We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Chicago - Vernon Hills
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Vernon Hills
Woodland Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Business Trip”
Reviewed 30 August 2014

I was booked here as part of 2 day training session. The first impression was of a small lobby with attached bar and a few tables . Despite the underwhelming first impression, the rooms were very clean with modern appointments , the amenities were above average (Aveda). I was able to work online with no difficulties, the desk staff very helpful with shuttle arrangements etc.

The bar had a broad assortment of local craft beers ( no draft). The fare is "pub like", well prepared,not a long wait and presented well. Breakfast was acceptable and served quickly so I was not at all inconvenienced to catch shuttles to the training sessions .

Overall one of the nicer hotels I have stayed on business trips. The restaurants nearby are mostly chains (those in walking distance),but shuttle was offered.

A negative point is you are 45 minutes from O'Hare and downtown Chicago.

I can recommend this hotel with no qualifiers.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIndigoVH, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Chicago - Vernon Hills, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Glad you enjoyed your stay with us while you were in town for business and that you liked the Aveda bath amenities!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    60
    25
    10
    12
See reviews for
47
26
8
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights to attend a wedding. The front desk associate, Agnes, and the bartender, Joseph, were two bright spots in our stay. They handled many "issues" with grace and were calm in doing so...if in their position, I may not have been. The hotel and its staff was very accommodating to the wedding group and this was appreciated.

Also, besides my excellent dealings with the staff, I enjoyed the hotel itself and our room.

The bed was very comfortable, including the sheets. The towels were plentiful (although a bit stiff) and the front desk supplied me with the toothpaste I had forgotten.

The bar area was a great place to spend time and the food was quite tasty - get the chocolate cake! My only complaint regarding the food is the lack of free coffee. I understand not having a continental breakfast, but coffee would be a nice touch.

I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amber P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIndigoVH, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Chicago - Vernon Hills, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thank you for the great comments about our staff. So glad you enjoyed your room and we look forward to you staying with us again when you are in our area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
columbus, ohio
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed here for a soccer tournament. The rate included breakfast, which we expected would be served in their lobby/restaurant (read in between the lines here - there really isn't much of a restaurant). Our breakfast was served in a meeting room on warming trays. It was cold and not edible. The orange juice was watered down. If you wanted coffee, you had to drink it out of small styrofoam cups.

The bar was adequate, but too expensive for this type of hotel. I won't complain too much about the price but a lot of people brought coolers down to the lobby and drank what they brought. Had I known this was acceptable, I would have probably done the same. (Hint - BYOB)

Now for the good part, the rooms were small, and yet, were well organized. Two full size beds and a sofa bed. No bathtub, just a shower. Amenities were good - Aveda products in the bathroom. Very small sink and closet. But everything was functional and worked the way one would expect. They offer free wireless but I found out that the only way to ensure it worked was to call the front desk and get the tech support number. Once you reached a technician, they take your IP address and hardcode it into their server. Voila - problem solved.

The beds were very comfortable and had some of the best pillows I have had at a hotel in a long time. There were plenty of them too!

Service staff and housekeeping were more than accommodating. No complaints here.

If you like shopping, there is plenty of it around (w/i a 20 mile radius). I liked the Gurnee Mills outlets which were relatively close. There are lots of good restaurants along Milwaukee Avenue if you look on one of your apps. They aren't easily noticed from the road.

Room Tip: Go for a room that is lower because the elevators take time. Also, I think the laundry is on Floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank critc17265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIndigoVH, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Chicago - Vernon Hills, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Glad you like our pillows and received good service from the staff. With the groups size of over 120 guests the lobby restaurant is to small to accommodate the group so it is served in the meeting space so we can set up banquet table to have more seating.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We recently stayed at this hotel as part of a point break special. As IGH members that gives us an opportunity to try hotels in the chain we have not tried before and save money as well by using our points .

We were visiting the Chicago area for a few days and chose this hotel. Intercontinental Hotels Group ( IHG ) promotes the Indigo Brand as one of their more upper scale hotels in the brand.

That was not our experience.

This particular location was clearly VERY old and in need of updating. The rooms did have a refrigerator but no microwaves. Our room had a refrigerator that was not working well and looked like something from the 1970's. There is also only one small TV despite it being a 2 room suite. They have only showers , no bathtubs so if traveling with small children who hate showers , keep that in mind. The wood flooring over carpet option was nice but the flooring was cheap and tacky and peeling up.

There is no breakfast included , but there is a coffee maker in the room. The other negative for us was the 2 double beds, not queen sized. The beds were quite small but comfortable.

The pool area at this hotel is older but the pool is warm and the area is clean. There is no hot tub.

Overall this hotel just needs some updating and I think a few more amenities. I got the impression they were designed more to serve business travelers than families.

Positives were:
Friendly helpful staff
Location was ideal
Guest Laundry is old but at least they have it
Rooms and hotel was clean and smoke free


Overall we were able to get a good value because we used our hotel rewards points , but had we been paying the regular rate , I would have been VERY disappointed and even with the option to use rewards points again, I think for our family in the future we would choose another property.

Room Tip: Choose a room on one of the top floors, and if you want a microwave either bring your own or ask the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WisfamilyTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIndigoVH, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Chicago - Vernon Hills, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I am happy that you found the staff helpful during your stay. The Hotel Indigo brand is IHG's boutique branded hotel. We understand that our offerings and design is different than a typical hotel and may not fit everyone's needs. The great part about IHG is that we have many brands that you can choose from that would fit your families needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolflake, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We were in the area for a basketball tournament. We had several teams come from the Fort Wayne, Indiana area and stayed here for the convenience of where we played. The hotel was absolutely beautiful and we had an awesome 3 day stay. The staff was friendly and we had no problems at all. Unfortunately we did not have much time to enjoy the hotel rooms but the time that was spent was very comfortable. It was also a very nice area for me and my friend to walk a few miles.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TwylaM14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIndigoVH, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Chicago - Vernon Hills, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
We are glad that we fit your needs for your basketball tournament and that the staff was accommodating. Delighted you had an Awesome stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
105 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

My family and I stayed at the Hotel Indigo Vernon Hills over the 4th of July weekend. We found the hotel to be a good value, staff was very friendly and accommodating. The interior design of the rooms leaves a bit to be desired the bathroom sink is awful, the spigot is too close to the basin so you cant get your hands comfortably under it. The wall paper is a photo of yellow yarn?? I would suggest putting the design aside and stay at the Indigo if the price is right. We paid $104 p/n for three nights with a AAA discount, really can not ask for more.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emannh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigo450, Manager at Hotel Indigo Chicago - Vernon Hills, responded to this review, 29 December 2015
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We did replace the sinks in July and hope to have you back to experience our new product. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
86 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed here for 1 night for concert in Waukegan. Booked 2 rooms; double and king. When arriving the front desk assured us that the rooms were ready. Once the room issue was resolved everything was fine. The property was very nice and beds were very comfortable. If in the area again we will surely stay here.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chill993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigo450, Manager at Hotel Indigo Chicago - Vernon Hills, responded to this review, 29 December 2015
Chill993,

Thank for your kind words regarding your stay for the concert. Hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vernon Hills
2.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lake Forest Mettawa
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Vernon Hills
3.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Lincolnshire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Extended Stay America - Chicago - Vernon Hills - Lincolnshire
2.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Libertyville - Mundelein
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chicago Lincolnshire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Chicago - Vernon Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Chicago - Vernon Hills

Property: Hotel Indigo Chicago - Vernon Hills
Address: 450 N Milwaukee Ave, Vernon Hills, IL 60061-1537
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Vernon Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Vernon Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Chicago - Vernon Hills 3.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to local attractions and businesses, the Hotel Indigo® Chicago Vernon Hills hotel is perfect for any trip, business or pleasure. To put it plainly, our rooms are “huge,” each with its own sitting area, and our staff is passionate about providing each and every guest with personalized service. The nearby Cuneo Mansion and Gardens serve as inspiration for our hotel’s artwork, and the whole space evokes an upscale feel, with a front desk that occupies a two-story lobby: expansive, but not at all unwelcoming. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Indigo Chicago - Vernon Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Vernon Hills
Amerisuites Vernon Hills
Hotel Indigo Chicago - Vernon Hills Lake County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing