We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Chicago - Vernon Hills - Lake Forest
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Vernon Hills
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The room was dirty, the kitchen was terrible. Dishes had old food on them (clearly seen). The odor smelled like dogs and the sheets smelled like they were washed in water with no soap. The bed was hard as a brick, which made me want to sleep in a chair but there were none. Dogs kept barking through the night which just topped thongs off. I will not stay here again!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank csmith517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Chicago - Vernon Hills - Lake Forest, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your most recent stay. We would like to apologize for the experience you had at our hotel. We are disappointed to hear that your room was not cleaned properly and that you did not find your bed to be comfortable. We will retrain our housekeeping staff to ensure every room is cleaned to our standards. We will also inspect all of our beds to make sure they are meeting our standards for comfort.

Your feedback helps us work with our team to ensure that we are continually improving, so thank you again. We would love to have another chance to provide you with a better experience the next time you're in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014

First the Good:
Front desk people and the cleaning staff are very friendly.
The place is very quiet. I stayed on the 1st floor facing the front entrance parking lot it was still quite.
It is located in and next to a bunch of malls and shopping.

The bad
This might be with all extended stays. No printer. However, you can send something to the front desk staff and they will print it out for you.
Bleached blood stain on sheet. They staff immediately replaced the bedding.
Bathroom sink water was clogged, but it slowly went down.

Note you cannot see this building from the main road. You need to turn into the SAM's Club Kohles parking lot. This Extended Stay is located to the right of Kohles and towards the back.

Room Tip: Make sure curtains are pushed back of air conditioner, or it will affect the thermostat and cause i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TripMember08022017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Reservation was for two double beds and received a king with a rollaway bed. The evening staff person claimed that our room type / bed preference was unknown to the front desk because the reservation was made through expedia which does not pass on this information. (Really!???) There was nothing she said she could do about the situation. We only needed the room for 6 hours so we made the situation work. At post age 50 I thought I was past having to spend a night on a roll away bed.

The morning staff was very helpful! We left during breakfast setup. The guy offered to fetch us anything that was ready, but not yet moved to the breakfast area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I really appreciated Lindsay Levinson's willingness to give us a good rate for our 2-week stay. And the hotel is located in a very good area. It is very close to Kohl's, Sam's, Walmart, Mall, and tons of shopping and eating places. The hotel itself could have been cleaner. Our first night, we had to completely change sheets and bedding due to gross stains on pillow covers, sheets and blankets. Lindsay did refund us our first night due to this issue. One housekeeper, Cynthia, seem to do a better than average job cleaning the rooms. Otherwise, there was not a lot attention given to cleaning it appears. My husband had a very important phone conference where he was in need of a room for 2-3 hours. They did not have a conference room available or any other type of room that he could use-wanted to charge him another night's rate (manager agreed to 1/2 nights charge) to use a table and desk area of an available room for that limited time. Also, we had constant issues with our key to our room. We literally had to have our keys rekeyed almost every time we left our hotel room-which was very often in a 2-week period-so that was very annoying. Overall it was an okay stay-the rate was good. However, there are some issues that need to be corrected before I would be willing to stay at this hotel again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Caprena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Its a good option for someone who wants a budget room inthe locality. The Management & Staff is although very rude. They are not at all helpful or flexible. The Breakfast Snacks are most ofthe time very limited with options. The Rooms are very spacious & also neat with basic amenities. The Housekeeping is very poor & toiletries are not refilled until asked for. Everything you need, you have to go to the Front Desk to get, which isridiculous to say the least.

Choose this hotel only if you do not have any other choice in the area.

Room Tip: Try rooms onthe 3rd Floor facing the Back side of the hotel for nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suvankar_0311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Chicago - Vernon Hills - Lake Forest, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you for the feedback on your most recent stay at our hotel. We are committed to ensuring all of our guest have an enjoyable stay and I apologize that we fell short of your expectations. I am sorry that our staff did not attend to your needs in a professional manner. I will work closely with our staff to ensure your experience is not repeated. We continually work to improve our hotel, so we really appreciate your comments. We hope to have the opportunity to provide you with a better stay in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Excellent hotel to stay away from home and feel at home. its got good cooking facility and nicely maintained rooms with high speed internet through wifi. Close to Vernon hills. Humble and polite staff, always there to help and not to forget the morning take away breakfast which is given as complimentary.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the lake behind has good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rajashekar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - Chicago - Vernon Hills - Lake Forest, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

The staff and I appreciate your kind remarks. We’re thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our friendly staff, free Wi-Fi and spacious suites with fully equipped kitchens at a great value. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels. We look forward to hosting you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

The room was nice enough for the price--a clean and up-to-date bathroom and an okay kitchen (with limited counter and cabinet space), but I was very unhappy with the internet services. They provide a free connection with limited bandwidth and offer to sell you a higher-speed connection, but BEWARE. The higher speed connection must be purchased separately for each device. This is a ripoff.

Room Tip: Beware the upgraded internet options--it must be purchased separately for each device.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jeremy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vernon Hills
1.3 mi away
Extended Stay America - Chicago - Vernon Hills - Lincolnshire
0.4 mi away
Hotel Indigo Chicago - Vernon Hills
2.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mundelein Libertyville Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Chicago Libertyville
6.1 mi away
Sleep Inn at Great Lakes
Sleep Inn at Great Lakes
#1 of 2 in Lake Bluff
118 reviews
2.1 mi away
Residence Inn Chicago Lake Forest/Mettawa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Chicago - Vernon Hills - Lake Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Chicago - Vernon Hills - Lake Forest

Address: 215 N Milwaukee Ave, Vernon Hills, IL 60061-4304
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Vernon Hills
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Vernon Hills
Price Range: £51 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Chicago - Vernon Hills - Lake Forest 2.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Extended Stay, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Extended Stay America - Chicago - Vernon Hills - Lake Forest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay Vernon Hills
Vernon Hills Extended Stay
Extended Stay America - Chicago - Vernon Hills - Lake Forest Lake County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing