We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad/Not great”
Review of Olive Garden

Olive Garden
Ranked #26 of 122 Restaurants in Vernon Hills
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Reservations
Kentwood
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not bad/Not great”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I am not a fan of Olive Gardens, but I didn't get to choose the eating arrangements. Service was good and the food was alright - nothing that makes me go wow ( I am very picky on my Italian food )

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    22
    12
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo Grove
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“reliable restaurant”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

The staff is friendly and accommodating. The food is tasty and filling. It's nothing exotic but a good, reliable restaurant.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank hungrytoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oz
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
“oh my god the garlic”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

They put way way too much garlic in everything. I do not like garlic so I don't order foods that have garlic in them . I ordered the soup and salad and you guessed it garlic in the soup yuck. The smell of garlic in the place will give you a headache in 10 minutes. Nope won't be back.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank wickedwitch2564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A quick meal, not my first choice, but filling.”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

While visiting my Navy Boot Camp Grad we decided to eat close to the hotel. After flipping through the hotel book we saw Olive Garden, and since we were all hungry the vote was unanimous. The room we were put in had a light odor, but we were able to ignore that. Service was a tad slow considering we were between lunch and dinner, and the place was empty. The unlimited salad arrived without dressing the first time, and the bread was OK. Took a bit to get a refill of both, and I sensed a bit of attitude when I asked if the salad came with dressing. He said "it had no dressing?". Judging by the dry bowl I guess he got the message. Good thing we ordered appetizers, because it took 45 minutes for the food to arrive, and we did eat a good amount of salad. My recommendation would be to pass the next time around and take the drive to Bob Chin's Crab House in Mt. Prospect.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BobbyIceCubes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Nice Restaurant”
Reviewed 4 July 2013

I like this restaurant chain, my friends arranged my farewell party here at the Vernon Hill branch, I visited twice more. I enjoy both the ambience and food. The service is also good.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ahirjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Olive Garden also viewed

Vernon Hills, Lake County
Vernon Hills, Lake County
 
Vernon Hills, Lake County
Vernon Hills, Lake County
 
Vernon Hills, Lake County
Vernon Hills, Lake County
 

Been to Olive Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing