We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy burgers, with a twist!”
Review of Tom & Eddie's

Tom & Eddie's
Ranked #15 of 122 Restaurants in Vernon Hills
Price range: US$7 - US$11
Cuisines: American, Fast food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Outdoor Seating
Description: Tom & Eddie’s provides its customers with fresh, never frozen, 100 percent premium Angus gourmet burgers, personal customer service, catering service and a relaxed and happy dining experience.
West Malling, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Yummy burgers, with a twist!”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

I visited this restaurant with a friend last week, on her recommendation. She said if you wanted a good burger, this was the place to go as you could pretty much have what you wanted.
She was right!
Above the counter is a big menu which has all the toppings etc, and you can make up your own burger. They also have some favourites that you can order.
We both went for one of the favourites plus fries and a milkshake. It was very very good. The burger was good quality and big, so filled you up. One thing I liked was that they have a large array of sauces etc to take to your table, this is great, and something I have never seen in the UK. I quite liked being able to put ranch dressing on my salad and hot sauce on my burger!
Another good thing is that when you order they give you an electronic key thing that you slot into this thing on the table that registers where to take your order to. You can also use this thing to order anything further after your burgers - what a good idea!
My friend and I actually ended up chatting there pretty much all evening and we were not disturbed once by anyone asking us to leave which was nice. They left us alone till we choose to leave when the place was actually closing!
Would recommend this place, its good food for a very reasonable price ($30 for two) and you can sit by the window and just watch the world go by :-)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chazzer1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    18
    12
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Please wipe the ketchup bottles!”
Reviewed 23 April 2013

I wanted to start by saying the burger I had was good, so this isn't about the food quality. I did want to say that the ketchup bottles on the tables were gross. It is just normal cleaning to wipe those off (and you could tell they aren't wiped off that often) when you wipe down a table. I even took one from another table and it was equally gross. I won't say this is the best burger I have ever had, but it wasn't bad.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Toni F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Different kind of fast food”
Reviewed 31 December 2012

We came here because friends said it was a healthy fast food option. Menu choices are varied and you can create your own sandwich. Love the sweet potato fries. On the day we went, it seemed like there was only 1 person cleaning the dining room. Tables were not cleared or clean, food was on the floor under tables, and we could not find a decent place to seat our large party. Service and cleanliness could be improved. Before going for the first time, go online to study the menu. There is usually a wait to place your order because people are trying to figure out the menu and decide what to order. Not a bad place for lunch, but there are so many other favorite places.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank travelnews4U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not bad”
Reviewed 30 December 2012

We went to Tom and Eddie's last night after a movie. Ordered right away even though it was Saturday at 7:30. We all got burgers. The food came within 10 minutes after we ordered. We thought they were very good burgers. A little pricy but will go back again for sure.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mbjean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“"Greasy but good food"”
Reviewed 15 August 2012 via mobile

After dance we came here for dinner. All the kids ordered burgers and they were very greasy but still yummy. The portion was small and overpriced. I have seen better burgers. The milkshakes were good. It took about 20 mins for our food. It's only average.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ivyawesome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tom & Eddie's also viewed

Vernon Hills, Lake County
 
Vernon Hills, Lake County
Lincolnshire, Lake County
 
Lincolnshire, Lake County
Lincolnshire, Lake County
 

Been to Tom & Eddie's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing