We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique inn with fantastic service”
Review of Cornerstone Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cornerstone Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Washington B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Relaxing, comfortable, great rooms, great breakfast. The property is a fantastic example of how to repurpose a space. From top to bottom great attention to detail. We especially liked all the eye candy in the rooms and the gathering room where we enjoyed company of friends. Christine, our innkeeper, was fantastic. Look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank monika301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (24)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2013

We had a beautiful room (God's World). It was very spacious and I love how they used 1800 antique's together with "It's a small world theme" decorations. It was very clean with a wonderful jet bathtub. All of the themed rooms can be seen on their website so you can pick and choose whatever appeals to you. The "God" themes didn't bother me as the focus of the staff was completely on your comfort and were very very friendly (that Midwest friendly that I love).
There was an incredible antique store with 3 floors of antiques right across the street.
I love the history of this former bank and the fact that they put so much effort into refurbishing it. The roots run deep as the owners and many of the employees are life long residents of Washington. The price was reasonable and included a full breakfast. We will definitely come back if we can and I don't hesitate recommending it to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nancy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

My wife and I stayed here with a group of friends and really enjoyed the stay. The bar and restaurant served decent food and the hospitable staff was warm and welcoming. The transformation of an old bank is very successful and there is certainly a sense of history when you stay here. We really enjoyed the small town feel of Washington and the proliferation of local businesses.

The guest rooms are nicely decorated, but a little dated. Think Posh Midwest design of 1992 and you will get the idea. Faux painted/textured walls (really?), red wine colored paint and even tacky clouds in the ceiling of one of the rooms. The place needs the touch of someone who is not "Debbie decorator" from Peoria.

All 5 of us agreed that it was highly offensive that the rooms have bibilical "God" themes. "Noah's Ark", "God's Dream" etc. with biblical quotes littered throughout the place. Do they not realize that people of Hindu, Buddhist, Jewish, Muslim, Agnostic, Atheist etc. decent would stay here? We were mostly Christian, but it creeped us out.

We REALLY like the place, but must we see your New and Old Testament Christian based quotes when we are paying to stay at a B and B? Keep your politics and your religion to yourself and just be the wonderful innkeepers that you are.

AND please serve us food at the bar past 10 P.M.!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DavidLur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2011

We stayed in the "Heaven" suite - and it was just that. Beautifully decorated and comfortable. Breakfast was delicious and served by the owner herself. She even took time to talk to us about the history of the building and her hometown background. Lovely place - great owners. We'll be back again and again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MNGal2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2008

If you need lodging near Peoria, IL, or want to enjoy gracious accommodations in the Land of Lincoln, consider this B & B in the still quaint town of Washington. Tom and Judy Gross bought a decaying old bank building, built in the 1870's, and, in 2006, transformed it into a truly fine inn, restaurant, bakery, and pub overlooking the town square. My wife and I had an engagement in the area, which we had never visited, and our host made the reservations for us. What a wonderful surprise!

The rooms are large, with high ceilings, massive windows, and private whirlpool baths. The hosts are friendly and helpful to a fault, and Judy prepared a spectacular breakfast.

Holland's Mercantile, next door, reminded me of a 1950's candy store, with its wooden floors and countless containers of self-serve treats. Do have a chocolate malt!

A few short miles north of the inn, in Metamora, visit the court house where Abe Lincoln practiced law.

We are looking for an excuse to return.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ellsworth48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Cornerstone Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornerstone Inn

Address: 101 Washington Sq, Washington, IL 61571-2658
Region: United States > Illinois > Washington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Washington
Hotel Class:3 star — Cornerstone Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cornerstone Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing