We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very close to a great beach...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bedrooms have quiet air conditioning, iPod players and safes for valuables.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bedrooms have quiet air conditioning, iPod players and safes for valuables.
2 bedrooms with tall ceilings, restored original hard wood floors, 2 baths, and modern amenities. View of Punta Uva beach near the end of the private beach path. Beach is great for swimming.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
24 reviews
Bedrooms have quiet air conditioning, iPod players and safes for valuables.
2 bedrooms with tall ceilings, restored original hard wood floors, 2 baths, and modern amenities.
View of Punta Uva beach near the end of the private beach path. Beach is great for swimming.
Recently remodeled, two-story, two-bedroom, two-bath house w/ private beach access.
View of kitchen from eating area. Tables seats up to 8.
Lush tropical gardens and stone pathways surround the house. Ocean is beyond the trees.
View from the kitchen towards the eating area. Ocean is to the right.
Kitchen with new refrigerator, stove, tiles, and appliances.
View from the kitchen, down the path, to the beach.
Bedrooms look over porch towards the ocean. Plenty of storage space and good light.
Upstairs bathroom: 2 sinks, shower/tub, & hot water (not typical in the area).
Screened-in upstairs porch (ocean is to the right). Relax while listening to the waves and jungle.
Upstairs porch and hallways outside of bedrooms. Ocean is to the right.
Private path from the house to Punta Uva beach.
View of Punta Uva beach from the house's private path.
House is well-lit at night for enjoying dinner, drinks, or moonlight swim.
A huge tree on the property that flowers every 5 years.
Tropical garden with many flowers, fruits, and trees.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Punta Uva, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Angie M
New Braunfels, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very close to a great beach...”
Reviewed 28 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We stayed at Casa de la Musa for two weeks. It is extremely close to the beautiful Punta Uva beach. The sound of the surf from the house was awesome! We saw several sloths and monkeys at the house.

The air conditioning in the bedrooms is a big plus at night. It is much warmer near the beach and the heavy vegetation around the house blocks the ocean breeze most of the time. The AC units were quiet and cooled the rooms down very quickly. We only turned them on to sleep.

The caretakers live very close; the two houses almost touch. Yolanda and Carlos are wonderful people with darling children. Our only complaint was the barking of their chained-up dog. He barked during the day and he barked late at night. I understand that for security reasons, it may have been beneficial. We did have people walking by the house regularly on their way to the beach. However, usually the dog just barked at their other puppy. We have dogs at home, so the daytime barking wasn't a big deal. I didn't really like waking up to barking at night, though.

The open layout of the kitchen and dining area was awesome! I loved preparing meals and eating outside with our family.

During our two-week stay, Yolanda cleaned the house and changed the linens twice, which I thought was great. When we rent a house, we like being left to ourselves as much as possible.

I would recommend this house to a friend due to the prime location, but with a mild warning about the dog. For those looking for extreme privacy and quiet, this may not be the best house. For those looking for quick beach access, I would definitely recommend this house.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Close proximity to the wonderful beach
Liked least: barking dogs and lumpy pillows
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer...
Columbiana, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 12 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013

The house was everything we needed as was the caretaker Yolanda. We had no problems. House was very clean always. The beach was the best beach ever!!! We loved playing in the waves as 40 year olds. Gorgeous sand and warm water. Very few people. We always locked the gate to the beach and the gate to the house, just because we were told we needed to. No issues at all with crime. The bird songs were incredible, although we couldn't see them and the monkeys never ventured close to the house, but we could hear them. Just a great house!! No problem with hot water ever. Never even used the downstairs shower. Just a great relaxing place close to a pretty busy town of Puerto Viejo. maybe a little to busy for us. We still had a great time in town, but spent much of our time at the house and on the great beach.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the beach
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stillwork...
Saint-Gaudens, France
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location!”
Reviewed 18 February 2013 for a stay in January 2013

Unlike many other Trip Advisor reviews the Casa de la Musa has few mentions. This I suspect is due to its more remote location which is its main virtue. It is almost at the "end of the road" on the Costa Rica Caribbean coast, and far enough away from the surfing/hippy town of Puerto Viejo. The house is flanked by jungle - although the caretakers house lies adjacent. The property is reached by a short 100m unpaved track from the main road. A private 30m path leads directly to the beach.
The immediate beach area is coral reef and not suitable for swimming, however a short 50m walk takes you to a gentle shelving sandy strip. With no beach hawkers and an almost total absence of other holidaymakers or tourists it can be classed as paradise. Palm trees fringe the golden sand and with a total absence of flies or other winged insects.
There are a number of restaurants and a supermarket within a 3km radius - in particular Jungle Love Cafe was outstanding.
On arrival at the two storey house my wife and I were disappointed with the standard of cleanliness, however it transpired that the cleaner had already been give notice. In the first couple of days we noticed a number of minor defects.
A meeting with the property manager Evi soon however put things right. Full marks for the very fast and efficient response in providing such minor essentials as a mattress protector, washing up bowl, serving tray, etc. For our second week a new cleaner - and what a difference, clean tiles, sparkling taps - a complete contrast.
The Casa de la Musa is not a Mediterranean villa with all mod cons. However the many facilities provided, i.e, 2 bedrooms, bathroom and downstairs shower room, two toilets, fridge/freezer, good lighting, beach chairs, ample towels for house and beach, security alarm system and the provision of a cell phone made for a totally relaxing and quiet holiday. We were lucky, only the howler monkeys for one night!
Also Aircon which we did not need to use, having the windows open with flyscreens provided sufficient ventilation

Our thanks again to Evi for both her manner and determination to put things right. I would like to give the Casa de la Musa a 5 star rating, but in terms of overall quality not quite possible.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Noise of the water pump
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Reviewed 28 July 2012 for a stay in May 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Austin TX
Reviewed 14 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
budrisae
Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect Location, clean and comfortable place in paradise”
Reviewed 12 February 2012 for a stay in January 2012

My wife and I visited for a week in January, and we really couldn't have been happier with Casa de la Musa. The location was perfect, the house was comfortable and had everything we needed, and the support staff was very helpful and friendly. The property is well represented on VRBO and Turnkey. Returning to New England was not easy to do after our week in Punta Uva!

Location is perhaps the most impressive aspect of Casa de la Musa. It really is as close to the beach as you can get in the area. The beach is really impressive, and was nearly deserted on most days during our stay. The water was pretty rough while we were there (which we were told was uncommon) so we enjoyed body surfing instead of wading at Punta Uva Beach. The beach directly in front of the house is lined with coral, but a short walk in either direction finds good swimming spots. Punta Uva beach is just to the east with a sandy bottomed swimming area and a deep fresh water river with a rope swing that was popular with kids. There is plenty of room to sunbathe, a restaurant and bar (Punta Uva Lounge...didn't visit) and public access here. Continuing east through a stretch of rainforest, is the other half of Punta Uva Beach, a sandy stretch with a campground. To the west, we enjoyed walking toward Cocles and Playa Chiquita, were we found deserted secluded stretches of beach with swimming holes in the coral. Perfect for sunbathing and relaxing, all within a 10 minute walk!

Also close by were several restaurants. Pita Bonita is a 5 minute walk, and has really good Middle Eastern food including freshly baked pita and perhaps the best Hummus I've ever tasted. Selvin's is even closer, and offers really good Caribbean entrees including great seafood and Rondon (Seafood Soup). A bit further, but still walkable, is Malbec (Argentinean) which has great grilled Beef and wine, but was the most expensive dinner we had on our trip. We recommend all three.

We had a rental car, and were able to explore Manzanillo and PV. A few recommended things to do…We visited Manzanillo-Gandoca reserve with local guide Tino (you can find his info on Tripadvisor), and it was probably the highlight of our trip. He pointed out things that we would never have noticed, and made hiking on the rest of our trip more enjoyable. Also fun was the Jaguar Rescue Center tour. We did some shopping in PV, but never made it back for any music, even though we had planned to. While I was glad we had the freedom afforded by having our own transportation, there are plenty of options within walking distance, and rental bikes and cabs seemed readily available. In fact, motor vehicles are far outnumbered by walkers and bicyclists on the road between PV and Manzanillo.

The house itself was great. The entire place has been recently updated, and it shows. The wood floors and wood staircase are really nice, and the whole place is clean and comfortable. The outdoor dining area, screened in sitting area, and huge windows in the kitchen makes it feel like you are always outside in the beautiful garden. Windows in the bedroom that open onto the screened in porch allowed us to listen to the ocean as we slept, and we woke up to birds and Howler Monkeys outside most mornings. It wasn't very hot while we were there, so we didn't even touch the AC, and were very comfortable with all the windows open. I would think that the shade from the many trees in the garden would keep the house pretty comfortable year round. Having access to a washer and dryer was great – especially because we were without luggage for a few days. The Wi-Fi worked well for planning our days and e-mailing, but don’t expect to stream movies. The only minor complaints were flat pillows and clogged shower heads.

We cooked breakfast and lunch pretty much every day in the kitchen which was well equipped. You can find most items in the local convenience stores in Punta Uva and Cocles including fresh fruit and vegetables, beer, wine and liquor, but seemed a bit expensive. There are several bakeries in the area for fresh bread or pastries. The kitchen is equipped with a blender which we took full advantage of!

The support staff was friendly and helpful. Juan, the gardener/security guard lives on the property. We hardly knew he was there, though the garden was beautifully kept, and it was comforting to know he was there if we needed him. The housekeeper came once during the week we were there, and did a great job tidying up, changing the linens, and placing fresh flowers throughout the house. The property managers were helpful. Monica met us at the property upon our arrival, gave us a tour and explained everything we needed to know. We arrived without our luggage, thanks to TACA, and Evi was instrumental in arranging with the airline for their eventual delivery to us.

There really is something for everyone in the PV area: really good food, hiking, beautiful beaches and nightlife (if you’re not too tired from the hiking, swimming and eating). Casa de la Musa is a great place to call home for a week or more and experience everything the “Green Coast” has to offer, and I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend it or return.

Thank You Jeff, Carrie, and the CR Staff for a great vacation!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location/ outdoor living
Liked least: Pillows
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
Reviewed 14 September 2011 for a stay in January 2011
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Liked best: the location, and the indoor/outdoor features
Liked least: the howler monkeys waking me up to early
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 25-34
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Large groups
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing