We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC”
Review of Landers House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Utica
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Landers House
Ranked #1 of 1 Utica B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 January 2013

My experience at Lander's House was absolutely fantastic. Once you walk in you are treated like family. Mary was incredibly sweet and very accommodating to our schedule. Every room in the house was beautiful. in addition to the beauty, the location is great! It is located within walking distance to Utica's cute little shops. Waking up to Lander's breakfast was the highlight to our trip. I highly recommend it to anyone looking to go on a romantic getaway. From the cottages to the suites, this place is the place to go!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
There are newer reviews for Landers House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2013

I have stayed at Lander's House with my boyfriend three times now. We love everything about it. The staff is outstanding. Mary knows how to bring a smile to your face. We have stayed at other bed and breakfast places, but this one surpasses every single one! We are definitely going back for the fourth time. We have stayed in the "Serengeti Cottage" and the "Safari Suite." Both are beautifully decorated, as is the whole house. They also both had a fireplace and jacuzzi! I highly recommend this place! Perfect, romantic, and cozy getaway!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ohbaby427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at Lander's to get away from the city for his birthday. Everything was wonderful from the staff to the room. The place was cozy, clean, comfortable, and just what we were needed for a romantic b&b getaway. We would recommend this place to anyone!!

Room Tip: Safari suite
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nmschwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

Ive stayed at Landers House many times and have had nothing but a fabulous experience. We just stayed there this weekend in the Serengeti Cottage (my favorite). The decor is creative, fun,very comfy and inviting. Mary is definatly an attribute to the establishment, she made us feel welcome almost like visiting family She also was very accomadating and attentive. The jacuzzi was relaxing after a long motocycle ride in bitter cold weather. Our breakfast that was delivered right to our cottage fresh and hot was spectaculer. We enjoyed the small town feeling we got when we went in to town, we met many friendly people.We will be visiting Landers House again its a great quick get away. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paulette60073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

We had a great experience. The staff was very friendly and professional. We stayed in the main house and it was old, beautiful, clean and quiet. Relaxing music was provided in the "Safari Room" which enhanced the Jacuzzi experience. The room was cozy and comfortable. We were within walking distance of downtown for shopping, a couple of cool bars and good food which we brought back to the house to enjoy in private. Breakfast was right on time and delicious. Great job Landers House!

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Toby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Unfortunately the first impression of this place was not too good because as we approached it, we couldn't help but notice that the front yard looked terrible. There were a bunch of weeds and dirt in the front of the house which made the place look unkempt.

There is an area in the back where the cottages are and although there is a place to sit and start a fire, the chairs were all covered in dirt and bird droppings so we never took advantage of this.

We stayed in the Caribou Cottage which was decorated very nicely and I loved the loft style bedroom - very cozy. The room itself was so cute and in general it looked like they cleaned it fairly well but the windows were dirty on the inside and out. A few negatives - there were cobwebs in the skylights and the ceiling light, there wasn't a hair dryer but we were provided with one when asked, the old vcr needs to be replaced with a dvd player, the water pressure in the shower was not great.

The breakfast on the first morning was simply pancakes and sausages and I was kind of expecting something a little more gourmet for the price we paid ($250 per night). The second morning was better with poached eggs and a yummy granola parfait. They have a coffee maker in the room so coffee was not served but I think they should provide coffee instead of having vacationing people make it themselves.

Landers is right around the corner from the main street where we had dinner at Skoogs (we had corn fritters and fried chicken - SO delicious!). We also stopped in at the August Hill tasting room where they had live music in the back.

The staff was exceptionally friendly, especially Mary who was very, very nice. Overall it was an okay place to stay but kind of overpriced for what you get. The place needs attention to detail such as cleaning the cobwebs and dust from windows (both inside and out). The outside chairs should be given a good scrub down as well and a little landscaping out front wouldn't hurt.

I struggled with my rating of this property as I suppose it was average for a B&B in the country but I ended up giving it a poor rating simply based on value. This was one of the most expensive B&B's we've ever stayed at so my expectations were high at the very start but unfortunately fell short.

Room Tip: Caribou Cottage was located off of the alley so it was a little noisy on Sat night as people were le...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chgowinelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Beautiful, uniquely decorated cabins. Very clean, very comfortable. In room, two person whirlpool which is much needed after a day of hiking. Gourmet breakfast cooked by culinary artist Mary is brought to your cabin. This is not a place for kids, but perfect for couples who want privacy and couple time. There is nothing I could change or improve at Landers House.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank XXBradyIrishRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Utica
1.7 mi away
Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort
1.7 mi away
Starved Rock Lodge & Conference Center
4.7 mi away
Days Inn Oglesby/ Starved Rock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Best Western Oglesby Inn
6.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Peru
9.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Ottawa Starved Rock Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Landers House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landers House

Address: 115 E Church St, Utica, IL 61373-9454
Region: United States > Illinois > Utica
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Utica
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing