort.com for any future suggestions. Thank you and have a grand day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,784 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    409
    505
    355
    229
    286
See reviews for
1,369
43
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

Our stay was fun, staff was courteous and very helpful. Activities for the kids were numerous and fun. Dining area and the sweet shop were convenient. Very close to the state park. I would definitely recommend this resort!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leeann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grizzly_Jacks_Resort, Social Media/ Marketing at Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Hello Valued Guest,
Thank you for your review on your recent stay. We are pleased to hear you were able to enjoy your family getaway! Thank you for sharing with us the experiences you all had and thank you for bringing your family to stay with ours! We look forward to welcoming you in the future and we appreciate your recommendation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monee, IL
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stayed in a villa, beautiful and updated but beds were very hard and uncomfortable. Lots of towels was a plus, so many places are stingy with them. Master bedroom included a loveseat and jetted tub. The first villa we were given reeked of gas, went back to the front desk and they quickly gave us a new one. The restaurant is awful. If you have kids you might like it but as a group of 4 adults we hated the loud music, couldn't even hear each other to talk, and the flashing lights were annoying. We left without ordering....5 minutes was enough! The sweet shop didn't have chocolate ice cream, pretty much a staple for an ice cream place, girl didn't say if they never have it or they ran out, she seemed bored and bothered. Also out of waffle bowls and hot fudge! Breakfast buffet food was good but only hot dishes, no cold cereals, toast or muffins/doughnuts. All drinks are extra but you can get free coffee by the front desk. But the cost of the buffet was 6.95 which I think was fair considering you had two kinds of eggs, sausage, ham, potatoes,french toast, pancakes, biscuits and gravey and fruit salad. We didn't use the water park or amusement area. No Wifi in the villas. I would stay here again, it was a close to home get away!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneMonee_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grizzly_Jacks_Resort, Social Media/ Marketing at Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Hello Valued Guest,
Thank you for your review on your recent stay. We do apologize for the lack of Wi-Fi in the villas and for any inconvenience caused to you and your group. We have forwarded your recent suggestions to our upper management, thank you for your input on your stay. Please feel free to send future suggestions to socialmedia@grizzlyjacksresort.com. From our family to your, we look forward to welcoming you in future. Thank you and have a grand day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moline, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This was our second year in a row coming here. We had a few issues with the room, but management got it taken care of right away. The vacation Villa is the way to go, it is a giant condo, with lots of room. The Villa is very private, and the hotel is very family friendly. We enjoyed the indoor waterpark, which is good for kids of all ages. Our kids loved taking the free Train that they offer for all guests to go back and forth between the Hotel, Villa, and the Enchanted Forest. They offer a minature golf course, plus a nice playground for the kids. The negative is no Internet at the villa, just the hotel, and Tv is just ok. Lots to do in the Area including Starved Rock (Hiking Trails) and several other state parks within minutes. The enchanted forest offers a giant slide, inflatables, a zip line, and several other things for free for hotel guests. I would highly reccomend going to "The Rootbeer Stand in nearby Oglesby", they have good food and the best rootbeer anywhere(They only take cash or check). Also there is canoeing, horseback riding, and much more to do in the area.

Room Tip: Vacation Villa is the way to go and the rooms are very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Duane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grizzly_Jacks_Resort, Social Media/ Marketing at Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Hello Valued Guest,
Thank you for your review on your recent stay. We do apologize for the lack of Wi-Fi in the villas and the older television. We have forwarded your recent suggestions to our upper management, thank you for your input on your stay. Please feel free to send future suggestions to socialmedia@grizzlyjacksresort.com. From our family to your, we look forward to welcoming you in future. Thank you and have a grand day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Always love taking the family here. Beautiful nature surrounds Grizzly Jack's. Great place to stay...water park, hiking, great local food (Joy and Ed's, Cajun Connection and Lou's La Grotto (in nearby Peru, IL)).

Room Tip: Villas are a great place to stay if you're a family of 4-5 or more. Much more spacious and help...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grizzly_Jacks_Resort, Social Media/ Marketing at Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Hello Valued Guest,
Thank you for your review on your recent stay. We are pleased to hear you were able to enjoy your visit with us! Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Thank you for bringing your family to stay with ours! We look forward to welcoming you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2014

There are mixed reviews about this resort on a couple of different advisory sites, but don't let a few malcontents deprive you of a great experience. Like other reviewers here, we took advantage of one of the specials (stay two nights, get the third free). We had the option of a reduced-rate two-night stay as well, but I'm really glad we opted for the third night - it amounted to a difference of about $110, and was TOTALLY worth it. I don't know if I'd feel the same about paying for a regular-priced stay (I've been eyeing this place for years, but always felt it was too pricey), so I'll be keeping a watch for more specials next summer. Previous reviewer "Michelle J." did an accurate job of assessing the water park and amusement park, though I would add that my girls - 6 and 9 years old - loved the skywalk, zipline, rock wall, bungee trampoline (all things that some parks/resorts charge EXTRA for), and must've dragged me up the giant slide over a dozen times. As for our guest suite, it was typical fare, though an iron and ironing board - usually taken for granted at a hotel - had to be requested (it arrived within minutes). The TV was an older model, but we weren't there to watch TV, so it wasn't really an issue. Having Starved Rock State Park about 200 yards away is another awesome selling point for this resort. Overall, this is a great place to stay, with enough to do to keep you and the kids busy for a few days at least!

Room Tip: Stay on the main floor - it's one above the water park, so less noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grizzly_Jacks_Resort, Social media/ marketing at Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Hello Valued Guest,
Thank you for your review on your recent stay. We are glad you were able to take advantage of joining us! Thank you for your feedback on your stay! Please feel free to reach out to me at socialmedia@grizzlyjacksresort.com with any further suggestions. Thank you and have a grand day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Good place, amazing service, very attentive and super friendly. Planning our next trip.Very family friendly, close to Starved Rock Park. Enchanted Forest was OK for the price we paid. Loved it overall.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cece76jqn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grizzly_Jacks_Resort, Social Media/ Marketing at Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Hello Valued Guest,
Thank you for your review on your recent stay. We are pleased to hear you were able to enjoy your stay! Thank you for sharing with us how much your family enjoyed the trip. Thank you for bringing your family to stay with ours! We look forward to welcoming you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Utica
0.9 mi away
Starved Rock Lodge & Conference Center
3.7 mi away
Days Inn Oglesby/ Starved Rock
3.8 mi away
Best Western Oglesby Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn Peru Starved Rock State Park
6.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Peru
7.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Peru
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort

Property: Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort
Address: 2643 Il 178, Utica, IL 61373
Region: United States > Illinois > Utica
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Utica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort offers skin-drenching fun all year long right in the beautiful setting of Starved Rock State Park. Located just 90 minutes from Chicago or the Quad Cities and an hour from Bloomington or Rockford, our 60 wooded acres offer all of nature's wonders. This includes Grand Bear Falls Indoor Waterpark, beautiful lodge accommodations, as well as our 1800 sq. ft. vacation villas and luxurious 2800 sq. ft. cabins. Enjoy a variety of dining options, including wraps, salads, hot sandwiches and made to order pizzas at Jack's Place. During the summer months guests can enjoy a view of nature at our Bear Island Pavilion & Curtis Canyon Deck. Next to Bear Island enjoy our “Castle in the Woods” playground area and test your skills at our 18 hole Canyon Creek Miniature Golf Course. All lodge rooms include a microwave, mini-fridge, hair dryer and wi-fi internet access. Our Vacation Villas are a 2-story townhome with a fully-applianced kitchen (basic pots and pans and place settings are provided), 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. Our Log Cabins offer 3 bedrooms, 4 bathrooms, a fully-applianced kitchen (basic pots and pans and place settings are provided), 3 fireplace, s and an oversized Great Room. Other resort amenities include the Cave Arcade with over 60 games, the Wave Cafe Snack Shop, the Honey Pot Sweet Shop & Grizzly Bean Gourmet Coffee Shop and the Moose Crossing Convenience Store. Our Grand Bear Conference Center includes over 8000 sq. ft. of meeting space, including 6000 sq. ft. of Grand Ballroom space to accommodate your larger functions such as weddings, family reunions and corporate events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grizzly Jack`s Grand Bear Hotel Utica
Grizzly Jacks Grand Bear Resort
Grizzly Jacks Grand Bear Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing