We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“aptly named” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tasty Thai Restaurant

Tasty Thai Restaurant
Ranked #66 of 123 Restaurants in Vernon Hills
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
890 reviews
635 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
“aptly named”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

We have been coming to Tasty Thai for years............usually for the buffet ($9.95, MON-FRI 11 - 2; SAT-SUN, 11:30 - 2:30). You can usually find soup, salad, appetizers,5 veggie dishes, 5 meat dishes, and small dishes of jello or rice pudding on the buffet. This restaurant is in the busy Highway 60/Milwaukee Avenue shopping corridor. After a morning of heavy-duty shopping, when lunch-time hunger strikes, it's nice to know that delicious, reasonably-priced food is minutes away. And the $2 iced Thai coffee preps you for an afternoon of, yes, more shopping.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank illinois travelere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    8
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food, great price, awesome service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013 via mobile

Let me first say when you drive up to the place it's not very reassuring because its in a dingy strip mall but the food and sevice outward any bad! I really loved the atmosphere I side and the food was perfect the waiter was polite and attentive, which is more than I can say for most waiters in Chicago. And the food was stellar! My husband got the peanut chicken with crab cream cheese that was great and I got the hot thia noodles that was perfect. GO! ;)

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Veronicambetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vernon Hills, Illinois
Level Contributor
264 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Great Thai in suburbs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

Love the cashew chicken, pad Thai and iced coffee. Great food, freshly cooked. They have local delivery which is a nice option and food always arrives hot

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank pmazcomm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Forest, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very tasty food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

Very tasty food..................................................................................................................

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank J J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good restaurant tucked into shopping plaza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

Some of the best Tom Ka soup I've ever had.
Above average pad thai.
reasonably priced thai iced tea ($2/glass instead of the $4 I've seen other places charge for it)

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tasty Thai Restaurant also viewed

Vernon Hills, Lake County
Vernon Hills, Lake County
 
Vernon Hills, Lake County
Vernon Hills, Lake County
 
Vernon Hills, Lake County
Vernon Hills, Lake County
 

Been to Tasty Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing