We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Its ok”

Barnelli's Pasta Bowl
Ranked #32 of 123 Restaurants in Vernon Hills
Cuisines: Fast food, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Suffolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Its ok”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The food is decent but nothing spectacular. It is more like a fast food restaurant with a sit down menu. I had ribs this time and they were fairly good but the sauce was nothing I would want to try again. The wait was a bit longer than I would have liked but only because I had to stand around and wait on it. If they had people bring the longer orders to your table it would have been better. The rest of my family had almost finished their food by the time I started.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pamela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    7
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cottage Grove, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great salads”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The salads were wonderful and a reasonable size and price, not to big that you can't eat it all. We went back the next day for lunch but the lines inside and at the drive-thru were too long.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Diane Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlinville
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Chopped Salad is to die for”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

You can't be from the suburbs without making the trip out to Portillos/Barnellis at least a few times a year. Everything is delicious. I'm away at college but whenever I'm home I meet friends here. This what we all crave when we are away at school! My favorite from the Barnellis side is the chopped salad. It's always fresh and always delicious.

I just wish they had posted nutritional information somewhere on the internet. That would be amazing.

Helpful?
Thank shelllee925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville Ca
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice place for a quick bite”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Vodka pasta was very good. Son had rack of ribs. They were ok. Have had much better. Good for family has in same space as portillos hot dogs. Good for a try. Would not eat there again tho.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank traveller2107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
152 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good place for a quick stop”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

No matter how crowded this place might appear, they know how to move people. Food is good and consistent. You can order from either of two lines: burgers, dogs, Italian beef, fries, etc or pasta, pizza, salad, wraps. After you place your order, you wait for them to call your number then find a table to eat. While the food is good to excellent, I don't like the seating area or the queue to get my food. In the old, old days, they brought your food to the table. I guess this is a way to save, but I don't like standing in a group waiting for my food. That said, their menu is diverse enough to satisfy a lot of different tastes. The whole family will be happy and you won't break the bank.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank P K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Barnelli's Pasta Bowl also viewed

Vernon Hills, Lake County
Vernon Hills, Lake County
 
Vernon Hills, Lake County
Vernon Hills, Lake County
 

Been to Barnelli's Pasta Bowl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing