We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb accommodation, food and hospitality - one of the best visited”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Woodland House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newbridge
salisbury
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb accommodation, food and hospitality - one of the best visited”
Reviewed 14 August 2009

Thank you all for making our stay so enjoyable. It was obvious that you go to great lengths for your guests and this is truly appreciated. Hopefully visit you again when we have another family wedding.

Regards,
Sam and Carol Drennan

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heckiedumpling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    46
    11
    6
    6
See reviews for
21
60
7
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2009

I have now staryed at the Woodland House Hotel around four times and I can't rate it highly enough. This listed building is being carefully restored and while it is work in progress, you need to see beyond that if you're there for the first time. There is a new and bequtifully appointed bedroom wing with modern features that contrast with the original building.
George and Janice who own the hotel really go the extra mile to look after you and the staff are equally as friendly and helpful.
The bedrooms have free Internet access so if you want to work, you can. What you really need to do is stop and listen - you'll hear absolutely nothing - peace perfect peace!
I will most certainly keep on using the hotel and am really looking forward to seeing the new conference and function centre completed as I know that I will be using it for business.
Keep up the good work.

Adrian

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victorpiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhondda, South Wales
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2008

I have now stayed here on a number of occasions in regards to business.
In the past, I had stayed at a high profile hotel at the other side of Dumfries. This hotel was very nice but I was asked to try the Woodland.
Putting it simply, the Woodland is friendly, not robotic, as I tend to term staff at most of these hotels. The room is lovely, with a traditional look to the bedrooms and a fantastically modern bathroom. Everything you expect from good hotel, but wih soul. Free Internet access too.
The staff are so friendly and helpful, not regimented and miserable, The food is great, the drink is good, and the cooked breakfasts are the best I've ever tasted, and I've had some breakfasts, believe me.
The surroundings are under development and don't let the renovations put you off, it does not affect your stay in anyway. It is breathtaking looking down the long driveway first thing in the morning and with a cup of coffee brought to you by the owner.
I can say that it's the best hotel I've stayed in as an overall package, but its the personal touch that comes out tops. Good luck to all at the Woodland, but I don't think you'll need any

  • Liked — The Personal Touch
  • Disliked — Not being able to stay long enough
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Reeves1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee Scotland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2008

I contacted this hotel directly as I was attending a 50th birthday party there. The staff on the phone were patient and accomodating, and very helpful about room entry. On arriving, it was a little confusing as the local council has not yet removed signs to the Embassy Hotel and it is now known as Woodland House. It is situated on the outskirts of Dumfries and you can access the most beautiful countryside within 3 minutes.
Please do not be put off by the building works, there are extensive renovations in process, The entrance hall and dining rooms are to be decorated, but even now, if you take the time, you will see the beautiful lines of this late Georgian mansion. The new bedrooms are extremely well fitted out, as are the bathrooms. There is a high standard of cleanliness, and the staff were prompt and helpful.
The birthday was a raging success, and catered for very well by all staff.
I wish the Woodland House well and will certainly visit again

  • Liked — well appointed rooms and bathroom. Clean and comfortable, helpful staff
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank aesmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newbridge
0.0 mi away
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Woodlands
545 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
1.7 mi away
Bartley Lodge Hotel
Bartley Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cadnam
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
1,145 reviews
3.2 mi away
Mortimer Arms Hotel
Mortimer Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Romsey
339 reviews
2.1 mi away
Forest Lodge Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lyndhurst
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodland House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodland House Hotel

Property: Woodland House Hotel
Address: Newbridge, Newbridge DG2 0HZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Newbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Woodland House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Woodland House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing