We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Candlewood Suites Chicago/Naperville
Nearby Hotels
US$114
Residence Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Garden Inn Naperville/Warrenville(Warrenville)(Great Value!)
US$143
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$129
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$121
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$117
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$121
SpringHill Suites
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Arista(Naperville)
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sleep Inn Naperville(Naperville)(Great Value!)
US$80
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$72
SleepInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Red Roof PLUS+ Chicago Naperville(Naperville)(Great Value!)
US$80
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$65
Red Roof
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
ExtendedStay
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (77)
Filter reviews
77 results
Traveller rating
26
27
12
4
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
26
27
12
4
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree laundryroom was cleandefinitely stay here againper nightchicago areakitchenettepantryamenitiescleanlinessgpsnaperville
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 77 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2013

I stayed here for three weeks for work. It was quiet, reasonable priced, and comfortable. The rooms look recently renovated, and everything worked well. They provide laundry baskets in the room, and it is free to do laundry, which is a nice touch. The is no restaurant, but there is a small pantry where they sell drinks and a small selection of frozen foods. They clean the room once a week, which I prefer when I am staying for a while. Rooms was clean. Bed was comfy. I am coming back for business next month, and I will stay here again.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Tried this for two nights and the smells in the halls from everyone's cooking just are overwhelming. And, it's noisy in the rooms. You hear every footstep and every footstep. The rooms are comfortable and very clean--and if the noise and odors bdon't bother you, you'd be OK.

Room Tip: Top floor!!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ToughOlBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Chicago/Naperville, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Dear ToughOlBird,

We certainly appreciate you taking the time to convey your thoughts regarding your stay with us.

Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience caused by the smell in the hallways and the noise challenges you have encountered.

Your feedback is not only essential but is also a helpful tool to measure the level of service we extend to our guests and at the same time provides us with an opportunity to improve our standards. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed three days during the Memorial Day weekend while visiting family in the area. As others have mentioned the hotel is in a relatively quiet location. If you are a runner or walker Herrick Lake Forest Preserve (1/4 mile away) and the Illinois Prairie Path (about 1 mile away) offer opportunities for a workout without battling vehicle traffic.
Hotel staff was very friendly.
The rooms were remodeled in 2010 and offered an excellent layout for your suitcases and computer equipment. Internet service was OK but one day I had to get a router from the front desk which helped immensly with the connectivity.
The water pressure in the shower and sinks was the highest I have ever experienced at a hotel. Be prepared for a "fire hose" shock in the shower! The drains handled the flow OK.
Air conditioning the room was confusing - never figured out whether the controls were at the wall unit or at the wall thermostat. The unit was noisy as well as the rerigerator which did effect our sleep. However, one big plus was that all windows open completely allowing fresh air into the room. This is unusual in most hotels which usually only allow an opening of a few inches.
The business center has only one PC which is not adequate for a property of this size.
Unloading/loading your vehicle is inconvenient; there is no dedicated drive or canopy at the front door.
The guest laundry had 5 washers and dryers; the washers had many options and best of all, a digital timer which showed how much time was left to complete your wash.
There is a variety of excellent restaurants less than a five minute drive away on Freedom Drive - White Chocolate Grill, Maggionio's and Morton's Steakhouse.
Prices for food incidentals such as milk and cereal were surprising competitive at their "Pantry" with the nearby Walgeen Drug Store (about 1/2 mile west of the hotel).

Room Tip: Stay away from any rooms near the front desk - the guest laundry and the hotel laundry are located nearby. Ask for a second or third floor room so you can feel safe leaving the windows open at night.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mikejack52pe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candlewood60555, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Chicago/Naperville, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2013

Dear Mikejack52,

Thank you for leaving a review on your stay. We appreciate all feedback on our guests stays and it is great to read you had a good time while staying at the property. We strive to continuously improve our guests stays and we will use your feedback to do so. We look forward to having you as a guest again in the near future.

Have a wonderful day,

Joe Gurke
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Stayed at this hotel a year ago in May 2012 but it seems things have changed or I'm getting older and just don't remember. Anyway hotel has 3 floors did request main floor but not possible and they stated hotel booked so 2nd floot is where we stayed. For one thing couldn't get the heat to really warm up the room, finally realized had to turn to 81 then heated up room and shut it off for night. Fridge did run constantly for the night and I had turned it down to 1 and still came on and off thru out night. Room above us must've had lead feet as heard person tromp all around room constantly and their heater and fridge run off and on thru night. I did find out later on that they only do housekeeping once a week so no fresh towels or bed making. I gather this is kinda of a weekly stay hotel. I don't think we will stay again.

Room Tip: I don't think we will stay again and if you do choose too stay pick 3rd floor.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lillian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candlewood60555, Manager at Candlewood Suites Chicago/Naperville, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2013

Dear Lillian M,

We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel and share your comments with other guests. I am sorry that you were not completely satisfied with your stay with us. We will make sure to share your feedback with other hotel employees so we can improve our service for future guests.


Nicole Ramos
Operation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Spent a week here on a business trip, the hotel has a few issues but for the most part I enjoyed my stay.

This is an older "L" shaped Candlewood that appears to have recently undergone the interior renovation that was created by the graduate students at Savannah College of Art and Design. I really like the layout and design of these particular hotels, much better then some of the newer Candlewoods actually. It's a very comfortable and functional design.

All of the items in the room that were renovated were still in great shape, it's the old items that were not replaced that were the problems. For example the fridge was rather loud, the garbage disposal did not work, the sinks didn't drain well, the AC/Heating/Thermostat unit was hard to get the room at a comfortable temperature, etc. All of these items were part of the original design and had not been replaced though.

Those were the primary negatives though, everything else was great. The hotel is in a safe, nice, suburban area. It was really quiet at the hotel, never heard a peep from another guest in the halls or rooms making noise.

Internet worked great and was fast, speed tests showed 15Mbps upload and download speeds, you don't typically get upload speeds that fast in most hotels, a handful of hotels I have stayed in have had higher download speeds but not many and none ever had the upload speeds of this one. Internet is important in a business hotel and these guys don't skimp on it so kudos to them.

Cleanliness was great, had no issues in that department. Bed as with all Candllewoods was a Sealy Posteurpedic, mattress tag showed it was only about 5 years old and was still comfortable and had plenty of padding.

There is an open field in back of the hotel and apparently a skunk has taken up residence there so a couple of nights I was at the hotel the skunk sprayed in the middle of the night and stunk up the entire hotel. Not a big deal though, I'll take skunk smells over noisy neighbors any day....lol.

All in all I enjoyed this hotel and will return from now on anytime I'm in the Chicago area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlCzervik1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candlewood60555, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Chicago/Naperville, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2013

Dear AlCzervik1,

We appreciate you taking the time to review the hotel. Thank you for the very kind review and we look forward to having you back soon! We are glad you like the renovated rooms as much as we do!

Have a wonderful week!

Joe Gurke
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews