We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“two families, beach holidays, kids, - this is the...”
OTHERS
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
OTHERS
OTHERS OTHERS
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
8 reviews
OTHERS
OTHERS
OTHERS
OTHERS
OTHERS
OTHERS
OTHERS
OTHERS
OTHERS
OTHERS
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Punta Uva, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Andreas J
Turrialba, Costa Rica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“two families, beach holidays, kids, - this is the place!”
Reviewed 26 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
2
people found this review helpful

For an extended weekend on the coast, we - two expat families with 3 children below 10 - have been looking to find something to stay. By now we have been going for several years to spent weekends in Puerto Viejo, so to some measures I would say, we know whats going on. It was our first time to take a deal with Realty Casasdelcaribe.com. Their offer - as we already approached the end of the season - was really nice.
This place is fantastically located, just few meters from the best supermarket in Costa Rica (;-) Duende), which supplies you with the delicious Croissants in the mornings, and all sorts of other things which we miss sometimes as expats. Its close to the Sea, though a little walk is necessary. It has a quiet deep swimming pool (! be careful if your kid cant swim!). The kitchen really well equipped (even with salt, sugar, spices, coffee). There are 2 rooms that share a bathroom in one house-block and another room in a cottage that is connected via the terrace, thus ideal for two families. The beach, though a km to walk can be accessed by the public access opposite of Shawandha Lodge, has good areas to swim, while most of the Playa Chiquita has coral reef reaching up to the beach making swimming difficult, but creating these sort of natural pools our children love so much. A real swimming beach you will get in Punta Uva, only few km further the road (public access via Selvin's Restaurant). Its among the best places we had so far in Puerto Viejo.
Our experience with the Realty Casasdelcaribe.com has been great, very friendly and professional and since there were no next user booked they offered us to stay until afternoon.

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Apr 2016
Thanks for choosing us Andreas and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camilla T
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best vacation ever, we will never forget it! Excellent!”
Reviewed 15 January 2016 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We spent 10 weeks in Casa Carpe Diem – with no doubt the best time in our lives. The house is just perfect. You live in the middle of the jungle surrounded by so many different sounds – monkeys, frogs, rain, thunder storms. Even though it can be quite loud some times, it really is an amazing experience unlike no other.

The house’s exotic setting, the nice outdoor spaces, together with its garden, swimming pool and the closeness to a great super market (2 min to walk) makes it a perfect vacation house.

We were also deeply impressed by the degree of service Casas del Caribe offered. If we had any trouble, they acted and helped us really quickly, very dedicated to solve the issue as fast as possible.

We can from the bottom of our hearts recommend this house to anyone who desires a wonderful time in middle of the jungle, but still having great comfort and high-speed wi-fi (!).

Thank you Casa Carpe Diem and Casas del Caribe for everything!

Camilla, Ricardo and Vida

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The service from Casas del Caribe
Liked least: The bed :)
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenieV
Castlegar, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic home, quiet neighbourhood, open living, perfect for us, jungle's alive!”
Reviewed 28 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
3
people found this review helpful

This was our first time as a family to the Caribbean. Our children are 7 and 13. The home was just as beautiful - if not more beautiful - than in the pictures. We had some reservations before going since this was a new experience for us, but booking, arriving and staying there turned out to be a really simple process. The tripadvisor description was a little confusing in that the separate building is another bedroom with a full bathroom with a queen bed, while the other two bedrooms are in the main building. One of those has a queen bed and the other has two single beds. Because our kids (13 and 7) were a bit nervous with all the crazy jungle sounds that came alive in the evening, they opted to sleep together in the twin bedroom whereas I think the preference for our 13 year-old would have been the detached room if not for the wild jungle-ness of it all. We definitely had a one or two night adjustment to the sounds and critters of the jungle. Once it got dark, the sounds were plenty! I am someone who loves silence (I know, I know, why the jungle then right?) so I slept with earplugs and honestly, sometimes it was still loud! The resident toads were a talkative bunch! That said, we thankfully had no howler monkeys nearby because if we did they would have drowned out the toads! We could hear them in the distance but they didn't bother us. Our kids, on the other hand, had no trouble sleeping or falling asleep to any of the sounds. Morning brought the cacophony of birds. Really unbelievable! This didn't bother me much since we slept with the rhythm of the jungle (going to bed early and waking up with the birds). If I could change one thing, and it's not exclusive to Carpe Diem, I would ask the creepy crawlies to find a different place to spend their evenings. There was always a small handful of various insects that would come out in the evenings. We'd sweep them out just before bed but invariably there would still be one or two that found their way in again. Aaah, outdoor living! Thankfully, the bedrooms were behind solid wood doors (which had deadbolts), as was the kitchen, and so anything that made its way in was small and fairly insignificant. My husband and I are both a bit bug-phobic so keep that in mind. Would that stop us from going again? Absolutely not. The place is fabulous. The pool was so perfect. There is an outdoor shower (not listed in the description I believe) for rinsing off sand from your flipflops when you've come back from the beach etc. The home is gated and fenced. We loved the neighbourhood! It was quiet, just like we wanted, but close enough to "town" (5km to Puerto Viejo) if we needed a change. The description says it's in Punta Uva, but it's in Playa Chiquita; Uva is another 2 km down the road. We rented bikes from Monkey Rentals right down the street and used our bikes to go everywhere. The market down the street (200 metres) had absolutely everything you would need, including pain au chocolat, French cheese and lovely bread! The owner is Swiss. The daily fruit and vegetable vendors would bring good produce on their trucks for purchasing at a fair price. One of the biggest advantages of this home for us was that the property management company was right down the street as well. Their staff were very good from the gardeners to the office people. They were always helpful and if we had any needs, we just emailed or rode our bikes down to communicate with them. The Playa Chiquita beach was super close too. Short bike ride down a beautiful path to the beach. Amazing! We spent time at 3 beaches (Chiquita, Uva, and Grande) and saw Playa Cocles. As a mother, my favourite was our beach (Chiquita). It had small reefs which broke the waves and created a safe, gentle swimming area for our 7 year-old who is not a great swimmer; and just to the left and right of that (mere metres) were bigger waves that my 13 year-old was happy to jump around in. I also think this beach had THE most perfect palm tree. I'll let you find it for yourself. There are some good restaurants in Chiquita as well, although we only went out once. The rest of the time we ate at home. Well, we did go out for ice cream to Alice's. It's also just down the street. There is really no reason to leave Playa Chiquita for any need. So, two thumbs up for the management company, the close proximity to things we needed, the local beach and of course, the home itself. One thumb up for the sights and sounds of the jungle. It was exciting and beautiful to be sure, but a bit loud for me but not for the rest of my family. And I won't give any thumbs up for the critters but thankfully their presence was minimal. The visiting frogs were really cute as well! Generally one or two a day. Our favourite goods/services were: Monkey Rentals for bikes; Celia's (for my daughter's braids) in Punta Cocles; Flor de Cafe in Cocles as well, right beside Celia's, for coffee (sourcing beans from small bean farmers in Costa Rica); Luna May clothing in Puerto Viejo for beautiful local clothing and accessories; Caribeans (air-conditioned!) chocolate tasting room (in Cocles) and Sel et Sucre in Puerto Viejo for to-die-for crepes (oh, right, we went out for crepes once too). There is so much to do in this area as well! You can stay on the beach exclusively or do any number of adventures. The whole culture of this place really gave our family the opportunity have the proverbial "get away from it all" experience and to spend valuable time together without the usual life distractions. I would love to go again. The beauty of the jungle and Caribbean is unsurpassed. I would definitely be recommending this to people. In fact, I think I've already convinced our flight attendant on the flight home that she needs to get there as soon as she has a chance! We've been home for 1 day and are already missing the warmth of the Caribbean sun and culture.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: quiet neighbourhood close to amenities, outdoor pool, outdoor living space, close to beautiful beach
Liked least: little critters
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaitlin42
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect vacation home!”
Reviewed 2 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I just stayed in Casa Carpe Diem with 3 friends and we enjoyed every day there! The location is wonderful. Walking distance to so many restaurants, cafes and a couple bars. Biking distance to Puerto Viejo, playa Cocles, and Punta Uva. The rooms are spacious and clean and the storage space is great for clothes and luggage. We really enjoyed just hanging out on the patio. We brought extra hammocks and set them up on the porch to lay around in. The pool was clean and refreshing. The showers didnt stay hot very long, but the outdoor shower was wonderful. This house really made our first trip to Costa Rica great!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mitchandk...
Dalton, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“We loved Casa Carpe Diem”
Reviewed 26 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
6
people found this review helpful

We just returned from 9 nights at the Carpe Diem house. At first we were a little apprehensive as all our family time would be spent in a house without walls... in the rainforest! We were worried that the heat and bugs would force us to hide in our bedrooms. But, our fears were put aside after our first night there!! We enjoyed the house immensely!! Since there is no TV or internet connection, our family played card games in the evening under the lights and ceiling fans of the outdoor living room and loved cooking in the open-air kitchen. The pool was beautiful and a big hit for our 5 and 8 year old sons. A short walk across the street to a public walkway to Playa Chiquita and Playa Uva were perfect - I have never seen such beautiful beaches!! Green Management went out of their way to take care of us and the their maids and pool boy were excellent. Stephanie made phone calls to arrange tours for us - we recommend the zip-line tour in Puerto Viejo - even our 5-year old went and loved it!! (he was assisted by the guide) The rooms have high ceilings and screened windows. My only complaint was the serious lack of privacy in the bathrooms and bedrooms - more curtains are needed as they feel like a fishbowl at night. Also, the single beds have real mattresses but the large beds are just a wood frame with a foam mattress on top...my hips and back were hurting a little by morning. We acquired a sleeping schedule that would coincide with the rainforest - to bed by 8 and up at 6, as the animals of the rainforest wake up early. We had 5 toucans squawking in a high tree in the yard, along with the howler monkeys, frogs, geckos! My 5-year old cried when we left the Carpe Diem... have been home a few days now and feeling homesick for Costa Rica... a true jungle experience!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: living without walls
Liked least: lacking privacy in house and uncomfortable mattress
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travellin...
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Nice rental with kitchen in quiet area”
Reviewed 11 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We really enjoyed our stay at Casa Samadhi. It was clean and well set-up. We liked that it was close to town in walking distance but felt totally far away with all the trees and monkeys overhead. The bed is king size and comfortable, the patio/balcony is very spacious and pleasant. It is certainly a good value especially if you use the kitchen like we did instead of going out for all our meals (there is a blender to make pina coladas, but it could really use a grill since there is no oven only a gas stove).
You should know that the water tank got very smelly (we visited in the wet season) and that ants moved their eggs inside to hide from a big rain storm.
We arrived quite late compared to our planning and after the key pick-up hours but were able to reach the property manager who arranged for us to get in the house.
There is 3G wifi, but you will need to leave an additional $100 deposit for the USB key and it is very slow (average for Costa Rica).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, quietness
Liked least: lack of grill, smelly grey water system
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Ramon, Costa Rica
Reviewed 8 July 2014 for a stay in April 2014
Google Translation

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing