We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“IHG top level Hotel? I do not think so.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Chicago - Vernon Hills
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Vernon Hills
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“IHG top level Hotel? I do not think so.”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We recently stayed at this hotel as part of a point break special. As IGH members that gives us an opportunity to try hotels in the chain we have not tried before and save money as well by using our points .

We were visiting the Chicago area for a few days and chose this hotel. Intercontinental Hotels Group ( IHG ) promotes the Indigo Brand as one of their more upper scale hotels in the brand.

That was not our experience.

This particular location was clearly VERY old and in need of updating. The rooms did have a refrigerator but no microwaves. Our room had a refrigerator that was not working well and looked like something from the 1970's. There is also only one small TV despite it being a 2 room suite. They have only showers , no bathtubs so if traveling with small children who hate showers , keep that in mind. The wood flooring over carpet option was nice but the flooring was cheap and tacky and peeling up.

There is no breakfast included , but there is a coffee maker in the room. The other negative for us was the 2 double beds, not queen sized. The beds were quite small but comfortable.

The pool area at this hotel is older but the pool is warm and the area is clean. There is no hot tub.

Overall this hotel just needs some updating and I think a few more amenities. I got the impression they were designed more to serve business travelers than families.

Positives were:
Friendly helpful staff
Location was ideal
Guest Laundry is old but at least they have it
Rooms and hotel was clean and smoke free


Overall we were able to get a good value because we used our hotel rewards points , but had we been paying the regular rate , I would have been VERY disappointed and even with the option to use rewards points again, I think for our family in the future we would choose another property.

Room Tip: Choose a room on one of the top floors, and if you want a microwave either bring your own or ask the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WisfamilyTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIndigoVH, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Chicago - Vernon Hills, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I am happy that you found the staff helpful during your stay. The Hotel Indigo brand is IHG's boutique branded hotel. We understand that our offerings and design is different than a typical hotel and may not fit everyone's needs. The great part about IHG is that we have many brands that you can choose from that would fit your families needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    60
    25
    10
    12
See reviews for
47
26
8
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wolflake, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We were in the area for a basketball tournament. We had several teams come from the Fort Wayne, Indiana area and stayed here for the convenience of where we played. The hotel was absolutely beautiful and we had an awesome 3 day stay. The staff was friendly and we had no problems at all. Unfortunately we did not have much time to enjoy the hotel rooms but the time that was spent was very comfortable. It was also a very nice area for me and my friend to walk a few miles.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TwylaM14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIndigoVH, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Chicago - Vernon Hills, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
We are glad that we fit your needs for your basketball tournament and that the staff was accommodating. Delighted you had an Awesome stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
105 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

My family and I stayed at the Hotel Indigo Vernon Hills over the 4th of July weekend. We found the hotel to be a good value, staff was very friendly and accommodating. The interior design of the rooms leaves a bit to be desired the bathroom sink is awful, the spigot is too close to the basin so you cant get your hands comfortably under it. The wall paper is a photo of yellow yarn?? I would suggest putting the design aside and stay at the Indigo if the price is right. We paid $104 p/n for three nights with a AAA discount, really can not ask for more.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emannh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigo450, Manager at Hotel Indigo Chicago - Vernon Hills, responded to this review, 29 December 2015
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We did replace the sinks in July and hope to have you back to experience our new product. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
86 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed here for 1 night for concert in Waukegan. Booked 2 rooms; double and king. When arriving the front desk assured us that the rooms were ready. Once the room issue was resolved everything was fine. The property was very nice and beds were very comfortable. If in the area again we will surely stay here.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chill993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigo450, Manager at Hotel Indigo Chicago - Vernon Hills, responded to this review, 29 December 2015
Chill993,

Thank for your kind words regarding your stay for the concert. Hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgewater NJ USA
Level Contributor
702 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Stayed here for a family wedding and we were very pleased with our stay. Check in was easy and the front desk staff was very friendly throughout our stay and helped with things to do, shopping, etc. Our room was lovely. Two very comfy beds, a corner chaise lounge that converts to a bed with an ottoman, a desk, roomy dresser, wall mounted TV with a ledge table below for odds and ends. Hardwood floors except for an area rug in the "living area." Has a high end look and feel. There was a pool but we never got there and there is a bar / restaurant off the lobby open for breakfast and for dinner and later. Right near lots of shopping and restaurants as we learned when my husband forgot a dress shirt for the wedding and we had to go out shopping! Some things to consider: Sink is pretty but very shallow, so if you want to wash something out or fill the sink when shaving, this could be a problem. Sink and dressing area are opposite the bed so you are out in the open when at the sink, so if you like privacy or are traveling with a few friends, keep that in mind. The bathroom has NO tub and has a half curtain ; half glass enclosure. The faucet is behind the non-movable glass part so you have to reach all the way in turn on and off. Hint: turn knob to the right a good turn and the water should be about right..otherwise you have to reach in when the water is running. Kudos for having 3 towel hooks in the bathroom so that your towels and mats can dry. There is also another hook on the back of the door. There were lots of hangers which is good when you are traveling for business or a fancy event, so that your suits and dresses have a place to hang. The room also had a refrigerator in the closet. All in all,it was a really nice stay. Don't forget to take some of the orange flavored water at the front desk. Ice cold and refreshing with a hint of citrus. Would highly recommend to the social or business traveler. Just be careful with your GPS...the entrance is on Executive Way and the GPS wants to take you a little past it, but enter at the first entrance to the corporate complex and then take two lefts. Also, plenty of outlets for charging various electronic devices.

Room Tip: Some second floor rooms are right over the bar so if there is a big party of guests, you might want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank giftedelaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigo450, Manager at Hotel Indigo Chicago - Vernon Hills, responded to this review, 29 December 2015
Giftedelaine,

Thank you for your glowing review of your stay with us. We have changed out the sinks to a deeper sink that is much easier for day to day usage. Hope to see you back again soon to experience the new and improved Hotel Indigo Vernon Hills.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Excellent room size...loved the fact I had an ottoman to kick my feet up and relax!
Great location with plenty of restaurants nearby. Upscale looking without the upscale pricing. Definitely will stay here again for business or personal!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timm R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIndigoVH, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Chicago - Vernon Hills, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Delighted that you were able to take advantage and kick back in your studio suite. Thank you for mentioning our great location! Hope you had a chance to try Lou Malnati's Chicago-style deep dish pizza while you were here. If not you will have to try it on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royston, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Megan, the event coordinator, found us by looking at upcoming events, started a dialogue and offered us an extremely competitive rate including breakfast for our group.

We arrived at 10:00 AM in the morning (much earlier than expected). We were greeted and informed that our rooms were ready and they handed us our keys with a welcome packet. We encountered an extremely courteous and efficient staff from top to bottom. The accommodations were spacious and extremely comfortable.

I would highly recommend Hotel Indigo and if I am visiting Vernon Hills in the future, there will be only one choice. Many thanks to Megan, the front desk staff and the breakfast servers. Could not have had a better experience!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIndigoVH, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Chicago - Vernon Hills, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
We are glad that you and your team had such a great experience at the Hotel Indigo Vernon Hills. Appreciate all your great comments on the staff and will pass along to Megan how much you appreciated her assistance. Thank you for your recommendation of our hotel and we look forward to you and your teams return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vernon Hills
2.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lake Forest Mettawa
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Vernon Hills
3.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Lincolnshire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Extended Stay America - Chicago - Vernon Hills - Lincolnshire
2.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Libertyville - Mundelein
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chicago Lincolnshire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Chicago - Vernon Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Chicago - Vernon Hills

Property: Hotel Indigo Chicago - Vernon Hills
Address: 450 N Milwaukee Ave, Vernon Hills, IL 60061-1537
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Vernon Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Vernon Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Chicago - Vernon Hills 3.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to local attractions and businesses, the Hotel Indigo® Chicago Vernon Hills hotel is perfect for any trip, business or pleasure. To put it plainly, our rooms are “huge,” each with its own sitting area, and our staff is passionate about providing each and every guest with personalized service. The nearby Cuneo Mansion and Gardens serve as inspiration for our hotel’s artwork, and the whole space evokes an upscale feel, with a front desk that occupies a two-story lobby: expansive, but not at all unwelcoming. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Indigo Chicago - Vernon Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Vernon Hills
Amerisuites Vernon Hills
Hotel Indigo Chicago - Vernon Hills Lake County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing