We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family cold weather getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Utica
Reviewed 23 August 2014

The only reason to stay here is for the water park. Our kids were 10 and 12 and we're old enough to go down the water slides and lazy river by themselves. The wave pool was a bit crowded and not really safe for poor swimmers so you need to go with your kids or watch them from the pool deck. There are lifeguards, but it is very busy at times. The food was pretty awful at the hotel. Utica has only 3 or 4 restaurants besides fast food. There is a candy store in the hotel lobby and the breakfast buffet is ok. The indoor amusement park was disappointing. I had seen a website which showed pictures of an indoor roller coaster but there isn't one. The games are like Chucky Cheese which takes tokens and spits out tickets that you trade for crappy prizes. Our kids played a lot of games and had a ton of tickets but all the could "buy" was candy that would cost $3.00 at Walgreens. You have to be willing to pay for the entertainment value of the games. At first we thought the kids were too old for this place but they actually had a great time. We only stayed three days though and left a day early because we got bored. Make sure to check out starved rock park which was worth the trip. The room was fine but standard and the whole place smells like chlorine.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katharine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,807)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

547 - 553 of 1,807 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2014

This resort charged my room for damages that did not happen and attempted to squeeze every penny out of my wallet. I will never be going again. Terrible customer service. Also my room did not have any water.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kjwrig4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grizzly_Jacks_Resort, Social Media/ Marketing at Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Hello Valued Guest,
Thank you for your recent review on your past stay with us. We strive to exceed every guests expectations while here with us. Without our customers heartfelt comments, we can not grow to exceed expectations. Your heartfelt review has been forwarded to our upper management. Please feel free to reach out directly at socialmedia@grizzlyjacksresort.com for any future suggestions. Thank you and have a grand day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

If you are coming, bring your own food for breakfast and lunch. They don't have a regular restaurant. If need be, go into Utica or over to Starved Rock for decent food.

The amusement park is not always open. Check ahead. We stayed on Sunday and Monday night. Everything open and running on Sunday. On Monday, the pool was not operating until 4:00 and the amusement park was not open until 4:00. Pretty hard to keep youngsters happy under those circumstances.

Their wi-fi is not the best. Couldn't connect with I-pod. Had to go over to Starved Rock hotel for it to work there.

As I said, be careful about what will be open during your stay. They essentially close down when it is not summer vacation time or holiday vacation time.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Dorothy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grizzly_Jacks_Resort, Social Media/Marketing at Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Hello Valued Guest,
Thank you for your recent review on your past stay with us. We strive to exceed every guests expectations while here with us. Without our customers heartfelt comments, we can not grow to exceed expectations. Thank you for sharing that our hours are shorter during off season and that our Wi-Fi can be a bit difficult. Your heartfelt review has been forwarded to our upper management. Please feel free to reach out directly at socialmedia@grizzlyjacksresort.com for any future suggestions. Thank you and have a grand day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Good bang for your buck with family. Would have given it above average if water slide was working and they opened amusement and water park earlier. They didn't open until 4pm when we stayed there. Had 3 kids in our group and there wasn't anything for them to do during the day except for arcade room. If they open there amusement and waterpark by 10am or 11am I would've rated higher.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Larry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grizzly_Jacks_Resort, Social Media/Marketing at Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Hello Valued Guest,
Thank you for your review on your recent stay. We do apologize for the down slide in the waterpark, the part is on order. Our amusement park and water park does open later during our slower months so we apologize for any inconvenience that may have caused you and your family. We have forwarded your recent suggestions to our upper management, thank you for your input on your stay. Please feel free to send future suggestions to socialmedia@grizzlyjacksresort.com. From our family to yours, we look forward to welcoming you in future. Thank you and have a grand day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Will try this place again because Grandkids had a BLAST! However the staff was not very friendly or approachable with the exception of a handful of them. This is suppose to be kid friendly but no one is smiling,talking etc. I'll definetily try a villa if affordable in order to bring food Because the only food is fast food

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Vicki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grizzly_Jacks_Resort, Social Media/Marketing at Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Hello Valued Guest,
Thank you for your recent review on your past stay with us. We are so pleased that your grandkids enjoyed themselves so much! We strive to exceed every guests expectations while here with us. Without our customers heartfelt comments, we can not grow to exceed expectations. Your concerns from your trip have been forwarded to our upper management. Please feel free to reach out directly at socialmedia@grizzlyjacksresort.com for any future suggestions. Thank you and have a grand day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

Our stay was fun, staff was courteous and very helpful. Activities for the kids were numerous and fun. Dining area and the sweet shop were convenient. Very close to the state park. I would definitely recommend this resort!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leeann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grizzly_Jacks_Resort, Social Media/ Marketing at Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Hello Valued Guest,
Thank you for your review on your recent stay. We are pleased to hear you were able to enjoy your family getaway! Thank you for sharing with us the experiences you all had and thank you for bringing your family to stay with ours! We look forward to welcoming you in the future and we appreciate your recommendation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stayed in a villa, beautiful and updated but beds were very hard and uncomfortable. Lots of towels was a plus, so many places are stingy with them. Master bedroom included a loveseat and jetted tub. The first villa we were given reeked of gas, went back to the front desk and they quickly gave us a new one. The restaurant is awful. If you have kids you might like it but as a group of 4 adults we hated the loud music, couldn't even hear each other to talk, and the flashing lights were annoying. We left without ordering....5 minutes was enough! The sweet shop didn't have chocolate ice cream, pretty much a staple for an ice cream place, girl didn't say if they never have it or they ran out, she seemed bored and bothered. Also out of waffle bowls and hot fudge! Breakfast buffet food was good but only hot dishes, no cold cereals, toast or muffins/doughnuts. All drinks are extra but you can get free coffee by the front desk. But the cost of the buffet was 6.95 which I think was fair considering you had two kinds of eggs, sausage, ham, potatoes,french toast, pancakes, biscuits and gravey and fruit salad. We didn't use the water park or amusement area. No Wifi in the villas. I would stay here again, it was a close to home get away!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaneMonee_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grizzly_Jacks_Resort, Social Media/ Marketing at Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Hello Valued Guest,
Thank you for your review on your recent stay. We do apologize for the lack of Wi-Fi in the villas and for any inconvenience caused to you and your group. We have forwarded your recent suggestions to our upper management, thank you for your input on your stay. Please feel free to send future suggestions to socialmedia@grizzlyjacksresort.com. From our family to your, we look forward to welcoming you in future. Thank you and have a grand day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Utica
0.9 mi away
Starved Rock Lodge & Conference Center
3.7 mi away
Days Inn Oglesby/ Starved Rock
6.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn Peru Starved Rock State Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Best Western Oglesby Inn
6.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Peru
7.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Peru
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort

Address: 2643 Il 178, Utica, IL 61373
Region: United States > Illinois > Utica
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Utica
Price Range: £82 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort offers skin-drenching fun all year long right in the beautiful setting of Starved Rock State Park. Located just 90 minutes from Chicago or the Quad Cities and an hour from Bloomington or Rockford, our 60 wooded acres offer all of nature's wonders. This includes Grand Bear Falls Indoor Waterpark, beautiful lodge accommodations, as well as our 1800 sq. ft. vacation villas and luxurious 2800 sq. ft. cabins. Enjoy a variety of dining options, including wraps, salads, hot sandwiches and made to order pizzas at Jack's Place. During the summer months guests can enjoy a view of nature at our Bear Island Pavilion & Curtis Canyon Deck. Next to Bear Island enjoy our “Castle in the Woods” playground area and test your skills at our 18 hole Canyon Creek Miniature Golf Course. All lodge rooms include a microwave, mini-fridge, hair dryer and wi-fi internet access. Our Vacation Villas are a 2-story townhome with a fully-applianced kitchen (basic pots and pans and place settings are provided), 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. Our Log Cabins offer 3 bedrooms, 4 bathrooms, a fully-applianced kitchen (basic pots and pans and place settings are provided), 3 fireplace, s and an oversized Great Room. Other resort amenities include the Cave Arcade with over 60 games, the Wave Cafe Snack Shop, the Honey Pot Sweet Shop & Grizzly Bean Gourmet Coffee Shop and the Moose Crossing Convenience Store. Our Grand Bear Conference Center includes over 8000 sq. ft. of meeting space, including 6000 sq. ft. of Grand Ballroom space to accommodate your larger functions such as weddings, family reunions and corporate events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grizzly Jack`s Grand Bear Hotel Utica
Grizzly Jacks Grand Bear Resort
Grizzly Jacks Grand Bear Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing