We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“horrible cancellation policy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Chicago - Vernon Hills
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Vernon Hills
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Horrible, horrible, reservation policy. NO REFUNDS FOR CANCELLATION. Horrible cancellation policy, Do not book your visit with this hotel. Read the fine print. Customer service is horrible. Death in family, sickness, cancelled flight, does not matter, you will not receive a refund. Deeply discounted rates do not receive refunds, check before you book, almost all their rates are 'deeply discounted'. Book at your own risk.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Shane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIndigoVH, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Chicago - Vernon Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Thank you for your feedback. All rates that we offer have a cancellation policy attached when purchasing to inform you at time of booking what the policy is. On the internet we ask twice to make sure you understand what the policy is and when booking directly we explain the policy to the customer. If you are looking to have the flexability to cancel reservations in the future you may book the Best Flex rate then you can cancel your reservation up to 6 pm on day of arrival.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (200)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

103 - 109 of 200 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2014

My room is a strange wasted space interior - apparently there used to be furniture here. I have no furniture surfaces to use or eat upon.. yet there is a huge area where apparently a studio hotel suite used to be. Blech!

-By Frequent Travel all Over the World

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grantdoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Chicago - Vernon Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Dear grantdoug,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay with us. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the room accommodations. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

The staff at this hotel were all so friendly and helpful from check-in thru check-out for our one week stay in January. Rosy, Joseph, and Justin were the names I remember as well as several I didn't catch, that made our stay comfortable...out of our room. As for the rooms with their contemporary decor, the biggest challenge of the room was the sink we called "A Bird Bath", literally for the birds. With it's three inch depth as well as poor drainage because of design it was almost impossible to rinse my washcloth or fill my water bottle as they couldn't fit under the faucet. Layout of the room was comfortable for one, as the sink with it's lighting is directly in front of the bed so the bright light and sound prevent the other from sleeping. The living room area was spacious but once again the two foot transparent partition divider next to the bed is not conducive to sleeping while the other is working or watching the TV mounted half-way between the bed and the living room. Winter temps outside made for a puddle of condensation on the floor from the metal window frame, probably a window design for a warmer climate. We left a bath towel on the floor so we were not stepping out of bed into the puddle, the floor was Pergo so it was easily cleaned up. All in all the design of the room was poor, staffing excellent, and over priced for a room made for one at $160 per night.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MMSANDFCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Chicago - Vernon Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Dear MMSANDFCS,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. I am delighted to note that you were pleased with our service level and I appreciate the special mention you have made to some members of our team.

I sincerely apologize for you did not find our rooms to your liking. Nevertheless, it is greatly appreciated when our visitors are satisfied with the level of service provided, so much so, that they share this experience with us and other reviewers.

Guest comfort is of the utmost concern to us and our hotels are committed to making every possible effort to provide a comfortable environment. Your review will be used to consider improvements where possible. We all hope that you will give us another chance in the future.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We had the best time at the Hotel Indigo for a December wedding. The lobby was wonderful and the bar was very nice for an evening nightcap. We had a great room with a lot of space, the living and bedroom areas were lovely. We were so relaxed and it was a delicious breakfast the following morning. We were there for a lovely wedding not far from the hotel so it was very convienent! Would love to stay there again if we need to be in that area.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigo450, Manager at Hotel Indigo Chicago - Vernon Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2015

Sue,

Thank you for your review of your stay with us for the wedding you attended. Glad to see you and the group enjoyed our full bar and the great breakfast in the morning. Hope to see you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

First stay at any Indigo property so I was very impressed with the layout and decor.
The location is convenient for anyone that has business in the northern suburbs or for those that want to have a nice Chicago stay without paying the hotel and parking prices to stay downtown!
The staff is fantastic especially Jennifer in the sales department that worked with me on multiple occassions to help setup our team gathering.
They also have a shuttle service that will take you and your group anywhere within a 5 mile radius of the property.
I won't hesitate to book here again for my next trip to the north side.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wildcat1897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We recently spent 2 days for a hockey tournament and could not be happier with how we were treated by the staff and the condition of the hotel. Many times, sports teams are treated as annoying by the staff (which often times is warranted unfortunately) but the staff here were pleasant and appreciative of our group. The rooms were clean with all the room we needed for small gatherings of kids and parents. The pool was perfect for a group our size...no complaints. There is a decent mall very close and loads of food options for those needing to entertain a group of young sports teams. Nice job. We'll definitely book here again if we are fortunate enough to play another tournament.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WWCDTwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIndigoVH, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Chicago - Vernon Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to your teams return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

My son and I stayed here last Saturday night after seeing at play at Marriott Lincolnshire (this hotel is just 10 minutes north on Milwaukee). Very pleased with the spacious room (#208)--"wood" floors that are logically laminate take the place of the usually grimy hotel carpet. Loved that. Huge couch to stretch out on--there is a TV straddling the door between sleeping and sitting area; it is on a big articulating arm so it's fairly easy to turn for viewing in either room. We also had a very large table with six chairs in our sitting area--would have been good to play cards if we had been out with the entire family. I don't usually use coffeemakers due to concern of cleanliness but theirs was spotless and the room coffee was good. I did not hear any noise from room overhead. Pool area is a little smaller than it looks online but still bigger than the average hotel pool. There is no hot tub. There are several restaurants nearby; On the Border Mexican is nearly walking distance and we had a great meal there. Overall very good value, clean with lots of space--we will choose this hotel for any future trips to the area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mom2MED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vernon Hills
2.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lake Forest Mettawa
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Vernon Hills
1.7 mi away
Extended Stay America - Chicago - Vernon Hills - Lincolnshire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Lincolnshire
6.1 mi away
The Westin Chicago North Shore
4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chicago Lincolnshire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Chicago - Vernon Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Chicago - Vernon Hills

Address: 450 N Milwaukee Ave, Vernon Hills, IL 60061-1537
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Vernon Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Vernon Hills
Price Range: £64 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Chicago - Vernon Hills 3.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to local attractions and businesses, the Hotel Indigo® Chicago Vernon Hills hotel is perfect for any trip, business or pleasure. To put it plainly, our rooms are “huge,” each with its own sitting area, and our staff is passionate about providing each and every guest with personalized service. The nearby Cuneo Mansion and Gardens serve as inspiration for our hotel’s artwork, and the whole space evokes an upscale feel, with a front desk that occupies a two-story lobby: expansive, but not at all unwelcoming. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Indigo Chicago - Vernon Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Vernon Hills
Amerisuites Vernon Hills
Hotel Indigo Chicago - Vernon Hills Lake County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing