We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best !!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Punta Uva
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Toucan Stay Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Punta Uva B&B and Inns
weatherford tx
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The best !!”
Reviewed 7 April 2011

This tropical B&B is a true GEM. It is really only steps away from one of the most beautiful and cleanest beaches in the area. The accomodations are so very comfortable and they are only made better by the genuine graciousness of the hosts/owners Jon & MaBell. They not only made sure our every desire was taken care of but also know of all the 'Must Do Things' that may not be covered in the travel guides. Our breakfasts, personally prepared by Jon & MaBell, were out of this world. I would not hesitate to stay here again, and so, recommend The Toucan Stay Inn without hesitation!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jansplans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    7
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
5
42
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hutchinson Island
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2011

We recently spent a week at the Toucan Stay Inn. As soon as you enter the property you step into a BEAUTIFUL, TROPICAL, lush, well maintained Garden of Eden. As though one takes all your problems and slips them out the back door. RELAXATION takes over and it is a wonderful thing. Jon and Mabel, (the owners) are the most fantastic people to spend a week with. They make you feel like family as soon as you arrive. In fact when we departed there were a few tears. Costa Rica is a beautiful place with so much to offer. This property however, is one of the GEMS. It is clean, quiet, gated, A/C, and many nights we just enjoyed sitting in the gorgeous back garden with a cool tropical drink, swinging in our hammocks. One day we went to the beautiful waterfalls and Jon and Mabel provided a cooler with lunch and drinks to enjoy while we were there. Also there is snorkeling at the beach which is in walking distance. Jon even found a local friend to take my husband out searching for lobster and they got some. So finding things to do isn't a problem and if you stay at the TOUCAN STAY INN COMFORT is NOT A PROBLEM either. We will be back and already are checking dates. Many thanks Jon and Mabel!

Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ThomHutchinsonIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morton, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 January 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Toucan Stay Inn for our honeymoon in December. We were coming off the rainy season but had many days of sun. The closest beach was lovely and the wonderful snorkeling beach through a fun jungle walk took just a few adventurous minutes to get to. It is scary booking online sometimes but the real thing is even better than the pictures. When my husband and I arrived, we discovered that our luggage was mistakenly taken off the MEPE bus. The Terry's came to the rescue and immediately helped us get in contact with people that could help us find our luggage. They also provided us with many options for adventure, fun, and recreation! We would have been lost without them...literally! We stayed in the owner's cabin and it was perfect for a couple and very clean. The breakfast was absolutely wonderful and they sure make some tasty cocktails. Team Terry went above and beyond what we could have ever expected and we are so thankful and will most definitely be back. Jon was wonderful in answering the MANY questions I had before we arrived in Costa Rica and the information provided was very helpful and valuable. We will be back! Pura Vida-Sally and Matt

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt36395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 21 January 2011

My wife and I stayed here for our first trip to Costa Rica. The hosts, Terry and Terry, were what made the place home for us during our stay. They were extremely accommodating and knowledgeable about the area, and they were always open to chatting and having a good time when the occasion arose. The location is great for the secluded beach access and general store across the street. We made use of the bikes available at no cost which allowed us to make the most of our stay - traveling up to Puerto Viejo and down to Manzanillo. Plus they have boogie boards which we had never tried, but loved. The beach bar just a short walk South had AMAZING food. I can't say enough about how gracious and welcoming Terry and Terry were without being overbearing in the slightest. We'd love to return here for our next trip specifically because of them.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeMegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fitchburg, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 12 January 2011

For our honeymoon, my husband I wanted a tropical location where we could completely relax, but had the option to do activities if we chose. Toucan's Stay Inn was perfect! We stayed in one of the apartments which included a private porch with a hammock, a kitchenette, walk in shower and air conditioning. We were served an amazing breakfast by Terry & Terry, the hosts, every morning out on the garden patio and then were able to relax and read in the hammocks. A gorgeous beach is only a 3 minute walk from the Inn, and an awesome snorkeling beach is a 10 minute walk. You could easily not have a car and still be happy with staying there. The inn has bikes, beach chairs, hammocks and snorkeling equiptment that you can use. The Terry's know all of the best restaurants in the area and can set you up with lots of different activities. We definitely suggest going to El Refugio, an excellent restaurant about 5 mins from the Inn, their food was out of this world. Overall, we could not have been happier with our accomodations at Toucan's Stay in and thank Terry, Terry, and John (the owner) for making our honeymoon everything we wanted! Love, Amanda and Scott

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amandakatec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2011

We had an amazing time in Punta Uva. We spent the first week in Playa Chiquita. Punta Uva is a bit further down the main road towards Manzanillo and is a bit more rural. The beach in Punta Uva is great for swimming and there is a nice hiking trail that takes you over the point, with stunning views of the ocean. The beach is located about a 2 minute walk down the road from the house. We spent three nights at the Toucan Stay Inn. Our hosts, Terry and Terry were terrific! They helped us with rides around the area, prepared delicious breakfast every morning, and mixed a mean cocktail (or two or three). Basically, they were eager to do whatever they could to make our stay a great one.

Terry recommended dinner at a great Argentinian restaurant called el Refugio. We highly recommend grabbing a meal here during your stay. The meal was not inexpensive, but the quality of food, wine and service in the middle of the jungle, was very impressive.

The rooms at the Toucan Stay Inn are nice for the area. They have A/C, (not that you will need it), hot water and drinking water available. The one thing that would have been nice, was a safe in the room. However, we never felt unsafe. The property is gated and the Terrys are always around keeping an eye on things. We just always feel better knowing our valuables are secure when traveling. It rained most of the time we were there, so we spent quite a bit of time lounging in hammocks, reading and chatting with our hosts. Great people. Great time.

The closest town of any size to Punta Uva is Puerto Viejo. It is a 30-40 minute bike ride or a 10-15 minute cab ride that costs $10. The only bank or ATM is located in Puerto Viejo. There are quite a few Internet cafes, a large grocery store and quite a few restaurants. We booked a tour through Terraventuras, in Puerto Viejo. The tour was a hike to a really great waterfall, (The Carbon River Waterfall), a visit with a Bri Bri family and a tour of the native chocolate making process. The tour was amazing and our guide, Fernando, was the best. You must ask for him if you ever go.

If you are looking for a quiet, well kept place, close to the beach, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeffreyknapp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Uva
5.7 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,442 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
#7 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
467 reviews
3.3 mi away
Cariblue Hotel
Cariblue Hotel
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pachamama Jungle River Lodge
0.5 mi away
Selvin's Cabinas
Selvin's Cabinas
#2 of 3 in Punta Uva
62 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cabinas Punta Uva
Cabinas Punta Uva
#20 of 103 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Toucan Stay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Toucan Stay Inn

Property: The Toucan Stay Inn
Address: in front of the Punta Uva pulperia, Punta Uva, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 70304, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca > Punta Uva
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Punta Uva
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "A Place To Flee, In A Garden By The Sea" All Accommodations have: Air Conditioning Ceiling Fans Screened Windows (NO MOSQUITO NETTING NEEDED!!!) Quality Beds and Linens Private Entrances Private Bathrooms Tables/ Chairs (Seating Area) Refrigerators Coffee Makers Private, Gated, 1/2 acre+ just 200 meters from the Beach!!! Come...Relax & Enjoy!!! (Free use of Boogie Boards, Snorkel Gear, Beach Towels, Hammocks) ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing