We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfectly located next to gorgeous beaches, secluded for relaxation, plenty of activities for adventure”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Punta Uva
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Toucan Stay Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Punta Uva B&B and Inns
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfectly located next to gorgeous beaches, secluded for relaxation, plenty of activities for adventure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed at the inn for 5 nights. Mike the manager was extremely friendly and helpful. The beaches are the most gorgeous I have ever seen. If you are looking for relaxation this is the place. If you are looking for adventure this is the place.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BreAnne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    7
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
5
42
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tofield
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed for 12 days, unfortunately Jon wasn't able to be there but Mike was. He made us feel like we were at home relaxing with a friend. The place was warm and inviting, with the beach located less than 5 minutes away.
Mike shared some of his experiences and knowledge of the area with us. This was extremely helpful and appreciated, couldn't ask for a better host or guide to the area.
I would gladly send any of my friends or family to the TSI (only the good ones that would be worthy) so they could get to experience the hospitality and grounds like we did.
We hope that the TSI is around for many more years and will definitely book our next stay there in the future!
This place was definitely Pura Vida

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jsbauer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stayed 5 nights at the TSI for our honeymoon and we are absolutely thrilled with our choice. Jon (the owner) rented out his owner's cabin for us which was incredible clean, spacious, had a full kitchen, filtered water, bathtub, A/C (yes, you heard me...A/C), ceiling fans, a gigantic bed and a screened in porch complete with hammock. The grounds are amazing. You're literally in the middle of the jungle but Jon has created walking paths to explore the surroundings. We spent a good deal of time on the pavilion in the hammocks watching the vast wildlife.
Breakfast is included in the rate and it is nothing to sneeze at. Jon makes you a variety of different egg dishes, he serves fresh locally made bread (amazing) and always has a local fruit to serve as well. His breakfast kept us full WELL into the afternoon and we are very active people.
Jon listens to your interests and makes activity/sightseeing suggestions based on your genuine interests. Not only does he personalize his suggestions to each guest, but he gives you precise directions on how to get everywhere he suggests which is incredibly helpful.
We cannot wait to return to the TSI. It truly was a dream honeymoon. See my pics of the property/beach to get the full effect!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kalegna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

We stayed 8 days at TSI with owner Jon and Mike and loved it.

We were staying in Junior Suite Jose B (!) which included a full fridge, coffee maker and little dining table. The room came with a comfortable king size bed and everything was furnished with a tropical feel. The breakfast we purchased in the mornings was delicious!

Jon was a fantastic host. Loads of interesting stories about the town and his experience moving to Costa Rica. I loved hearing about it. But if you prefer to be on your own or don't feel like chatting, he understands and will be there if you need to ask anything. I loved his humour in naming the inn and the room names. He is very knowledgeable about restaurants and where to eat.

Mike was a fantastic help too. He has so much experience with arranging tours, organising where to go for dinner and drinks and even knows the BEST places to do night walks. His love of nature and the animals of the area was what we loved the most. I highly recommend going on a tour with Mike - you won't regret it!

My recommendations:
- buy the breakfast at least once or twice to taste the wonderful banana or mango pancakes. John also makes a tasty omelette too!
- Spend time talking with Mike about the animals of the region. He knows it all!
- TSI is not located within walking distance to downtown Puerto Viejo, so don't get confused. You can borrow a beach rider bike to ride up to town or catch a bus. Many tourists seem to hitch hike too. It is quite a walk to the downtown area... but I liked that about this B&B!
- Some other reviewers have had a problem with noise - but be aware. There is noise, this is a town with people who live there. If you are worried about the noise issue, bring ear plugs and you will be fine no matter where you stay in Costa Rica. We didn't have any problems.. howler monkeys do wake up early though!!!
- Make sure you find out where the local sloths are. Mike will tell you. They are so close and so cute! It is fantastic to see so many and for free!!
- grab a flashlight and some boots and do a night walk up some of the streets around TSI and you will see so many frogs! Ask Mike to come along for some extra guidance if needed.

Room Tip: Jose B was a great room if you don't require a kitchen. There is a local shop across the road wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieTravelsAround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013

If you stay at Toucan Shelter Inn (TSI) and the owner Jon is in residence, you get a free and inclusive cabaret. Jon has an inexhaustible store of anecdotes and stories which will keep you amused. If you decide to break away, both he and Mike the Manager can advise about places to visit and about the local restaurants.
TSI is located at the end of Puerto Viejo with the best and quietest beaches. It is around 50 metres from the beach located in its own grounds. We went to Costa Rica for its wildlife and were not disappointed. There was a sloth in the tree next to the gate when we arrived. Lying in a hammock in the garden we saw birds continuously and Mike was excellent at identifying them for us.
The Owners Cabin met all our needs. It is worth knowing that they - in common with most of the region - do suffer from water storage issues. If you need a deep bath each day you might choose somewhere else; but then you probably should not go to Puerto Viejo.
We visited one of the Indigenous Indian villages called Yorking during our stay. It was one of our highlights despite ending with a sore bum - consider sitting on your life vest in the canoe! The visit was interesting and informative. The Indians were very friendly as are all the Costa Ricans we met.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cookstown, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013

The best B&B I have ever stayed in. This is why I liked it so much:
-beautiful and spacious, clean and tastefully decorated apartment style room,
- really comfortable bed,
-delicious home-cooked breakfast anyway you like it,
-well kept tropical garden, (beautiful flowers and plants, and a sloth even lives there!)
-the owner and operator Jon and his caretaker Mike are gracious hosts who go the extra mile to make your stay perfect (they know the area really well, giving you extra tips and ideas and making travel arrangements if necessary)
-complimentary bicycles, "boogie boards", beach towels and hammocks,
-really close to a safe and beautiful beach

A quiet, beautiful and tranquil place - I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: If you want a beautiful cabin all to yourself, ask for the "Owner's Cabin". Complete w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helga S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
151 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

This is a perfect B & B: charming, beautiful, quiet and in a great setting. I have travelled a lot and stayed at some great spots in the world and this is my all-time favourite B & B, #1 on my List.

Its about 200 metres from the beach, Playa Punta Uva, which is a gorgeous and safe beach. The owner & operator of the Toucan Stay Inn, Jon, and his caretaker Mike, really go above and beyond to make the stay perfect for guests. Recommending restaurants (Jon even drove us to a restaurant one night when we came home late from an excursion!), booking excursions and activities and helping make your vacation perfect. They also REALLY know the area and give you great "insider tips", like where the best spots on the beach are, where to see Howler Monkeys, or where to get a great coffee (or vegan lunch!) in Puerto Viejo.

The rooms are very spacious, very clean and come with all the comforts of home, including AC, fridge, toilets where you can flush the paper (a rarity in CR!) and large showers with plenty of hot water.

There are also so many amazing extras: complimentary bicycles with locks (great for cycling to Puerto Viejo or Manzanillo), "body boards" for body surfing at the beach, beach towels, hammocks...

The beds in the rooms are REALLY comfortable, they are either Queen Size, or if you are in the "Owner's Cabin", the bed is a California King. Huge. Very comfortable. I would compare it to a "Heavenly Bed" which you may find at a W hotel in North America. Soft linens and comfortable large pillows.

The breakfast is excellent, and served whenever it works for you. Jon and Mike make great eggs for guests, and way you like it, served with freshly baked bread from the local bakery, the freshest fruit (mangos, papayas, pineapple, mmmm) and Costa Rican Coffee. Really good.

The property itself is lovely, a beautiful and well maintained garden, with a newly built roofed platform for relaxing in your hammock, a new breakfast area right below a palm tree and a sloth that lives in one of the trees.

Its really paradise at the Toucan Stay Inn!

If you need more details, DM me, please.

Room Tip: If you want LOTS of space, book the "Owners Cabin" with your own kitchen, California King...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kattrins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Uva
5.7 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
2.5 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Pachamama Jungle River Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Selvin's Cabinas
Selvin's Cabinas
#2 of 3 in Punta Uva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.2 mi away
Korrigan Lodge
Korrigan Lodge
#1 of 52 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
2.1 mi away
Villas del Caribe
Villas del Caribe
#14 of 52 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Toucan Stay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Toucan Stay Inn

Property: The Toucan Stay Inn
Address: in front of the Punta Uva pulperia, Punta Uva, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 70304, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca > Punta Uva
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Punta Uva
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Petite B&B" in a Garden by the Sea All Accommodations have: Air Conditioning Ceiling Fans Screened Windows (NO MOSQUITO NETTING NEEDED!!!) Quality Beds and Linens Private Entrances Private Bathrooms Tables/ Chairs (Seating Area) Refrigerators Coffee Makers Private, Gated, 1/2 acre+ just 200 meters from the Beach!!! Come...Relax & Enjoy!!! (Free use of Boogie Boards, Snorkel Gear, Beach Towels, Hammocks) ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing